Epiphany: I live in a computer case

in #computer4 years ago (edited)

My living room is a computer case. I just realized this while I was working at home with earplugs in, due to the noise of various fans and equipment. No, I don't have a heatstroke - hear me out:

  • I am the CPU.
  • My desk fan is the CPU fan.
  • The mechanical ventilation on the roof is the case fan.
  • The windows are the ventilation grids.
  • The kitchen sink is a water-cooling system.
  • The other side of the kitchen (fridge, stove and pantry) is the power-supply unit. (This works better in Dutch.)
  • My furniture is the motherboard.
  • Cables are cables.
  • My books are the hard drive.
  • My notebooks are flash drives.
  • My computers (desktop, laptop and phone) are RAM.
  • The desktop keyboard is the bus.
  • The desktop monitor is the GPU. (Don't think too hard about this one.)
  • The stuff to be sold or donated on a table in the corner is the unused DVD drive.

It's uncanny how well this fits. I listed almost everything present in this room, besides some tools, games, flowers and clothes. Well, my computer case actually has shoes. I taped 4 pieces of carpet under it to stop it from trembling. And I have an excellent random number generator:


dice.jpg

It's just a metaphor. I'm not making a point. On the contrary, this reminds me I should read an article called The Human Brain Is Not A Computer. The world computer tells me it was probably this one.


desk fan.jpg

A long time ago, my desk fan literally was the CPU fan

Sort:  

I like your analogy, it works really well. The funny thing is whether you have a desktop PC or Tower over time it will become slower - and most people assume it is because it is old and needs replacing. Certainly an spinning disc hdd is going to be slow compared to a SSD - but if you have a tower and laptop with SSD and they still slow down? Simple fact is over time the cooling fans clog up with dust and dirt and the mainboard of your computer will throttle the processor if it get's too hot - so over time your computer becomes slower and slower until you clean out the fans. One of my work towers sounded like a light aircraft every time I logged into it and was lagging horribly, took the side panel off and it was crammed with dust. Hoovered it out and left the side panel off for more air flow - totally silent now when logged in and four times more responsive!

Good tip! I'll have to take a look the next time I turn it off, which doesn't happen every week.

I made a mistake when I replaced this PC's broken hard disk with a 2 TB hard disk, thinking that an SSD would wear out quickly. I didn't realize how much the reading/writing speed had become the bottleneck.

Congratulations @edb! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 10 HIVE on Hive Power Up Day!
Wait until the end of Power Up Day to find out the size of your Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Congratulations @edb! You received a personal badge!

You powered-up at least 100 HP on Hive Power Up Day! This entitles you to a level 3 badge
Participate in the next Power Up Day and try to power-up more HIVE to get a bigger Power-Bee.
May the Hive Power be with you!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - The countdown is ticking
Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Well, its more a case of the computer case is modelled after you living room.

Look! A box of caltrops!