Low-Carb Baked Catfish Nuggets & Tartar Sauce - Lori's Cookbook

in #cooking4 years ago

Last time, I shared the Baked Garlic Lemon Shrimp that I served with some discounted crab. Today, you get to see the rest of the meal (except the sauerkraut - which will come another day still.)

DSC_2640_1600.JPG

This is my entry for this week's @foodfightfriday challenge.

Strange to say, I have never had catfish before. It turned out to be a pleasant experience that I intend to repeat with this recipe.

Low-Carb Baked Catfish Nuggets

In a bowl, combine:

  • 1/2 cup almond flour (or breadcrumbs if you're not worried about the carbs/grains)
  • 1/4 cup grated/powdered Parmesan
  • 1/2 teaspoon paprika powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon garlic powder

DSC_2621_1600.JPG

DSC_2627_1600.JPG

Cut into bite-sized nuggets:

  • 1 lb catfish pieces/fillets

Dredge the fish in the breading.

DSC_2630_1600.JPG

DSC_2632_1600.JPG

Place on a silicone lined (or greased) pan and bake at 400F for 10-12 minutes. Reduce the temperature to 350F and bake another 8-10 minutes.

DSC_2640_1600.JPG

Serve with tartar sauce (recipe following).


Homemade Tartar Sauce

Due to almost all commercial sauces being based on soybean oil (on my "thou shalt not touch" list), I have to make these myself. I will (soon) share how I've recently learned to make the easiest mayonnaise ever...

This recipe is so simple and is really delicious!

DSC_2633_1600.JPG

Mix together:

  • 1 cup mayonnaise
  • 1 teaspoon Dijon mustard
  • 1 Tablespoon dried parsley (use more if using fresh)
  • 1 Tablespoon chopped sweet pickle (I just used one small pickle)
  • 1 Tablespoon lemon juice
  • salt & pepper to taste

DSC_2635_1600.JPG

And it's done! Serve with seafood - as below...

I'll tell you (with my very-biased opinion) that this meal was pure delight, every part of it delicious and a definite do-again for me!

On the catfish, do watch for bones and "muddy" bits (errors in the cleaning, probably), but it's totally worth the effort.

Recipe Cards

Feel free to print and save these for home use.

nuggets_01.jpg

nuggets_02.jpg

tartar_sauce_recipe.jpg

Note: All photos are mine - Nikon 7200.

kitchenwitches_1_2.jpg
Two of my kitchen witches. One hung in my grandmother's kitchen as long as I can remember, so I have mine - adding a certain magickal spice to my cooking, presumably...
My grandmother's now lives in my mother's kitchen.

Previous recipes in Lori's Cookbook

Holidays (Christmas, Thanksgiving, etc.)

Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Cranberry-Berry Sauce (canning too)
Cranberry Juice Drink
Cranberry Swirl Cheesecake
Crustless Pumpkin Pie
Drop Sugar Cookies - Christmas, Valentines, whatever you like!
Gravlax (Swedish Marinated Salmon)

Breakfasts

Basic French Toast
Buttermilk Pancakes - including low-carb and grain-free options.

Appetizers

Gravlax (Swedish Marinated Salmon)
Marinated Olives & Nuts

Easy Suppers

Dirty Mac & Cheese
Italian Meatballs
Simple Cheeseburgers
Sloppy Joes
Spaghetti and Meatballs
Spanish Rice

Main Courses

Baked Garlic Lemon Shrimp
Battered & Fried Prawns & Zukes
Fathead Stromboli
Garlic Curry Baked Drumsticks
Keto Fried Seafood

Drinks

Cranberry Juice Drink

Side Dishes

Turmeric Rice
Garlic-Herb Bread

Breads

Baking Powder Biscuits
Cranana-Chumpkin Bread
Nearly No Carb Keto Bread - demo only, follow the link to the recipe. (grain free)
No-Knead Bread
Fathead Dough - a grain free substitute for many bread situations!

Sweet Snacks

Almond Flour Snickerdoodles
Brownies with Chocolate Ganache - made into a great birthday cake!
Drop Sugar Cookies
Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies

Sauces & Dips

Spaghetti Sauce
Basic Salsa
Garlic-Herb Butter
Guacamole Salsa
Creamy Guacamole
Avocado Salsa

Food as Medicine

Egg Drop Soup

Desserts

Cranberry Swirl Cheesecake
Crustless Pumpkin Pie
Dobos Torte
Peach Cornmeal Cobbler
Peach Crisp
Tapioca Pudding

DIY Ingredients

Buttermilk

Canning

Rebel Canning - a general guide about what I do, and why I don't always follow USDA guidelines.
Cranberry-Berry Sauce
Cranberry Juice Drink
Meatballs and Spaghetti Sauce
Rice Pudding



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter


Discord Link

Sort:  

Mmmm looks so yummy 😋😋😋 happy weekend!!!

Hmmmm. It's looking terribly delicious! 😋

Thank you! What time shall I expect you?