An Unusual Day of Warm Weather

in #communitylast year (edited)

Hello !

It seems that global warming is visiting us today. It is not quite the end of February which is normally nearly the dead of winter here still and it got up to 81 degrees ! They predicted 86, but it didn't get up quite that far. The inside temp in my house is 77 right now and I haven't had the heat on since yesterday morning and that was just long enough to knock off the morning chill as I was getting ready for work.

It was sunny this morning and everything was fine, but by noon it was getting a little too toasty in here for me, even just sitting doing my work. Fortunately, my floor fan was still here in my workroom and so I plugged it in and turned it on low to help keep me comfortable the last few hours. I was determined I was not turning on the air conditioner for a day in February. I refuse !

A little while after lunch I noticed that the sky was beginning to get cloudy. I could see the tops of the Bradford Pear trees out the window. Their blooms aren't all the way opened yet, but they are pretty close and I liked the way their fuffy snowy blooms looked against the lightly greying sky. I put my work phone on "personal" and stepped out on the back porch to take this photo. Kind of nice.... and a little calming somehow.

trees before storm.jpg

I was only outside a minute or two, then came back in and got right back to work. Within 10 minutes, all of the sudden rain began to hammer down really hard ! It made the loudest roar as it poured onto the house. It began so fast it was almost alarming for a second.

Funny as I looked again at the way I cropped the photo below, my mind wanted to make a tiny snowman out of the top of the wooden rocking chair that is on the porch. I kind of liked the illusion.

trees before storm 2.jpg

It didn't last long though, before little rays of sunshine starting peeking through the clouds again. Some of those warm rays came in my window sideways and lit up some of the happy things I have in and around it. I enjoyed seeing the way it made the colors glow.

window after storm slant light.jpg

After I signed out at 5, I took a photo from the other side of the window. It was time for the sun to begin going down. It usually sets behind these trees and makes all kinds of fun light to look at in the evenings as it slowly says.... so-long.... till tomorrow my sweet.

sunlight through trees.jpg

I realize that photos never quite seem to capture the whole beauty and mood the eyes can see, but I wanted to try to share it with you anyway.

My evening is just beginning. I have the glass up on the back door, allowing some of the now cooling air to come inside the house through the screen. I'm hoping to take that 77 degrees down a bit before bedtime. I don't have a plan otherwise, but there are so many things that would like to be done around here, so it's not like I've nothing to do.

I hope you've been having a good week this week. Mine has not been too shabby.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

Now this is the type of weather I'd like to see. I just spent three hours shoveling today !LOL

Why was the resistor fired from his job of leading the orchestra?
He was a terrible conductor.

Credit: reddit
@jacey.boldart, I sent you an $LOLZ on behalf of @buffalobison

(1/2)
Use the !LOL or !LOLZ command to share a joke and an $LOLZ

This sort of day is an anomaly here. We are use to seeing a pop-up spring day now or then through the winter in the last three winters, but a full on summer day ??? Not the norm !

I bet it DOES look good from behind a shovel though.😄 I should be happy and turn the air on, because the air conditioning around here cost way less than heat ! I was not really complaining because cold weather is definitely NOT my thing, but still.

Of course we still don't know what could happen next. In the last 15 years, some of our biggest, most suprising snows have been in the 1st 10 days of March. We haven't had anything more than a flurry or two this winter.

That landscape is beautiful and you're right, sometimes one wants to capture everything we see with the camera, but it only captures a part of the panorama. Greetings.

Hi !.... and Thank you !

So many times I grab my phone to capture something fun or beautiful and even when the photos come out as good as possible.... there is always just a little still missing.

Thanks for stopping in. I appreciate it.

I completely agree it's difficult and very rare (for me anyways) to capture the beauty we see into a photo. It seems everyone else can but me, haha. Where I'm from the weather has been like a roller coaster. We have had so many temperature fluctuations this year. No matter where your at the AC shouldn't be running February, haha. Take care hope you continue to have nice weather.

Hi there !

I am always using my phone camera these days because it is so convenient. I'm not sure why I would expect perfection from that, but I normally take multiple snaps of the same thing to try to make sure a least one is decent. Once in a while I will get one amazingly good. It's always a toss up though.

Today it is predicted to only get up to 68. Still a little warmer than what has been the norm here in the past, but much more reasonable for the times. I guess I can't say there is a normal much anymore. It seems we can only say it's not how it used to be.

A/C in February ! Unheard of !

Thanks for stopping over !

I think part of a photograph is the art of editing. An art I'm not the best at yet, hehe. Take care and enjoy the weekend ahead !!

Our power is still out in Michigan, but in VA its not too shabby as well. I like the early Spring!

I realize spring should be working itself in before too long, but the wild fluctuations right now is pretty bizarre !

This is a lovely post @jacey.boldart. We’ve been having some warm days here as well. The temperatures still fluctuate so we always have to be ready for change but one day last week, I was totally able to hit the road without a coat! It felt good but I still felt uncertain as in the past, I’ve had days like those and then really wished I had my coat. Lol!

Loving the views and rays of light from your window.
The little snowman almost got me and the Bradford Pear trees certainly did. I thought those were cherry blossoms!! They’re beautiful. 😃