A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/10/20> Results of the Family Traditions Contest Announced Now

in #contest4 years ago (edited)

image.png

This Family Traditions ...

This Family Traditions contest was a lot more than I bargained for and in more ways than I could have imagined.

Before I get to what is the important news of this Dash I want to express my sincere gratitude for all the support this contest received from numerous folks in the form of up votes and re-blogs.

There were 17 different people that took the time to re-blog the official announcement and some also re-blog the midweek reminder. For the sake of time I’m not going to name each one right now but just know that a little “thank you” token of appreciation has been transferred to your account from me for your support of this contest.

Something else I...

Something else I didn’t bargain for was the fact that I included a prize category that I realized I probably wouldn’t be a good judge of; the appearance prize.

My Dailydose and Dash posts aren’t exactly what one would call “eye catching” and I think those were the exact words I used in describing how that judging would be done.

I'm not a...

I’m not a flashy type of person and my blog reflects that. While I have nothing against pictures, I do have my own reasons for not using very many in my blogs.

So I recruited the assistance of Blondie and Shortie to judge that appearance prize. They have a lot more credibility than me when it comes to judging if something looks good or not.

Personally, I like...

Personally I like the way my Dashes look, but I heard a few knocks on my blogging for being “old school” when it comes to style the other night on the Post Up show.

So the first thing we’ll get out of the way is the best appearing Family Tradition entry and that entry belongs to @tripode .

The girls really...

The girls really liked the fact that it was earthy colors, with a very modern style piece of artwork showing a father, mother and child holding hands and the word “traditions” in cursive lettering for the header of the post.

Really, there is no need for me to describe it but they also like the way it was set up in both English and Spanish in side by side columns. The photos she used had matching color background to that of the header. This one was, “just the right amount” according to Shortie on pictures.

While I didn’t use the videos for my portion of the judging the girls liked that it had a video too. Shortie liked the fact the video was just long enough and positioned at the end of the post to drive home something that was very important to the post; the sound effect of a properly played domino.
So congratulations to @tripode for being selected as the “Best Appearing” post.

Here is the direct link to her post

I'm going to...

I’m going to jump right to the winning Family Tradition Post and this post stood out for me because it embodied the things that I feel are really important.

Respect for the past, honoring the present, and securing the continuation of the future of this family tradition which is the family reunion. This winning entry was submitted by @justclickindiva and both the content, length of the description, and formatting were very, very good.

She is somewhere up in east Texas so it was no surprise for me to see that where she is a family reunion involves the whole town. East Texas is known for a lot of things, like tall pine trees and folks marrying their cousins.

I don’t know if that second part is true or not, but I do know there are some big old pine trees up there.

They have an annual family reunion that is held on a weekend from Friday thru Sunday. Please do check out this exceptional winning entry. Congratulations @justclickindiva on winning the Family Traditions contest.
Here is the direct link to her winning entry

Second place belongs...

Second place belongs to @lizelle down in Durban, South Africa and her family tradition of camping at the sea shore along with fishing and cooking the fish.

She gives a really good and interesting background of her family and some of the relationships must have been love at first sight since they didn’t even speak the same languages.

Her pictures are exquisite and so is the text. There is something special about the sea and sea shores, truly great place for a family tradition. Congratulations @lizelle.
Check out Lizelle's second place entry right here

Third place goes...

Third place goes to one who’s been previously mentioned @tripode.

Not only was her blog very appealing to the eyes, she conveyed the importance of board games to family traditions.

Family traditions don’t necessarily need to be annual events, like birthdays, Christmas & New years. In my opinion those are the easiest family traditions to break unless steps are made to protect them like @justclickindiva’s post eluded too.

With board games it is a tradition that can happen at any time and as frequently as wanted, and if you happen to get off tract it’s easier to get back to it, you don’t have to wait another year in order to do it.

She gave the history of dominoes in her country, the Dominican Republic, and the game came to their shores back in the 1500’s and has been going strong since then. She did an excellent job in her text of explaining the game and the object of it.

It also reminded me...

It also reminded me that Daisy and I need to get back to playing dominoes and bring the kids into the game.
Daisy’s Aunt Mattie and Uncle Herman would have a standing dominoes game at their house every Thursday evening.

They have both passed away and the games actually ended for us about the time our second child was born, Herman’s health was failing then and between his health and two young kids to tend with it just became a weekly social visit.

With the influx of computer games the traditional board games have a tendency to get put away and that a real shame. Board games can be played at a slower pace with time for visiting between turns of play.

I don’t play any video games, except poker and some occasional slots, but I think that most video games don’t tend to much socialization while being played and aren’t meant to be played around a gathering table.

That leaves me...

That leaves me with the “Mystery Prize” left to award and that prize goes to @brittandjosie.

I didn’t know what I was going to do with that prize until I read her entry.

Something that has only been going on for six years could hardly be called a “family tradition” but those family traditions have to start somewhere.

Her house rule / family tradition of no cell phones at the dinner table is a good one and I implemented that rule in our house back when the kids got cell phones.

We haven’t gone as far as creating a nice fancy box like she has; but if we had, it probably wouldn’t be used anyways. The kids take that dinner time to charge their phones in most cases.

That rule also extends to where ever we are together eating as a family. The only exception is to take group photos of the table like when celebrating an event at the local Mexican restaurant. You have to document the Mexican sombrero and the whip cream in the face while the wait staff sings “Feliz Cumpleano”.

Please check out the Mystery Prize winner and that fancy box right here

This wouldn't be...

This wouldn’t be one of my contests if I didn’t go over budget and add some additional prizes. So I am going to do that right now.

I think inspiration is worthy of reward and the inspiration for this contest came from @bigtom13 .

He too submitted a really good post. If you haven’t read it please take the time to do that. He, like so many others who submitted entries, conveyed the tradition of family love.

Family blood and family love are not synonymous, just to be clear on that, and he does a great job of explaining
and I think our oldest boy T-Bone would second Tom’s take on it.

Tom receives 15.259 HIVE which is what the contest post earned in HIVE and HBD.
Here is Tom's take on Family Traditions

I'm not quite...

I’m not quite finished yet either.

I don’t know exactly what “hallacas” or “halacas” are, or which spelling is correct, but I do know that the dish is quite popular in Venezuela at Christmas time.

There were several entries from VZ and refugees of VZ now in Columbia and I want to thank them for sharing their family traditions.

When I read the following sentence I couldn’t help from tearing up just a little,” I had to leave my country for political reasons but that does not mean that I did not put my customs in the suitcase and brought them with me.” said @isabelpena.

Venezuela is certainly a beautiful country but the people are suffering right now for sure.

I am pretty damn fortunate to be in a position to do some additional prizes so any entry that originated from Venezuela or refugee like @isabelpena receives 5 HIVE. I have a feeling that they'll use the HIVE to help them survive.

All the rest of the folks that entered will receive 3.00 HIVE for taking the time to share their family traditions, so no one walks away empty handed.

Well, that is not quite right, one will.

I had one person enter correctly but the entry had nothing to do with Family Traditions, they saw “contest” and dropped a link to their latest post. I’m pretty lenient, but not quite there yet.

Again, congratulations to all the winners and thank you to all who entered and supported this contest through up voting and re-blogging.

The complete list of folks and amounts is listed below and transfers made before this is posted. So check your wallets and if I screwed something up please let me know.

Until next time,
Sult

1st Place: @justclickingdiva / 50
2nd Place: @lizelle / 30
3rd Place: @tripode / 10
Best Appearing: @tripode / 5
Mystery Prize: @brittandjosie / 5
Inspiration award: @bigtom13 / 15.259
VZ prize: @isabelpena / 5
VZ prize: @eve66 / 5
VZ prize: @rafaelgreen / 5
VZ prize: @semeruco / 5
VZ prize: @soyunasantacruz / 5
VZ prize: @yazp / 5
Entry: @deerjay / 3
Entry: @opidia / 3
Entry: @macchiata / 3

Re-Blogs / 1 each
@mineopoly , @deerjay , @suheri , @snook , @frostyamber , @macchiata , @c0ff33a , @lizelle , @jaynie , @dexpartacus , @manuelramos , @prechyrukky , @dswigle , @betzaelcorvo , @wesphilbin , @ericvancewalton , @opidia

Sort:  

I thank you for the prize and the nice subjects write about. I saw some of the blogs and i am so agreeing with the prize outcome and i love that you included my phone box young tradition. The daily dose turned into a daily tradition write up. Congrats to all the winners

I am very happy that you supported the contest and submitted an entry. The was quite the fancy box too, must have been some good wine that came in it originally. :)
I also am glad you enjoy the daily dose / dash, it isn't quite as daily as it use to be,,, but I try.
Take care and congrats to you and all the folks who entered,
Sult

I like even the publication of the winners, thank you very much @sultnpapper for expressing your reasons for selection, very valid all the reasons that led you to choose those winners.

congratulations to the winners, that in fact we are all thanks to the generosity of the creator of the contest, I will visit each post to know a little of those people, since with the publicity that made @sultnpapper leave with many desires to read them.

Thank you very much.

Thank you for your kind words and your participation in the contest. I hope you do visit with the other entrants and check back we me often. I 'm not sure when I will be running my next contest but I hope I will replenish my prize pool fairly quickly.
Take care,
Sult

Thank you very much @sultnpapper and to Blondie and Shortie as well for helping with judging!! Awesome selections!! Congratulations to all of the winners!! I did especially love the entries by @justclickindiva and @lizelle and @tripode makes me want to take up playing dominoes again too! It was great to read the different entries and "Family Traditions"! 💖

The girls really had fun doing this and judging the appearance was more time consuming than I thought it would be for them. In the end I was glad I gave them that portion.
I learned a lot from this contest for sure. Thanks for the support and your entry,
Sult

Thank you so much @deerjay for taking the time to read my story. I appreciate your support and encouragement of my content. Also, thanks for the TIP.

You're very welcome! 🙂

Thanks to you for reading me!! I totally loved how I brought some good memories to your head.

Most welcome @tripode and me too! 😊

Congratulations! to the winners and your wonderful entries! 😊

Thank you so much for your support.

Thank you Tiffany, it was a great contest and really good family traditions shared.

Congratulations to all. I am very grateful for this award and what you say is very true, Hive is helping many Venezuelans to be able to buy a little bit of sustenance. Venezuelans are very traditionalists, so wherever you see a Venezuelan you will see all their customs, in China or in Greenland. Thank you very much for you prize @sultnpapper.

Congratulations to all indeed @isabelpena . Probably the one thing I'm know around here on this blockchain is for speaking the truth so I'm glad that you mentioned that.

In case you missed the back and forth with @lizelle and myself over the spelling of your name. I have a habit of misspelling words and I encourage people to point those errors out to me when they see them. I also like to reward the readers every now and then so sometimes the errors are intentional and when pointed out to me by someone I give them one HIVE for taking the time to do that.

I intentionally misspelled your name in the announcement in hope that someone would point it out and I could let folks know that you were my 900th follower and were rewarded for that too. The plan worked as designed when she corrected me.

@lizelle and I met through a spelling error I made with another lady from South Africa who went by the name @simplylizelle. I left the "simply" off the name and I had people going to see some fancy cup cakes at @lizelle rather than at the @simplylizelle lady's blog.

@lizelle was kind enough to find me and point out the error of my ways, so a tradition was born so to speak. Not all mistakes I make get rewarded, sometimes the person might just get a "thank you". But they never know unless they let me know.

I hope you'll stick around my Dash every now and then. I run contests as my prize pool fund allows so you never know when exactly that might be.
Thanks again for your entry and kind words,
Sult

Thanks for the invitation @sultanpapper and I think your user also came out of a mistake, as it is written salt and pepper or was it something on purpose ? hehe from the beginning it caught my attention, but now that you mention it I dare to tell you. Very grateful to you for all the support my friend. Thank you.

That user name came from my pronunciation of the words "salt and pepper" plus I'm kind of salty sometimes, and a little peppery at others, so it just kind of worked.

Plus when I decided to join the old FIRED site back in 2017 I was on the road in a hotel and there happened to be a bunch of salt and pepper packets laying around in the breakfast area. I said to myself, "these must be sign to go with sultnpapper " so I scooped the packets up and went up to my room and started blogging.

I used to call my blog "The Daily Dose of Sultnpapper" and I went over 435 straight days of doing a blog without missing a day. Then I had to change employment and that set me back for the better part of 2019. With this COVID lock down that freed up some time for me at the start of it so I came back to blogging.

I wasn't quite sure how much I was going to be able to do so I renamed my blog " A Dash of Sult N Papper" because I'm not committed do doing the daily routine at this point. So I just dash in , leave my thoughts , and dash back out.

At some point I will get back to the daily dose but for now this is working. It allows me to keep people up to speed on what I feel is important and at the same time if I go missing for a few days folks know I'll show back up again.

I am a big believer in free speech and our constitution here in the USA, but the first is "suspect" right now and the second of those has been trampled on so badly by the government this country's founders are probably rolling over in their graves right about now.

The saddest part of the whole thing is that most people here are so ignorant as to what our rights are, or they don't even know them; let alone how to exercise them and defend them.
Stop back and express you thoughts, my pleasure to have met you.
Sult

The pleasure is all mine, I hope we can continue these conversations from time to time. Thank you for your friendship and support and hopefully soon you will continue with your daily publications.

First of all @sultnpapper, THANK YOU so much for the awards !! You can't imagine the emotion I felt when I saw the wallet notification last night, that I not only won the third place, but also the prize for best appearance, I searched like crazy for some post or comment to thank you, but you still had not published anything and i neither had resources to comment.

But I wanted to tell you that more than the award, I loved your review of my post, I really have no words to tell you what I felt, my heart was fullfilled with love with every word you said, (I am super new writing and in this platform. If you look at it, I only have about 5 post on the net) you can't imagine how this has inspired me even more to continue writing and participating in contests. I really thank you very much! and I exhort you to keep doing it! I had a lot of fun writing about my country, I gave it a lot of love and dedication and I liked knowing a little more about the other participants. I am also glad to have touched good memories in your minds.

Thanks again! And to Blondie and Shortie for choosing me, i really tried to make it special and now i see that i made it!

You three made me the day!

@tripode I am so glad that you have found your way to HIVE and in time to enter the contest. My girls were very impressed with the layout and artwork of your entry, I was as well for that matter, but that portion of the judging was decided by them.

There were a lot a great entries but your attention to detail was very noticeable. From my standpoint, I really liked the fact that it was side x side in dual languages. In my judging I didn't use the videos as part of it as I forewarned folks in the announcement post. I didn't want to get roped into watching some very long videos.

Your written background of the game, the explanation of how it's played were really good. I'll admit that all three of us after the judging did go check out your homepage.

"That explains a lot; she a interior designer.", said Blondie. It really did too, the details are the difference. You will have a great time on here and will move up the ranks if you keep creating content like this post you entered with.

There are several groups that you might want to consider joining in on. One that comes to mind is Power House Creatives , they have exceptional people over there. They will help you with any questions you might have and they have a discord channel for exchanging information.

Another suggestion would be to check out the "Post Up" show on mspwaves.com on Thursdays. You can present your own post to the members and they will help you critique it and give suggestions and up-vote it. Plus you will meet others and you can use audio if you are set up for that, so they have good dialog back and forth with the presenters of their posts. You can also win HIVE on that show, I won 50 HIVE last Thursday night which allowed me to expand the prize pool and reward all the entries from Venezuela in an effort to help them out a bit.

Here are two links associated with the "Post Up" show the first is to the program on mspwaves , https://mspwaves.com/

The second one is to their discord channel and I'm not sure if it will work or not because it was sent to me and I already used it but you can give it a try http://www.minnowpond.org/

If it doesn't work just let me know and I will get with folks there and get you one.
There are several Power House Creatives members so all you have to do is just click on one of those you see at the bottom of any blog. They will welcome you in with open arms I'm quite sure.

Thanks for being a part of the contest, I hope to see you around more on here.
Sult

I completely forgot what you said about not uploading videos! But honestly at the time of writing the post I felt that I need to teach you exactly what I was talking about and it seemed precise and concise to me (believe me, I also hate when people make me watch 10-minute videos when the information could be summarized in 1 min, I totally understand what you feel).

On the other hand, I followed your advice and yesterday I entered the Palnet community, it is a pretty big community! and I even participate (heard) in an activity that they have with ¨new talents¨, it was very captivating!

Your words are very inspiring! Thank you very much for your time, advice and dedication! And yes, I hope to spend much more time around here.

Good for you on checking out the PALnet folks, I just read the results from last weeks Post Up show and I won 3rd place in the evening session with the announcement post for that family traditions contest, that is not bad if I say say so myself.
I took the opportunity in my reply to put a good word in for you too. I know how hard it is to start from scratch around here so I try to help the new folks I come across as much as I can. I highly suggest you make it a point to get on that Post Up show at some point if your schedule allows, if nothing else just to see how it works.
Take care and we'll visit again I'm sure,
Sult

Thank you for all the help you have given me, I followed your advice and participated in the show, I presented my post about dominoes and they liked it!! I really enjoyed it and they gave me upvotes and comments!

Again thanks for all the help, I really appreciate it!

No problem sweetie, keep up the good work and the networking. Good things are going to come your way. You have great talent, but even with that talent, you need to be both persistent and be patient.
I got on to late to hear your Post Up, but I did see you had presented and saw some great comments regarding your post.
Have a great weekend,
Sult

Certainly wasn't expecting anything for a re-blog, but I've known you for some time from #teamusa, and know you are just... "cool like that" lol...

Again... what an awesome contest, and congratulations to all the winners...

Wes

Thank you so very much for the generous prize Mr Papper...oops keep on forgetting I can now call you by your first name, but thank you Sult, and a hearty congratulations to you on a successful contest with a lovely theme, and to all the winners! Reading some of the heart-warming entries brought back wonderful memories!
I think a visit to the cemetery will be on my agenda, bringing out the board games as well as making that cellphone box for the dinner table.
Thank you to the co-judges too!

Thank you and congrats. Your family history was really something. So many of the entries sparked ideas and thoughts .

Congrats to all winners ! I am not usually into joining a contest but that was interesting and fun ones ! I got to read so many interesting family tradition :)

I am so happy you entered and found it interesting. I try to do contests that are easy to enter and are open to pretty much the entire globe as far as the subject matter goes. That way we can learn different things about different areas.

This was a pretty big contest. Thanks for your efforts. I'm sorry I couldn't enter this time. Your gratitude is appreciated.

Thanks for all the support, maybe next time I run a contest you can enter.

Thanks Sult. Not that I don't appreciate the Hive, I do. Very much. But the real reward was reading all the posts and traditions. There was some seriously good writing and feeling in all of them.

You just now made me think of puzzles. We didn't play many board games across generations but we'd do puzzles. A lot of times when the weather was cold out on the farm there'd be a card table with a puzzle on it. Stand in front of the Zigler oil heater and find a couple pieces of the puzzle was a good break.

And you know what? I just lied. Pinochle. It was a mostly adult game, but adulthood came early. By the time I was 12 I could play with my Dad, Grandpa and an Uncle. Grandpa always kept score with chips and that's where I learned how an abacus worked.

Damn. This was some kind of fun. Thanks especially to Blondie and Shortie for their judging expertise. A good time was had by all.

Pinochle was the blue collar game of my parents generation it seems. I learned to play about the same age , can't exactly remember the rules but I remember it had its own special deck of cards.
In high school a group us of played a card game called '66" , and it was a game where you had to bid on how many tricks you would win, the highest bidder got to determine what suit was "trump" and you had to play the suit that was led each hand but if you were unsuited you could trump the hand or play an off suit card. If you had the king and queen of trump that was worth forty points if you were able to lead out with the queen on a hand.
My memory is a little sketchy on the entire game but it was fun as hell 45 years ago.
Ah the memories... it is kind of fun.
Sult

Congratulations to all the winners.

It was a pleasure to participate in your contest, thank you very much for the reward especially for us Venezuelans.

Here is a video of the preparation of the Hallaca:


I hope that someday you can try this delicious dish.

His name is HALLACA and his last name is Venezuela

Thank you very much.

Thanks for the video, and it is my pleasure to try and help with VZ prizes. One of the entries only had one "L" in the name so I wasn't sure about the spelling. Thanks for clearing that up for me.

As my Mom used to say "Lordy, girl; you done gone and done something good again." Thanks "Mom."

And thanks @sultnpapper for considering my family reunion as a tradition that will last for as long as it possibly can. I do hope that one day my generation will be able to smile as the young adults are keeping our area neat and say, "well done."

I know for a fact that there are plenty of pine trees. As far as the cousins situations, I don't want to say it's a "family tradition"; rather:

"Did you hear them say we were double kin?"

"Child, hush, and stay out of grown folks' bizness." Now git off this porch and go play."


Congratulations to all the winners and participants in the Family Traditions Contest.

Well I am glad you entered and hope that the tradition carries on.
Where bouts in E Tex are you anyway?

I am down in the Klein / Spring part of north Harris county.

For work though I travel east Texas quite a bit so I've probably been through your town once or twice. Right now though I haven't been working anywhere but on the computer and it is driving my family and me plumb crazy.

You did a great job @justclickindiva i really liked your family blog, knowing you are a family lady reading this made it real.

Hi Sult, just a quick correction, it's @isabelpena ;)

Oh you are good. That was done with a purpose, any guesses?

Well, I don't like pointing out errors but I know you don't like spelling errors in your post (I'm the same) and we know from history what happens with mentioning wrong names! That's how I introduced myself to you as I could not take credit for having made those cupcakes decorated with pretty bows a long time ago! Good things can happen as I made many new friends after that! And in this instance I could not find @isabelpina here on Hive;)

Yes, I like when my errors are exposed to me and this one was intentional. I transferred you 1 HIVE for pointing it out.
Isabel just recently became my 900th follower on Saturday and received 9.00 HIVE for doing so. I made sure to spell her name incorrectly in this post so I could cleverly give clues to some recent followers and others who might decide to follow me on things I do fairly regularly.
Whomever says mistakes don't pay must not know me.
Thanks,
Sult

Of course I knew about that too but didn't know this was intentional, thank you Sult, you're really making my Monday a tHriving one:)

Well, I don't like pointing out errors but I know you don't like spelling errors in your post (I'm the same) and we know from history what happens with mentioning wrong names! That's how I introduced myself to you as I could not take credit for having made those cupcakes decorated with pretty bows a long time ago! Good things can happen as I made many new friends after that! And in this instance I could not find @isabelpina here on Hive;)

🎁 Hi @sultnpapper! You have received 0.1 HIVE tip from @wesphilbin!

Check out @wesphilbin blog here and follow if you like the content :)

Sending tips with @tipU - how to guide.

Amazing 🌼
Thank you for being so cool 🥂