Cook with Us #32 - Potato Salad

in #cookwithus5 years ago (edited)

This week is a very special week for Cook with Us as the CwU community is donating the prizes for CwU #32 to @adollaraday, a wonderful charitable giving project run by @pennsif. The week's theme is Pot Luck Dinner to Benefit @adollaraday Charity, ending on 26 November 2018 at 12:00 UTC. Your donations, however, are welcome even after the deadline, so please feel free to check out the @adollaraday page and send your support.

The Cook with Us team - @chefsteve, @pandamama and yours truly, @offoodandart - is sincerely grateful for your support for @adollaraday and also for the wonderful food the CwU community is contributing to the potluck!


My Potluck Contribution: Potato Salad

I decided to make a very simple potato salad that should go well with @chefsteve's perfectly done turkey. If you haven't seen it yet, check it out here. WARNING: viewing the post can result in hunger.

Potato Salad-9.jpg

Added some crunchy bits. What are they? Read on to find out.

Potato Salad-5.jpg

Also added some chopped greens.

Potato Salad-6.jpg

Cold, creamy and crunchy ... yumm!

Potato Salad-7.jpg

I started off with 2 pounds of yukon gold potatoes and 2 eggs. I threw in some parsley and carrot greens as well as there's so much of them waiting to be plucked in the garden.

Potato Salad-1.jpg

I decided later on to add another egg (just because ...) and steamed the potatoes and eggs together.

Potato Salad-2.jpg

Before serving, I sprinkled chopped carrot greens and parsley.

Potato Salad-3.jpg

Potato Salad-4.jpg

The salad is very simple. To add some crunch and fun, I cooked panko breadcrumbs in butter, added a bit of sea salt then sprinkled a generous amount on the salad.

Potato Salad-9.jpg

I'm so excited about the delicious food everyone's contributing to the potluck. Can we eat now ... please?


Potato Salad

This is best made a day before to allow the flavors to meld.

Ingredients

  • 2 pounds Yukon Gold potatoes, unpeeled, cut into 1-inch cubes
  • 3 eggs, hard-boiled, diced
  • 1/2 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 - 1 teaspoon mustard
  • carrot greens and parsley, finely chopped (optional)
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • 3/4 cup panko bread crumbs
  • 1 tablespoon butter

Directions

Steam or boil the potatoes until just tender. Let cool.

Melt butter in a pan. Add the panko breadcrumbs and cook until golden brown. Set aside to cool.

Set aside half of the chopped greens.

Make the dressing by combining the mayonnaise, sour cream, mustard and 1/2 of the chopped greens in a bowl. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

Combine dressing with the potatoes and eggs. Let sit in the fridge overnight.

Before serving, sprinkle with the remaining chopped greens. Top with the toasted panko breadcrumbs.

Bon Appétit!

Sort:  

My favorite part of this salad is the buttery and crunchy panko topping! What a great idea. I also like the addition of sour cream and carrot greens. I agree this salad will go great with my roasted turkey and all the other dishes offered from the community!

I thought that was bacon at first glance 😅

Posted using Partiko iOS

It does look like it a first glance, huh! I actually considered putting chopped bacon 😋 but decided against it in the end as there's a lot of other offerings at the potluck.

Yes, we have a grand delicious feast!

Oh my - I just love potato salad - this is a must for our Christmas lunch. I've never steamed eggs like this - how long do the eggs stay in the steamer ? You learn something every day

For hard-boiled, I'd say around 12 minutes but it'll also depend on the size of the eggs. Hope you get to make it for your Christmas lunch.

Definitely want to give this a go

and who doesn't like potato salad ? But yours looks super special

Thank you =D!

I like to eat potatoes so much! It’s my favorite vegetable, and this salad looks so appetizing, yummy 😋!

I love potatoes so much as well! Maybe a bit too much. LOL!

Everyone always dig into the potato salad first at any potluck dinner, love the added crunch, a nice change @offoodandart!

Thanks so much @lizelle! And thanks for your delicious contribution to the potluck! Fun!

Congratulations @offoodandart! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 800 replies. Your next target is to reach 900 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

A pot luck isn't complete without a potato salad! Well, I'm happy any meal that includes potatoes. 😋🥔

I'm going to borrow your idea for cooking panko in butter and using it as a topping....it's brilliant. I like the addition of sour cream which adds some tang to your potato salad. This is the most sophisticated potato salad I have ever seen.

Panko breadcrumbs! I would've never thought of it! Definitely trying that out next time we make potato salad. The wife and I was supposed to submit an entry for CwU a while back using her account but she forgot to make a post about it, so we're saving that for when a similar theme comes around again.

I hope your trip is going well, tita!

Dear @offoodandart

I know that you delegated some SP to dstors. I'm not sure if you're aware that they seem to shut down their project lately. Just check out their profile and read latest post.

Guys from dstors didn't even bother to contact people who supported them. Such a shame. This project looked very promissing.

ps.
I was wondering if you would consider supporting my efforts in building a crypto community here on Steemit..

Since HF20 took place, myself, along with a few other active "Steemians" decided to put in extra effort into making our little community stronger. And community build mostly on mutual engagement and support instead of financial rewards.

I recently delegated over 3500 SP to a group of 80 active steemians who struggled with low RC levels (resource credit). And the results has been great so far. One of my latest posts reached over 800 comments, which I found insane

Those results are only proving that our efforts are worth something. The only thing is that I can only do "that much" with my current resources.

Perhaps you could consider supporting our efforts with some delegation? I would seriously appreciate your help.

Please let me know what do you think. I will appreciate every feedback, regardless of your decision.

Yours
Piotr