Starting the Pantries - June 18, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Construction - starting new pantry1 crop June 2021.jpg

On Friday the carpenter got to work getting these cabinets set along the wall. My helper friend helped him move the big one into place. I came in at that time from the gardens and took the lazy susan out of the cabinet on the left. The carpenter took the door and stained it darker, a closer match to the others. He still has to do the frame. The top will have a countertop he will make.

He also moved the support from above the doors to the top on the cabinet next to the big one. This was the too small sink base. We have a matching piece of wood to cover the hole. It will be hinged to move out of the way, for access to the shelf behind it.

He will also have to make shelves for the big cabinet in addition to the one for the sink base.

Pantry cleaned crop Jan. 2018.jpg

In between these jobs I was emptying the left side of the pantry. Those shelves rested on the white cabinet and he needed to put a support in there to get the cabinet out. Because everything is packed and stacked on the shelves to the very edge, I decided to remove all breakables to the clean room cabinets.

Construction - old pantry emptying crop June 2021.jpg

This kept me out of trouble for a long time. I must have walked miles moving stuff out. The worst part is most of it is not where it will end up. I can’t really organize things until all the places can be used. So most of this will be moved again.

Construction - starting new pantry2 crop June 2021.jpg

He got the small white cabinet out and into place and we remembered we had to move the 2 big cabinets over to it. I’d loaded a bunch of stuff into those too. So I took out what I could and we got them moved and level again.

Then he cut out a permanent shelf in the right side big cabinet and fitted a support to hang brooms and mops from. The vacuum will also be stored in there.

We were so busy all morning, I didn’t have time to be sad. When we quit, I was too tired to be much of anything.

On Monday he has trim to run and some odds and ends to work on. When my helper returns from vacation, they will make the countertops. I have to find marble shelving to go over the top of the small white cabinet.