Some Days You Just Want To Be Defiant

in #community2 years ago (edited)

Do you ever make a choice that you know is not really the smartest thing, yet for some reason that means something to you, you decide to do it anyway?

*******

(While I am telling you what I think I am about to do I will also show you some neat (to me) pieces of whimsical metal art that are on my porch.) I've had this kite balancer for several years. I love it, just because it is a kite.

20220624_183744_Burst01-ANIMATION (2).gif

The company I work for is too big for it's britches. It pays me decent, so I'll not complain. It has sustained me being singly out on my own for about 25 years now. I'm proof positive that one can fly by the seat of their pants and still get by in this world. Yes.... I'm bragging ! ha ha Typing that made me laugh! A few times I barely got by, but I DID get by and have lived long enough to tell you about it.

20220624_183334.jpg

So.... like many other big companies, mine offers insurance plans and I have always paid for that. A number of years back, they decided that they needed to dally with the requirements and we had to fill out some health questions and let a "nurse?" take our vitals and blah blah blah and well... ok.... THEN, a few years after that, they decided that now... they need to stick you with a needle and take your blood out of your body and do whatever tests they wanted and call it a Health Fair or the such.

20220716_183421(1)_2.jpg

Now I don't like needles but more than that, I thought it was wrong that they wanted to be that personally invasive. I have a doctor, I do all those tests a couple times a year already and I had a real issue with it, Here is the kicker though....

They said it was voluntary and we didn't have to do it, however, they then added penalties on our insurance premiums if we didn't. It started slow for smokers and eventually worked it's way to people who did not have twig bodies. The part I really loved was when their claim was that we would get "discounts" on our premiums if we proved we didn't smoke and if we were not over their weight limit and if we WERE over their weight limit, if we lost 10% a year, we would still get the discount (until we didn't lose 10 more percent any of the following years, at which time it would go back up.)

20220716_183434.jpg

Are you with me ? Of course I didn't like it, because I was still miffed they wanted my blood. Not only that, there never really WAS a discount persay, because our premiums NEVER went down from where they had always been, but if you were overweight or smoked, your premium WENT UP. Can you imagine how many conversations went on that said the smoking and fat thing weren't penalties, but getting them was a discount? It was Gaslighting for idiots only.... at it's best of course, but that was how it went. They kept denying it was a penalty.

😏 Whatever !

20220716_183451.jpg

Most of the time I felt like I couldn't afford the penalties to stand my ground on not having to give my blood to the company. Now though, I can and although I have an appointment tomorrow to give it up, I am thinking about cancelling the appointment right after I finish this post.

I would like to retire in a year. A total miracle would have to happen to make that a sane idea, but I'm going to keep watching for one ha ha ! I know it sounds like I am changing the subject, but I'm not, you see, if I don't do this voluntary blood donation tomorrow, nothing will change the rest of this year, but starting in January I will have to pay more for my insurance. If I do retire though, it will only be 6 or 7 months and I think I don't care about that. The warm fuzzies that I would get right now, today, just for refusing to go along would make me smile every time I think about it ! (which would be frequently)

20220716_183600 (1).jpg

Although I know it would not be considered smart to throw some money away, I am still pretty convinced that it will still make me very happy.

Yes.... I am nuts sometimes, but I just NEED to do this one time just because I can!

So that is where I am right now, on this Tuesday evening, just after work. I had a two hour call that made my last break start less than a half hour before I was supposed to get off of work and when I logged back on the phones I got another call that held me till 20 minutes after I was supposed to be off for the day. It sure does sound like a good day to be a renegade.... .doesn't it??

It's ok to tell me how dumb this is in a comment or encourage me in a bad way. I promise I will laugh at it all.

Hope you are doing something defiant in your life and enjoying it.

Love you ! Mean it !

Jacey

20220514_143329.jpg

Somebody said my cover photo gif does not show on the outside of my post. I am putting it down here to see if it shows inside the post and just not as a cover photo/gif. This is a test !

20220624_183744_Burst01-ANIMATION (2).gif

Sort:  

Really? What? I have actually never heard of such a thing and you can give them the name and email of your doctor who can vouch for your well-being.

I would say that if they used all the doctor tests, they are money ahead. What a grievous day, pulling out all the stops to make people miserable.

On a better note, I love the cover photo! I want to jump on it and take a ride. If I win the lottery, you get the first payout! I want you to retire too!

What is silly is, that the insurance company goes through my work and my other tests .... they PAY for already. LOL.... but they want another company to take the data and tell them how sick or well the company is as a whole. Somebody gotta pay for THAT ya know. Guess it might as well be me !

It's a pain in tha.... well... you know !

The retirement lottery.... yeah.... I'd like to win that.

I’d say follow your heart. I’d avoid the excessive blood tests especially because I don’t like needles. I read through and tried to keep focused on the insurance and retirement talk but I also said quite a few “Wows!” to the metal art in your garden. I love them!!! Quite unique. Did you create some of them? I think they deserve a post just for them. Each piece looks so interesting.
I have made choices that are not necessarily the “smartest” or “best” but once I’ve made up my mind, I decide not to look back and feel regretful.

Hi !

I did not create any of the metal art. I wish I had the skills too. If I did, my yard would be full or crazy art. Might be good for my neighbors that I don't know how....LOL !!

I'm kind of like that too, once I finally make up my mind, I'm usually good with my decision.

😀Hi.
Haha! Your neighbors probably would have joined in the fun.
I imagine smiling with the pieces in your garden. I love them.
Sometimes we think about making decisions. After we’ve decided, sometimes it’s amazing how things just flow like “we didn’t need to think about it”. Lol

Dumb? I'd be standing right beside you! I seriously detest insurance companies! 😑

A lot of folks I work with feel the same way, but many have more bills than me and others have families and the such. It's terrible to tell people it is "voluntary", but then take away some of their money if they don't do it. When it first started, I was livid ! If I had been married or in some situation where there was more than one income coming into my home, I would have never gone along with it one single time.

I did cancel tomorrow's appointment. I feel better already !

Bravo! I'vehad a defiant sort of day today, too. Must be something in the air.

Your outdoor art always makes me smile, though!

Maybe it WAS defiant day in the universe and we just didn't know. 😄

... and thank you ! I love whimsical art inside or out. I didn't gather in as many flowers this year as I normally do. I just wasn't feeling it in the spring, so I decided to fill in some spaces with other fun stuff to look at. It's been fun. I don't want to hurry summer, but I have thought a time or too about what I might do for fall. No super ideas yet, but their is time.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Thank you ! 💛