Cornwall Trip

in #cornwall4 years ago

Cornwall Trip Thumbnail

Tired. I woke up at half 6. What's that all about? I awoke from a dream about working at the post office. I suppose that's a thing that's going to happen now, just like my recurring dreams of being in Russia or Ukraine or Kazakhstan, the milestones of personal growth and challenge, you know? It was pretty awful though, dreaming about the post office. I was serving a 'customer' who wanted me to go through all the bullshit of opening a bank account for him, but have the transaction coded to his branch in Knaresborough. Fucking Knaresborough? I don't think so. So I was back in that 'rude skin' I inhabited whilst working there. That's the part that will haunt me I think, how that job turned me into someone I really didn't like at all.

Holiday

I'm just back from a week's holiday in Cornwall and it was amazing. There were many highlights, including walking on the beach at Harlyn Bay and taking some great photos of my daughter and her boyfriend. It got me thinking that shooting engagements and weddings would actually be something that I would enjoy and I wouldn't be terrible at.


Harlyn Bay, Cornwall

Tintagel was fantastic - what a place. The cream tea at Merrymoor in Mawgan Porth was superb, and I'm so grateful that my wife moved us on from The Catch, a seafood joint that we'd managed to get a table at.


Bedruthan Steps, Cornwall

The views at Bedruthan Steps are spectacular. That was my number 1 spot to visit on my itinerary, because I have some really nice memories of visiting there with my wife before we were married on my first trip to Cornwall. We bought a painting of that location in Wadebridge and it hangs above my desk now.

The sunset at Daymer Bay while our kids hung out with some family friends kids, making an awesome sand fort - that was a moment.

Future

I was asked a few times - so, what are you doing with yourself these days? It's got me thinking - why am I reading all these 'improve your mind' books, or business books? Why was I thinking about spending $2k on Uncage Your Business? I must admit I got pretty close to 'converting' on that one, mainly due to the great marketing job that Rachel and her team did, including TWO personal voice mails after having done a quick review of my 'business'. I felt almost obliged after that.

But seriously, what AM I trying to do? The honest answer is that I don't know. I'm soooo lucky that I'm in a position of not having to worry toooo much about it, what with my wife's job and all, but I do need to start bringing some money in soon. Is my investing into CashFX and Finiko and MTI and Finalmente really going to be all I need to do? Well, if it all works out as I hope it will, then yes, why not? I have a website idea that might work well for me to attract others to come and join and find some freedom. In fact I had a good convo with a family friend while we were away and she seemed interested, so I could really do with having a site that I could point people to with simple explanations of what I'm doing and what they could do too.

That should be my focus this week then.

Social Media Management

What about social media management? I'm not sure. I do enjoy doing that, but I never really got off the ground, or at least never higher off the ground than the Toll Flats in Prestwick. I do still like the idea of doing it for guitar makers and players, but then why have I not edited and published all the videos I made at Ullapool in 2019? I don't know. I enjoyed recording them a lot - it took real courage and stepping out of my comfort zone even to ask people to do that, so why would I not then edit and publish in a timely fashion?

I don't know.

I watched a really good 10-minute video tour of Tom Sands' workshop yesterday on IGTV and thought - 'hmmmm, I'd love to have done that'. And I probably could have if I'd asked. But of course Tom's seen how slow I am at getting the final product out there, as it took me over a year to publish the interview I recorded with him and Daisy.

Maybe I need an editor. That's what the YouTubers are doing these days. I'm so fucking slow at it and I think that's what's at the root of my procrastination. But then I'm not earning anything on my videos, so how do I justify paying an editor?

Yes, that old chestnut. Would it not be better to put out consistent content that cost me money in the hope that it would start to draw in viewers through the algorithm's rewarding my consistency?

Perhaps. Probably.

Or, I just do the work. I mean it's not like I'm super busy with anything else, even though I always feel like I am.

So I'm kinda glad I didn't sign up for Yet Another Course. I also didn't sign up for the Systems Thinking course of August Bradley's that I wrote about last week. It starts today and I still can't help but feel that that course might just have been the one that showed me how to build a system that would get me round my procrastination foibles. Oh well, it's too late now.



Posted from my blog with SteemPress : https://sunbane.com/cornwall-trip/
Sort:  

That's nice that you got some time away. Cornwall is nice, but it is often packed with tourists. I guess that is less of an issue right now.

On the social media side do you see much chance of getting more musicians interested in Hive? We have a fair few, but getting some bigger names could really help. I think those with a few thousand fans could potentially benefit if some of the fans come over and support them. They fans stand to gain too. Meanwhile we need to show that music can earn here.

Stay well. !BEER

It was still packed with tourists, including us! Although it was nowhere near as bad as high summer I imagine. It's not half-term in England yet either, so that helped. It was really a family visit to see my wife's parents. They live in Cornwall and didn't get to come to Scotland this year. There was only one beach we tried to visit and couldn't get parked at. It's kind of ironic that the best beaches in the UK would have the narrowest roads in the UK to get to them!

Music on Hive, yeah, it's a thing that we could use more of for sure. It's that chicken and egg thing though, isn't it? Although cross posting is a thing too. If musicians are posting elsewhere, why not on Hive also?

A friend of mine has just released a single. I'll drop her a note and see if she's up for it.

Those Cornish roads can be dodgy, but that may be part of the charm. People would complain if they put a motorway through it.

I have used the chicken/egg analogy too. It needs some pioneers to take a chance on Hive, but then it requires some time commitment to make it work. Those who just post without engaging with responses tend not to do well. People will go where the audience is, but then if they rely on Youtube/Instagram/Spotify the income may be pennies.

Let me know if your friend joins.

!ENGAGE 25

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.


Hey @camuel, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Congratulations @camuel! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 84000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

October 2020 is the World Mental Heath Month