A Dash of Sult N Papper 04/26/20> Photo contest --- TODAY ONLY--- Photo contest…. win HIVE!!!

in #contest4 years ago

image.png

Today is the National Hemi Day Photo contest sponsored by yours truly. The prize pool consists of $25 / $15 / $10 for the top three photos as judged be me.

Read the “suggest guidelines please….

Contest is limited to one entry per HIVE account, and the photo must be of a Hemi engine or Hemi engine powered car from the 426 cubic in era of the 1960’s thru the 1970’s, extra consideration will be given for photos with a brief few sentences about the photo you submit.

Entries open are open now and run until 04/26 20 until 10:00 PM CST in the USA. Just place your photo in the comments section of this post.

Just don’t go grabbing photos off the internet either; make sure you have the rights to the photo you enter the contest with. I will be checking each photo for authenticity.

That should do it for the “suggest guidelines” otherwise known as rules.

The poker tournament is going pretty strong and our team, the Three Kings, are doing really. Currently I and my team mate @sevendst19 are battling for top position and our other team mate, @chops316 who got a late start, has worked his way up and is knocking at the door for 5th place as I type this.

Come back tomorrow and see if you won, but first you have to enter.

Until next time,
Sult

Sort:  

I looked and looked and looked for a picture of the race car I worked on in the late 80s. The last 426 in the dragster class... I couldn't find a one. I'll see Smith (the owner) this summer and see if he's got some.

So. I have at least a half dozen 426 cars that I've taken photos of. The '63 Dodge I chose because it was the real start of the muscle car era. By '64 all the manufacturers were playing, but in '63 the Superstock Dodge just kicked ass in the NHRA. Jan and Dean wrote about the little old lady from Pasadena who drove a Superstock Dodge. Anyhow, I have pictures of this car from various shows. It's an incredibly rare as purchased Superstock Dodge.

Superstock Dodge.JPG

So. This makes tomorrow 427 Side Oiler day! Another very fun motor, and consequently one you could not purchase in 1964. Every single one of them that FoMoCo made either ended up in a Thunderbolt (101 of those) or a PBR. And you couldn't buy a Thunderbolt. Ford made 50 for turn left and 50 for drag racing. They gave them all to previously sponsored teams... The extra one was a display car.

Oh yea baby, this is what I had pictured in my mind when I came up with this contest. Thanks for entering and winning the first SnP National Hemi Day photo contest.

After about thirty minutes of scrolling through my camera roll I finally found these pictures!

This '69 Charger R/T (440, six pack) was my Dad's pride and joy. His eyes still light up when he talks about driving it off the showroom floor. My parents brought me home from the hospital in it. I remember climbing up into the front seat to go with my dad to pick up pizzas. He used to do burnouts and I remember the smoke rolling into the car. I'll never forget how this car sounded. These old hemis had such a deep growl when idling (especially with glass packs). I credit his wild driving as part of the reason I'm a thrill-seeker to this day.

Dad eventually had the car repainted around the mid-70's, the painter didn't take care of the small rust spots properly, and it was never the same after that. The car rusted out completely a few years later and he sold it for a couple hundred dollars.

I always hoped I could have "made it" as a writer while my Dad was still able to drive. My plan was to buy him another '69 Charger, but it just wasn't meant to be. He had to give up driving right around the time my career was getting traction. He owned many cars in his lifetime but this was his favorite. I think we all have one special car that stands out like that. Your life changes a little when you get rid of them.

The second picture is me in the driver's seat. That picture must've been taken around 1971 or so.


Thank you, Sult for sponsoring this contest! It was a great trip down memory lane.

That is a terrific story and a great car!

Thank you @bigtom13! One of these days, when I have the garage space, I might just try to find one.

Congrats Eric on finding the photos and the great story. You won both second and third place in the first SnP National Hemi Day photo contest.

I really appreciate it @sultnpapper! That's very kind of you. Thanks again for sponsoring it!

It lasted only one day ? 🙁

Yes, April 26th only lasts one day each year but I had been mentioning the contest for a week prior to it in my Dash's letting people know it was coming and the suggested guidelines. I will do it again next year so mark your calendar and start keeping an eye out for a Hemi engine powered old Dodge or Chrysler.
Those might be very hard to find over where you are but you have 365 days to find one now.
Thanks for dropping by and good luck in the poker tournament.]
Sult

Oh ..another whole year ..ok so i saw your comment only yesterday in the tournament
But happy for the winners 💐