Thwarted By A Stick Of Butter......

in #community3 years ago

Someone said I should post something.

I think and think..... what about my life right now would not bore everyone to tears?? I can't think of anything.....LOL. I am not being sad or morose, it's just that, since covid, which has now been going on for a year and a half, I don't do anything much interesting or that is how it feels.

The below cover photo has nothing to do with the title of this post, but it looked better than a stick of butter in the trash.... I am getting to that next though. 😄

This is what happened when I sat here alone in front of the TV last night. I looked to my left and thought, I sure do love all that colorful stuff I have on the table beside me, so of course what else could I do but take a photo ? So here it is !

to my left.jpg

Now for the butter, which may have been ok if I used it right away, but it has bad karma now and had to go in the trash. LOL !!

You see, when I got up this morning and padded to the kitchen to put on coffee and get some water, I found that my refrigerator door was slightly open. It was not enough that the light shown out, therefore, I did not see it when I made the last pass through the kitchen to turn off lights before going to bed last night..... Fudge ! How did I not see it, but .... I reached out my hand to push it completely closed only to find it would not go. What could be in the way ? I opened the door back up and looked down the shelves and found that at the very bottom, a stick of butter had dropped out of it's compartment on the door and lodged itself longways keeping the door some shutting completely.

Jeepers Creepers, life dashes in a curve ball first thing? Can't I even have a cup of coffee first before this starts?? I guess not... .that was obviously way too much to ask of the universe that early.

butter in trash.jpg

So I put on the coffee, drink some water and go back to stand in front of the refrigerator door to try to determine what I think will still be ok and safe to consume and what I might not be willing to take a chance on.

Then I add the discarded items back to my next grocery order list.

For real....

peer in frig.jpg

On a better note, I bought a new handmade pottery mug. I love neat mugs. I love pottery. I love this mug, well, in a thingadore way. I made that word up... thingadore....it is for when I love a thing.... which is not like I love people and God..... but still I'm fond of it. Anything that falls in the thingadore category will not be mourned if it breaks or disappears. I hold lightly to thingadores. You are welcome to use my new word any time you like. I will show you a better photo of my new mug later when I post and show you my other new mugs. It seems I got on a mug roll.

I'm also trying to dejunk my house. I've got a good bit of it done, but not all. How does acquiring new mugs fit into this you ask.... well.... here is how I am doing it now, if I buy something like a new mug, I have to let one I already have go, so that is what I will do. This one is a little large for my normal coffee drinking, but I just don't fill it up to the rim. I have also drank Fresca (a soft drink if you don't know), Coke Zero and milk out of it. Seems it is a universal cup and hasn't complained one bit no matter what I put in it.

new mug.jpg

Onto the next thing you never wanted to know.... Last night, after eating healthy all day long, my entire being screamed for something bad. I can't take all that screaming, so I got up, fried up a little smoked sausage, cut it into bite sized pieces and sprinkled it over some very buttery creamed potatoes. It was amazingly good. Why is all the good stuff bad for you? It's simply not fair !! ... I was weak.... but fully and happily weak.

diet thwarted.jpg

I told you before, but if you weren't here then, I will tell again that a local woman started a flower farm.... her amazing dream come true. As a first year offering, you could pay a fee upfront and have flowers delivered to your home once a week for 20 weeks or every other week. I chose the every other week option and have been enjoying colorful blooms all summer. I have shared some with my Mom and sister though.... which was also fun. I got these last Thursday. I believe I have one more delivery left. Sometimes I make one big vase of them and other times I split them into multiple vases, which I did here. I love seeing them every time I go through the house. What is not to love about flowers .. inside or out?

20210926_135916_HDR.jpg

Ok.... that is all you get for now, because I don't want you to get too over excited and hurt yourself.

I'm funny... right ??

Hope you are all doing well and that your hearts are happy.

Love you !

Jacey

Sort:  

Oh, butter! I was going to put something else in there because, let's face it, that is just annoying. Before coffee?

Unforgivable.

I haven't ever done that before! What a waste of creamy organic butter. Open that fridge a little wider. I didn't get a good refrigerator check done yet. 😍 I love that look to the left setup of color. Little touches like that really make it homey and happiness radiates out from it.

Le sigh.

I have the same rule with buying new things. I make no exceptions, otherwise, I would be needing a storage shed or three. No thank you! So, I am on another kick that if something didn't fit me this summer, it is history. Period. Why am I hanging on to things that just make me angst over weight I haven't lost/gained Okay... It is usually weight I need to lose, but, I have a couple of good sports in there that are just too big.

Anyway, the mug is cool and I have a thing for cool mugs, but collect very few. They are one of the first things people get rid of when they are cleaning out their houses. I have a few from North Carolina when I lived there, a place north of Fayetteville made pottery, okay. lots of people do and they have the shops in their garages. So cool and I love their pottery!

Thanks, El! I got a hoot and holler out of your post... Oh, the flowers are divine! Honestly! Do you think they would deliver to me? #alwaysaflower ❤️

OH BUTTER !!! ...for sure ! Totally unforgivable....and I probably could have still used that... maybe.... but I was having a little tantrum when I grabbed it up and it just felt better to toss it. Stupid butter....

Have you ever heard a mourning dove at 10:54 in the evening ?? Me either till just now and after the second time, I had to go to the living room to check it out and of course, there was a commercial for a bird clock ! I was glad to see that, because I thought something extra creepy must be happening. whew Stupid commercial !

It's a good rule to have once you get things sorted down, so you don't accumulate... or accumulate again.

Do you remember if the pottery was from Seagrove? Seagrove is a huge pottery area. I think, if I remember correctly that the area has/had a certain kind of really great clay and once discovered, eventually many potters relocated there many years ago. I know all the clay they use does not come from there now and am not sure they didn't deplete the area, but either way, the potters are still there, generations later, still happily potting away.

So far, this year being her first, she only delivered in this county. You might have to wait till she gets a little larger to get them there. :)

Yes!!! Seagrove! (among other places) Go north to Carthage and take a left! Tiny little nothing town with tons of potters there.

Oh, the bird clock! LOL That sure rattled your cage, yes? The clay was the big deal there and it still had some when I was there. I loved their pottery and bought a nice bowl and mug, OK, several bowls, and some extra for gifts. I love local pottery and buy some when I come across it. I love the pottery in San Antonio too. I got some nice pieces there although I got some in Hill Country too.

I miss San Antonio. I always look to see what they have going on there. So much fun is going on without us! Wah!!!!

Bore anyone to tears? I think not.

I find the best postings are those with nothing specific in mind. Simply start writing and something interesting always comes out as shown in your posting.

A quick glance to your left and there's a little inspiration right there. I'm glad to see you've found some.

I wonder if that butter wanted your attention? The secret lives of food in our fridges is an interesting concept. I often wondered if we shouldn't take a picture of our own fridges and post them on a regular basis. You'd be surprised on how interesting another persons fridge could be.

I see tons of fun and joy over there. Have a good one 😀

I don't know WHAT that butter was thinking. It appeared it was trying to escape, but alas, it just wasn't quite quick enough and got caught in the door.

Funny...

The inside of everyone's frig..... that might be fun to see.

It IS a pretty happy place over here, most times.

Thanks for coming over and commenting.

Seconded. Had it been a 'planned post' I'd have likely tldr'd. But I. Love chaos.

Thank you !... I almost missed you. The first time I came through I thought buffalobison had re-responded !

I could probably do more posts if chaos and fumble-de-bumble sells ! LOL !!

Thanks for stopping by. :)

Oh I could of got 3 maybe 4 posts out of all this much fun! Honestly, flowers is a Market Friday. Mug is another Market Friday lol! Butter story a perfect blog in and of itself lol. There sure is a bunch of excitement going on there!

I make kielbasa like that all the time. Somedays I liven it up with some hot sauce too.

Great looking flowers!

I would eat that butter. In fact I would see it as a sign to make cookies with it right away!

I probably should have kept the butter too, but instead, I took out my disgust on it.....ha I did however boil the whole dozen eggs I had in there, ate a couple for breakfast and will make egg salad out of the rest. Wasn't afraid of them immediately, but didn't want to leave them for later.

Cookies.... cookies sound good right now !

Thanks for your excited comment....LOL !

Mashed potatoes and sausage, sounds good. My favorite topper for mashed potatoes lately has been our homemade simple chili. I love how the potatoes soak up all the juice flavors from the chili, sprinkle some cheddar cheese on top, mix it all together, and mana from heaven.

Chili sounds like a great topping for mashed potatoes. Chili and cheese !

There are lots of meat that go well with mashed potatoes. So versatile.

Thanks for stopping by. :)