The Dining Room Window and the Back Porch - April 14, 2021 @goldenoakfarm

Dining room window cleaned2 crop Nov. 2020.jpg

This is how the dining room window has looked since November. The extensions needed stained and there was no trim.

Construction - dining room window done crop April 2021.jpg

The carpenter got the extensions stained, trim up, and then made a lovely 7” wide window sill to hold plants. I had taken the grilles out so he wouldn’t have to watch out for them. I didn’t put them back because I will be washing this window on Saturday.

He will put up the shelf brackets for the seed starting shelves on Thursday, once I find them. Regarding these, we discovered that putting the extensions on the window meant I no longer had the luxury of space for 2 4’ plant lights. I needed 8’ 6” and had 7’ 3”. So I can only put them over the awning window now, only half the size they were.

Finished - Living room27 crop Oct. 07.jpg

But it’s not a loss as now I can put hanging plants in front of the double hung windows, something I’d not done before. Because the new office is no longer the living room, I can put supports up on that old front door and put a lot more plants in that window. So in the end, I will gain seed starting space, just not as much as I’d thought.

But before he started, that he succeeded in simply fixing the sticking windows in the living room. I had to be able to open them and take out the sashes for cleaning on Friday.

I had moved everything away from the 6 double hung windows in there, so he could work on them. The living room is a disaster and will remain so until the windows are all washed and the screens put in for the summer.

My helper arrived at 2PM and because of the dining room window problem, we weren’t setting up the plant stand. It was now too big. So I asked him to start on the back porch, finishing the inside so I can move the dehydrators out there. I should be dehydrating dandelions and nettles now.

Construction - back porch ceiling crop April 2021.jpg

He got the ceiling insulated and the 1 sheet of plywood we had up. Then we went to the store and got 6 more sheets. It’s to rain through Friday and he will be back on Friday to work on it.

The carpenter and I will be putting up bathroom wallpaper on Thursday.

Sort:  

That’s a lot of work done in one day!