A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/02/20> Now what? Guzbuck if I know.

in #contest4 years ago

image.png

This is the...

This is the time when I am not quite sure what to do and so I find myself asking myself, “Now what?”

From the immediate responses to the Family Traditions contest announcement it looks like we could have a promising amount of entries from which we can learn different family traditions around the world. I do know one thing though; not all family traditions are worth carrying on.

Not only some...

Not only some family traditions aren’t worth carrying on but even some of our traditions that are associated to where each of us lives need to be examined and some done away with.

Ever since I had the thought come to me for this current contest I’ve been thinking a lot about traditions.

The wife and...

The wife and I have broken some long standing traditions on her side of the family in the last 15 years after her mother passed away. Some were intentional and others weren’t and honestly I don’t think any others in the family even noticed or cared enough to say something if they did notice.

Ten years ago is the first time we broke a long standing family tradition; if you don’t count our wedding.

That wedding broke a family tradition too but I had good reason for breaking that one. I wanted people who came to the wedding to remember it for what is was (our wedding day) and not who was singing at the wedding. The young girl from Mississippi had a beautiful voice by the way and sang very well I might add. So that was the first breaking of a family tradition and I hadn’t even said, “I do” yet.

The tradition...

The tradition ten years ago that we broke was with our oldest boy and confirmation into the church. The church is a family tradition; in fact it is named after my wife’s family just like this entire area is named after their family.
So since 1872, when the church was founded, all the children in the family were baptized and confirmed when the child reached the proper age. Upon looking at the family tree, we snapped that confirmation branch when our oldest boy was twelve.

Maybe that explains why we’ve had so much trouble in the past with Blondie’s and Shortie’s recent confirmations. T-Bone, our oldest boy, did finally get confirmed (in fact this year), but he waited until he was an adult to do it. Not because he was forced too; but because he wanted too.

Breaking government "traditions...

Breaking government “traditions” is a little tougher to do if you know what I mean. Government gets really pissed off when you stray from the herd. So after more than forty five years of filing tax returns in order to comply with the “tradition” I said to hell with it.

Did you know that there are over 50 US Supreme Court rulings that say the IRS and the income tax are basically a scam? I didn’t either until I finally got tired of sending the IRS signed under penalty of perjury confession slips each year along with some money most years.

You can keep that government tradition going for you if you’d like but I’m done with it and this makes year two of my own “tradition” or soon to be tradition.

I never did...

I never did establish what constitutes a “tradition” as far as time goes. I’ll leave that up to each of you. You would know better than me since this is a global contest. What may not be enough time in one location might be plenty of time in another, so you make the call on that.

My gut feeling with this contest is that a lot of the family traditions are going to be tied to religion or holidays because it seems that those two are pretty popular, at least here they are in the US.

So I’m hoping that there will be some surprises that will spice things up. Naturally I’m hoping for hundreds of entries but realistically I expect to see 15 or 20 but if those could come from 8 or 10 different countries I’d say it would pretty successful in my eyes.

So in getting back to my original question of, “Now what?” I guess we’ll just have to wait and see.

Until next time,
Sult

In case you missed the announcement for the contest here is a link to it:
https://hive.blog/contest/@sultnpapper/a-dash-of-sult-n-papper-08-01-20-contest-it-s-on-now-usd100-hive-in-prizes

Photo credits: Sult N Papper

Sort:  

Well, I've already continued a tradition. In my exuberance at your contest I told you that I'd probably have my entry in Monday-and had forgot that I have another project/post scheduled Monday. It's not lack of exuberance or anything like that, you know. Just a thing to do that I forgot at the time. So I traditionally publish Monday, Wednesday and Friday and it's now scheduled for Wednesday.

I like my tradition, and I'm really looking forward to reading others.

In my opinion, some traditions are just stale and dated and NEED to be broken. Sometimes the weight of a tradition is more than a family or person can bear...

See ya around my friend. I hope your Sunday includes some exposure to Corona the Cerveza.

I will look for it on Wednesday. They have made some changes over at the poker tables and that has limited the availability of securing funds for keeping the contests going if more people don't start playing the poker games. This might be my last contest I sponsor for a while unless we start getting more participation over there.
I can't blame the management though they need traffic to keep their boat a float too.
I've put off firing up the grill long enough today, maybe a Corona and the smell of fresh pecan smoke is just what I need right now since you mentioned it.
Thanks,
Sult