Ode To Candy Hearts

in #communitylast year (edited)

Hello again !.... or for the first time.

It will be Valentine's Day soon and that means heart shaped everything is filling the shelves in all the stores.

yellow bowl.jpg

My favorite heart shaped candies are these Conversation Hearts. Partly because I'm a sugar addict and they are basically just a sugar lump and partially because they remind me of my childhood. Whether in a large bag or an individual box, however they came, I always loved them.

See what I did ? I love them so much and I love YOU so much, that I created a Valentine's love message to you out of them. ❤️

20230211_132848.jpg

There are not many things in this life that I am a snob about. I know, being a snob is wasted energy, but once in a while there is a thing or too that one just MUST be snobby about. This is one of them for me. It has to be these exact hearts. No Brach's, no store brand, no.. no ...NO ! Just these !

The name and recipe used to belong to Necco, but they sold out... SOLD OUT! How could they ??.... but they did sell out to Spangler. As long as they make them the same, what difference does it make you ask, well, none really, except that it took Spangler several years to get it all back up and running again so for a while they were nowhere to be found. Finally though and thankfully, they are out in full force all over the place again.

bag of candy.jpg

So now, to make sure they are the real thing, you have to see this Spangler name on the back. You must !

Spangler did take a liberty and add blue ones, which were not there before. They call it blueberry, but thankfully they do not taste like blueberries, so they don't have to go in the trash. My tongue doesn't like blueberries, but that is another story... quirk... something...

spangler.jpg

They also cheated a little bit in that they only put "sayings" on about half the hearts. I forgive them for that though, since they have the flavor and consistency right now.

closup.jpg

I know sugar is not good for you and it is somewhat of a crime against oneself to love it so much and eat it endlessly.... but still.....I'm supposed to resist these? Perish that thought ! I simply can't resist.

🤣

2 bowls.jpg

Now that I've reminded you that Valentine's Day is on the way, you can't say you forgot to get your Sweetie Pie a token for the day. Anything is better than nothing.

I know what I'm talking about on this one.

It's Saturday, I haven't done a valid thing all day... yet... but I will... I think I will... ok, I might.

I hope you are all doing well.

Love you, (almost as much as candy hearts !)

Jacey

Sort:  

You hit the jackpot this year I would say!

I do remember them from my childhood nearly 100 years ago!

I DID hit the candy heart jackpot, but of course it would have been better for my health if nobody had ever made them again. LOL.....

Childhood does seem like that long ago sometimes.

I don’t know these but they are cute. 💕

They are very cute.... but not for long at my house.

😂

😂🤣After all, that are “sweet hearts”. Lol

We truly are sweet sisters! I was thrilled to be able to buy Sweethearts this year! My family has heard me moaning about not being able to buy these anymore, and when they appeared this year I began getting text messages with photos, asking if these were the kind of candy hearts that I had been missing! I now have five little boxes and the promise of a couple of bags that have been purchased just for me! Happy Valentine's Day💕💘💕

Oh Wow ! I'm glad they were looking out for you.

I had found a very few in the last couple of years. 2 years ago, Walgreens had them in the little boxes. I couldn't believe my eyes when I saw them and I bought half the display box that was there. Afterwards I wished I had bought the whole thing, but the rest were gone when I got back there. I always pictured it was someone else like me, only they had enough sense to buy all that was left. LOL !! I did go over to the Walgreen in the next town (both towns are little, so that was not so far) and bought all they had left there. If I'm supposed to be embarrassed to admit something like that, well, I'm not !

Last year Walgreens actually had some of the larger bags. I nearly fainted when I saw them. ... just kidding, but I was SO surprised. This year they had them again, but in every kind of size. A large bag that was almost a pound, the normal individual boxes and some packets that had 5 or six boxes shrink-wrapped together. I bought mulitple large bags on more than one trip there. This year though, I also found them at Dollar General. They had bags, but instead of being the larger "close to a pound" bags, they are just 5 ounces. You know, the size of bag that would be enough for a normal person. ha ha....they also had some of the individual boxes too so.....I'm thinking Spangler finely got their stuff together. For real, it should be one of their best sellers.

I'm glad you are finally getting some too. That's certainly enough to make Valentine's Day worth looking forward too.

Happy Valentine's Day !