Pepper Fire Sale

in #cooking4 years ago

hotpepper.jpg

I bought a mystery pepper plant from a local nursery. The plant was on sale because it had been separated from its label. It is a mystery pepper.

The plant produced about 8 peppers. They have a very strange shriveled skin. I made a guacamole dip with two avocados and about a twentieth of the pepper. The people who ate the dip said that it was too hot. (I thought it could be hotter and really liked the after taste of the pepper).

Hours, and several hand washings, after I made the guac, I touched my eyes with my hand and it burned. I did not directly touch the pepper with my hand. I think I touched the knife that touched the pepper.

I like to cook up large vats of chili on my rocket stove. I usually serve the chili to a large clan. A large batch usually has two pounds of beef and I fill the 14 quart dutch oven to within a inch of the top. I was hoping to use one pepper per batch of chili.

Well, there are no gatherings this year because of COVID19. When I cook it is for people who are 75 plus.

I used a sixteenth of the pepper in the chili and got complaints of it being too hot.

So, it looks like I have a crop of a half dozen peppers that no-one is willing to eat.

The moral of the story: Don't buy pepper plants at a fire sale.

BTW, the way I am cooking the stew is that I sear some hamburger and then set it aside. I then brown the onions, add the veggies and finally put the meat back in the meal. That way the chili has chunks of meat. These pictures show the process

separate_meat.jpg

veggies.jpg

add_beans.jpg

This recipe is essentially a matter of throwing whatever is on sale at the market into the stew.

I would love to try a batch of this chili with a full pepper to see how hot it tastes.