A Dash of Sult N Papper 07/18/20> LAST CHANCE TO ENTER….”Quote Contest”… $60 HIVE IN PRIZES

in #contest4 years ago

image.png

If you've been...

If you’ve been saving your best quote for last now is the time; entries close at 10:00 PM Texas time today Saturday July 18th. If you haven’t entered yet; what the hell have you been waiting for?

I don’t give this much HIVE away very often so another contest like this might not come around from me very soon. Official entry information can be found here.

I can tell...

I can tell you that I really do appreciate all the entries and support you folks have given me in this contest.

I never have liked contests that REQUIRE a person to up-vote the post and to re-blog the post in order to enter it. If you ever see a contest from me with those requirements you’ll know someone has taken over my account by hi-jacking it from me.

What I will...

What I will tell you is that several of you were kind enough to re-blog this contest in support of me and those who took the time to do that are going to be rewarded as Saturday HIVE winners.

Here is that list of folks: @deerjay @inthenow @ericvancewalton @geekgirl @tonygreene113 @opidia .

I believe I got everyone or at least that is who shows up in my notifications tab as having “resteemed” it. If I missed someone just let me know. It probably won’t get you anything at this point but at least we’ll know not to trust the notifications tabs as being “gospel”.

Typing that word...

Typing that word “resteemed” just doesn’t seem right to me. Who do we need to get with in order to have that changed to something else?

I would like to see HIVE as far removed from that FIRED side of the block chain as humanly possible. Could we not substitute another word for it? Maybe “Buzzed” ?

Isn’t the purpose of re-blogging in a way trying to create a “buzz” with sharing the post? That’s as close as I can get with any semblance of a word that could be associated with HIVE. What do you suggest should be the term?

In housekeeping this...

In housekeeping this week there isn’t much to clean up. In fact; I really can’t think of anything I really screwed up bad enough to warrant some clarification.

Although I may have made a comment or two in a couple discord channels that didn’t set well with some folks but that is what freedom of speech is all about. The person my comment was directed to by name didn’t disagree, the responded “Agreed @sultnpapper” so it is what it is.

I have to...

I have to tell ya’ll that our 22 year old son is really enjoying that new job he took on back in April at the GF furniture store.

He had been working at the local hardware store for six years and he was getting burned out with the place. He was managing it for the last year and half but the new owners are screwing things up so he decided to leave back in April.

He gave them two weeks’ notice without having another job lined up and was just three days away from his last day when I heard an interview on the radio about a “job fair” the furniture company was having.

So I told the boy, “If you ain’t doing anything today you might want to go check out this “job fair” at GF furniture. Mac said they are going to hire at least 50 people today and maybe as many as 75 for all types of positions.” The kicker was $1,000 bonus if you get hired and last 30 days. His ears perked up hearing that.

He ventured down...

He ventured down there and he is good with people and customers so he applied for a sales position. The lady who interviewed him questioned his “six years sales experience” seeing that he is so young looking.

He told the woman, “I could sell ice to an Eskimo, Mam.” Needless to say he doesn’t lack confidence, and she liked that trait in him he would later find out from her. She hired him on the spot for one of the 15 sales positions that were open.

The owner of the business is well respected in the Houston community and he does a lot of great things like opening his store as a shelter to people displaced during Hurricane Harvey a couple of years back.

Also he is a big supporter of the Live Stock show which gives out college scholarships to high school seniors each year. The owner purchases hundreds of thousands of dollars worth of animals in the grand champions auction each year then donates the animals after processing to food shelters. He is also a very demanding boss but rewards his people well who do well for his company.

Of those fifteen...

Of those fifteen sales people hired that day the boy is one of two left from that crop of fifteen. He has done quite well and looks like he is on the right track at GF furniture. In the two short months he’s been there he has already gone on two trips with the company to furniture trade shows the latest one was this week in Las Vegas, NV.

He got a little spoiled on the first business trip he took with the company as they flew on a private jet up to Indiana for an Amish furniture show up there but this trip this week was on a commercial airline flights going to and from Vegas.

He was one of three sales people sent to this Vegas show and the company paid all the expenses up front plus before they headed out on Monday night the owner gave each of them $500 in cash for food and entertainment. Not bad for a two day trip I’d say.

He is still in the probationary period for salesman so he isn’t getting full commission yet and does get some hourly wage and half commission. Right now he is outselling some of the senior sales people that have been there for years in some cases and the owner and management have definitely taken notice of that.

The crazy part is that new salesman seldom work the front door area greeting customers so he is basically picking up customers that other sales folks have “casted off “ as not going to purchase and those sales people went back to the front door to try again.

I haven't looked...

I haven’t looked at those “review” sites but the wife has, I think it is Glass Door or something like that , and the wife said the average salesperson there makes six figures in commissions, plus the owner gives great bonuses too. The boy may have just fallen into one heck of an opportunity.

If they ever get an Eskimo in there that HR lady will know who to get sell them a bag of ice and whatever else the Eskimo needs.

Until next time,
Sult

FYI: I'll have the winners for the "Quote Contest" in the 7/19/20 Dash so be sure to check back tomorrow.
Photo credits: Sult N Papper

Sort:  

Typing that word “resteemed” just doesn’t seem right to me. Who do we need to get with in order to have that changed to something else?

On the Hive blockchain, we can reblog others' posts. It was called that as soon as the Hive blockchain launched.

That would make perfect sense except that isn't the case if you are using the Hive.blog. access with you using PeakD or whatever it is that you use you may not see what we are talking about. I just checked my "notifications" tab and is has "resteems" and I check your as well , it has the same wording https://hive.blog/@thekittygirl/notifications
That is why I brought it up, just doesn't seem right and eventually I imagine it will get change on here too.
Thanks for the continued support,
Sult

Ah! I have clicked on the 'Reblog' button (and it says 'Reblog') but I did not realize that the notifications still says 'Resteemed' 😬 I will mention that to someone and see if it can be included in the upcoming hardfork. Thanks!

Your son is so accomplished at such age and inspiring for me. I hope he continues learning and excel in his career. though I wonder if he's gonna try the non-traditional sales job as in being entrepreneur and has his own business since I found many people of my age and his age are drawn into this type of venture.

Anyway, happy for you son !

Have a good weekend :)

He is pretty driven but he knows he needs experience before jumping into something on his own. He figures he will bank roll as much of what he is making right now and learn as much as he can in the mean time from a proven and respected businessman.
Eventually he wants to have his own gig and he said somewhere between 5 and 7 years is his goal.

That sounds awesome ! sounds like he really knows what he wants and stuff. Cheers.

Cheers to you as well. Did you by chance notice that you won the Peoples' Choice award in the quote contest with your video of "Bless Your Heart" ? You received $10 HIVE as your prize. Congrats!

I did ! thank you so much for the prize. I happen to really like that phrase a lot.

Thank you very much for the Hive @sultnpapper!! I agree with you on that word (resteemed). I used the word in a post recently and had to double check that it was indeed being used on the Hive platform. Did feel weird to use it here. 🤔
That is great news about your son and I hope he continues to advance in the company he is with. I'm glad you were listening to the radio and caught that to relay back to him. Wonderful how things work out like that sometimes! 🙂 💖

You are very welcome on the HIVE and wish it could have been more but I have some other commitments of HIVE coming up very shortly that I have to take care of.
Slowly I believe we will see that word changed to something more representative of the HIVE name rather than the current one used. Can't expect everything to fixed at once I guess.
The boy has told me several times that he is glad I let him know and encouraged him to go. I will have to tell ya'll some of the stories he's told me if he doesn't mind. Some are funny as hell, like the flying the plane story.

That is perfectly okay and you give a lot. I wish I hadn't been going through so much this week and thought to do more than re-hive aka re-steem. 🤔
I hope he doesn't mind and you get to tell us some of those stories too! 💖

Damn. I didn't make the re buzzed list. That is just an oversight on my part. Sorry.

I only entered once, shot my best shot first :) I really do appreciate what you've done here and thank you for it. It's a big deal.

Reminds me of when my Dad was teaching me to box. "Shoot your best shot early. Then you know if you are fighting defensively or offensively."

That is such good news about your son. Good on him. I just happen to know that good sales people are in high demand. All the time.

No need to apologize Tom, re-buzzing wasn't required and I know you have had your hands full since you've gotten back.
Still not to late to slip in a late body shot, but that was good advice on the part of Dad. Good to know where you stand as early on as you can.
The boy has grown up around sales people and he learned at a young age that people don't want to be "sold" stuff. He's learned the art of closing and has actually had senior sales people call him into their "sale" to close the deal of their's and then they "split the ticket". He is getting a good reputation with many of them in that regard.
Plus he has learned from working in the hardware that people always need more than they came in for whether or not they even know it. So he asks questions and encourages customers to ask questions. Just taking an interest goes a long way in the selling process.
i have an appointment in a few minutes so I am cutting this off here. Thanks for the support.
Sult

Congratulations to your son for landing a job with possibilities and to you for raising a son with gumption. Tis a rare gift these days. I like the word buzzed. Has a bit more pizzazz than the word from FIRED.

I am good with any word that doesn't have any indication of being from FIRED , I thing that be why I don't buzz stuff very often my subconscious mind won't let me click anything to do with FIRED. Pizzazz eh.... yea Pizzazz!

So glad to hear your son landed a job with such a nice company Sult! This old world is so intent on self serving so it's like finding gold when you work for a company like that!

Thanks Lizelle. The owner is getting up there in age and there is no telling what the company may look like in the future but whatever amount of time he spends there at that company will be time well spent in my opinion.
Family run businesses with family values are a dying breed of business and working there may inspire him to start a business of his own at some point.
Thanks for all the support, very much appreciated.
Sult

More than money , he will learn about himself , people and life
It is beautiful to do it so young , may he be happy .
Congrats on raising a courageous kid

You are so right with that observation @opidia about the learning aspect of things.
Learning how to communicate and relate to people is most important and you only get that through doing it.
Thank you for all of your support throughout the contest, it is very much appreciated.
Good luck at the tables,
Sult

I need luck indeed ahahha 😉

Thank you @sultnpapper and also thank you for sponsoring these contests. They encourage interaction and they're a lot of fun!

Congratulations to your son! It sounds like the company landed a gem and vice versa. There aren't many employers who are that generous anymore. I wish him continued success! It was good of you to persuade him to take a shot at it. Sometimes all we need is a little nudge and someone who believes in you.

I enjoy doing these contests and having a source for prizes in the form of HIVE dollars makes it a enjoyable and right thing to do. I think I'm not the only one who gets turned off by these contests that are trying to fund the contests from "upvote" earnings and such thus requiring a person to upvote and re-blog the contest.
I am using the winnings from the recent poker tournament to fund this contest and the Saturday giveaways each week. When I can't win enough regularly I might have to back down on it but all is good for now.
The boy didn't need much persuading. He knows my "look" when I'm talking to him, and the look was all he needed to see as far as getting him down there to the job fair. From there he was all on his own, and he has thanked me plenty of times since then.
Thanks for the continued support,
Sult

Thanks again for the prizes! It's been a while since I've sponsored a contest but it was always fun (and more work than I factored in). It's good that you keep things simple.

Oh, if it's the look my dad used to give me I know it full well. That look could convey a lot. Lol.

Enjoy what's left of the weekend. I bookmarked that link you shared with me the other day so I don't lose track of it. I'll be delving into the abyss this week.

Thanks for the prize and mention. Glad things are working out for your son in his new job. Reblogged. :D