This Morning.....

in #community2 years ago (edited)

Hi !!

This morning I was going back to the kitchen to fetch myself another cup of hot coffee to sip on while I lazily window-shopped the net.

dogwood.jpg

As I came through the living room, the bright color of the dogwood tree in my front yard caught my eye through the blinds and I thought maybe I should go out and take a photo of it while the leaves were still hanging on. On the most part, our trees here are not in full color. I think it is a little behind the norm, not that there is an exact "norm" here anymore, but either they are late turning or they are not going to turn this year, but just drop off as-is when the first freeze shows up. Sometimes too, we get a windy storm and at the end of it, all the pretty leaves are gone. So out I went !

20211024_112224_HDR.jpg

While I was there I took a photo of the non-flower bed in front of my porch. In the spring, it is full of giant clovers beneath the spinners and sculpture, but after the weather gets too hot.... just weeds. Someone needs to go out there and weed whack it. 😄 ... but they haven't yet.

front flower bed spinners .jpg

Then I took a photo of the pasture across the street. It was so sunny and although in the photo, it has disappeared into nothingness, there was a large patch of long grass in the center that must have still been wet, because the sun was glistening across the tops of it, making a sparkly patch.

20211024_100347_HDR.jpg

At the other end of the porch. my large geranium is still showing off a bit, although some of it's green has gone yellow. My small pot of petunias is still putting out a little too. They were both happy this morning though, on my bright sunny porch.

20211024_100202_HDR.jpg

The tank with the happy-jack face is still smiling beside my front door. I put my metal cat out to keep him company. I kind of like the pair together.

20211024_100258_HDR.jpg

Funny how you go out for one thing and then CLICK CLICK CLICK.... you take photos of everything around.

It's definitely fall here. This past week, most nights were in the middle to low 40s and the days still got up to the middle to upper 70s. Perfect weather for putting a yard to bed for winter..... if only there was someone here to do it. 😂

Hope you are all doing well and that your hearts are happy.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

Hello @jacey.boldart your garden and surrounds are delightfully autumn, the colours are so pretty. As I live in a part of Australian with no distinct seasons I so enjoy a good autumn post from the US. We are having a combination of hot days, cooler windy days and rainy days - such odd weather. But I am not complaining as the cool and rain is so lovely for me and the garden. Regards to you and have a happy day.

The trees are turning more and more every day. I love the colors, but I don't love the hint that cold weather is on the way. It's a love/hate thing. LOL

Each season does have it's special parts though, that is for sure.

I like your metal cat and happy tank jack as well! We have been unusually lucky this year to have the prettiest fall I can remember in a long time! The super hot temps from the summer combined with a drought, brought out spectacular color. However now, we are in some heavy rain and heavy wind storms for the next 36 hours that will probably do in all that glorious color. Oh well, it never lasts forever. Thanks for sharing your pics with us. Take care!

A few other trees are finally beginning to really turn. If we don't get a storm that strips them bare, it should start looking really pretty around here soon.

I'm hoping for that.

I hope you do too. A lot around our home, are now bare because of the storm, but if you get out on the roads, some still remain as they were more protected than our little part of the mountain.

Take care!

Yes I do love how it happens when I decide to snap a pic of one thing it turns into a post of many things! That is the magic of digital photography...no worries about the expense of film and developing!

Fun post as always!!

It is a great difference from that old way. Digital is the bomb !

I take a bajillion photos hoping at least a few turn out good.... and it cost me no extra to do that. I too am loving it.

I love to see how, on the other side of the planet, your mornings are chained together with chores like here. By the way, beautiful autumn colours in your garden and in love with your porch and your rocking chair so typical of your films. Regards @jacey.boldart.

Thank you !

I do like the way rocking chairs look on a sunny porch. This one has gotten a little rickety and I don't trust it to hold ME now 😄 so only plants get to sit in it. Maybe some new ones next spring.

Really? You are colder than me at night. all of my flowers are still blooming, especially the chrysanthemums and marigolds, but, also the geraniums, but, I have them in the shaded part of my porch, so they aren't yellow. They really like the shade, here anyway.

I had to run to the pumpkin farms and nurseries Thursday morning so I could put together #MarketFriday Thursday night! Yikes. Talk about tight. Shakes head

I like your little cat and pumpkin. :) A happy little couple. I think they are calling off Halloween this year again, but, I still have my three-headed dragon up. He is so rad! The only thing he doesn't do is breathe fire! Anywho! I hope you have a wonderful week ahead!

Calling off Halloween? You mean the Trick-or-Treating part? The witches and ghosts are not going to be happy about this !

The last couple of nights have not gotten down that low and we haven't had a frost or anything yet, so the flowers on my back porch are still blooming away. I moved my geranium. It was protected better beside the door and it might not like all the sun it is getting where it is now. Unfortunately for it, it doesn't get a choice.

My garden is blooming like crazy! I keep telling it to bloom more and maybe summer will be back.

You just never know. :)) Yes, I don't think they are letting the kids go door to door.

COVID, you know. eyeroll

Covid?? What is that ??

crawls back under the rock

Covid is ruining everything.

My brother who I love and is very kind, put out an invite the second weekend of December for like a floating Christmas party with no particular agenda. Come, bring your favorite foods or goodies, stay short or or all evening. Sweet... right ??.. .well.... he invited everyone in the family....LOL.... I sound like a grinch.... but there are many, mostly in his line that chose not to get the vaccine. He got his, but his work position would frown upon it if he didn't, so he did his fast. Anyway, I don't think it is safe, so I may not go. It makes me sad to think my family will have something festive and I won't go.

So of course I know covid..... hateful, hateful, hateful

On behalf of the sane part of your family, have your own celebration. Your mom won't go, right? Your sister will go... Cook a nice dinner fit for someone who is shunning g COVID this year.

If nothing else, why risk your mom? If she wants to go you make sure that you tell your brother and sisters that they need to volunteer to go take care of her if she should need it.

Oh yes....I'm guessing Mom will go. Ugh !

A week ago, my sister was out at Mom's for her birthday. I took lunch out for us (all three vaxed). Later my unvaxed sis-in-law came and did offer to put a mask on, not knowing how I'd react. My understanding is that it is ok for a group if only 1 unvaxed person is there, so I didn't fuss, but for real, my Mom's house ! I didn't hug her though....LOL I totally love her and I totally know it's everyone's choice, but they are making a choice to possibly kill someone they love too. Anyway... my brother and other sis and hubs came later, all vaxed except the one. We talked about Thankgiving evening with that same set of folks, but plus inviting my other brother's widow.... also unvaxed. I never wanted it to be the haves and have nots, truly that is not in my heart.... but my 87 year old Mom I feel defensive about. Of course... I don't want it either !

Since the crowd was going to be nearly the same, I was fairly ok with the Thanksgiving thing, but my bro totally surprised me inviting much more of the family for the Christmas thing. I am pretty torn about it, not in a frantic way, but still.....

Last Christmas was the worst ever with NO gatherings, but this one is filled with more delimas to me. Last year Mom wouldn't have any part in gatherings, but after she got vaxed, she has done more than I think she should. For some reason she doesn't let me tell her how to live...LOLOLOLOL ! For real again, I don't try.

There you go! The entire Crooks of things. Your mother wants to go and have things normal, before her life became complicated. She has given up so much for so many for so long. The only thing I can say is that she has no fear and she is 87 years old. If anything happens to her oh, I can guarantee you but it won't be a heck of a lot better then what happened to your stepfather. This is her time, Ellen oh, and as much as we want to protect them and keep them for our own selfish reasons and believe me, I'm with you on that, we cannot rule the world. Heck, we can't even rule our Mama's. Mine would never let me tell her what to do oh, and I can understand that because I looked at my kids with a stink eye if they let me know that I'm doing something wrong.

Your mother's not stupid and I would put it out there that you are not happy for this reason and if she still wants to go then you just need to be happy and let her go. If you choose not to go, I think that you will be happy but regrettably so. By no means am I saying to go because I'm really torn with the family gathering with the holidays. We might be the last to on that train, but for reasons I'd rather keep to myself, I'm okay with that because I have lived with enough covid to last me a lifetime. My prayers go out to you and to her to make the right decisions for yourselves but darn covid you are messing up my life.