I Miss You - A Message From A Dad To His Son In The Age Of Coronavirus

in #coronavirus4 years ago

received_1583806708430684.png

"Hi Zachary I just wanted to say I miss you, and how much I wish I could be home right now playing with you and going to the park instead of being so far away. God how I wish I was home."

These are the words that keep running through my head right now over and over. Its early morning where I am and I sit alone in a darkened room waiting for the sun to come up. I feel so far away being stuck in the United States waiting for when I can return home to Australia after the Coronavirus is over. And thoughts of you and your mom are what keep me strong.

I miss all the times you would make me ride your scooter through the race courses in the driveway you would design. I miss you helping me in the kitchen and making dinner together. I miss all the times we'd lay out in the yard together and watch all the birds and bats fly overhead in the sunset.

I miss walking you to school, and when you'd reach out and hold my hand. I miss telling you all about the stars and you excitedly pointing out your favorite ones in the night sky before bedtime.

I miss all the times we'd go to the park and I'd push you on the swing, or help you build your sand castles. I miss all the times we'd go to the pool and you'd splash me with the water coaxing me to finally get in. I miss all the times you would reach out to me and say 'dad up huggle' and I'd scoop you up to carry you through the house.

I miss riding around the country side in Jamie's truck and watching the kangaroos together. I miss going on our walks and playing pirates swashbuckling with sticks as pretend swords. I miss all those times I'd show you about the plants and animal life in the creek with you squatting besides me examining the water, your face full of wonder.

I miss going to the stores on shopping day as you excitedly run around saying 'can we get this' as you hold up a watermelon or your favorite treat.

I miss reading books at bedtime together. And I'd miss all the times you'd insist I sit on the couch next to you so we could play on the computer together.

I miss all of it. And I miss you. And I can't wait for when I can come home and we can do all those things again.

You're my favorite little boy in the whole world and my best friend. And I wanted to tell you that again. Dad loves and misses you more than the whole world.

Your best buddy,

-Dad

received_10211171643992383.png


Coronavirus has effected each and every one of our lives. For me it has kept me away from the two people I love more than anything in the world. My fiance @kaelci and my son Zach. Currently I am stuck in the United States waiting for Australias's borders to re open so I can travel home and be with my family again. A short trip of a little over a month to finalize Visa paperwork has turned, due to the Coronavirus, into a several month sorjourn. Part of what hurts the most, other than the distance and time, is that I wont be there to celebrate his 7th birthday. That I'll be 10,500 miles away. It's hard to express how hard it hurts to not be there for that. I will make it up to you Zach I promise.

Kaelci and I stay in contact every day messaging and talking on the phone, but its hard to spend the time I would like talking with my son. He's a little boy and most times would rather run around the house or play minecraft than be stuck on the phone while dad asks him silly questions. Nonetheless, I miss him terribly and can't wait for the moment I get to give him a big hug and pick him up in my arms again. I'm even working out every day so that when I do come home I'll have extra energy and strength to make up for lost time we've missed. And so I can look handsome for Kaelci.

As for amazing kaelci I miss you too. I miss holding your hand, and snuggling up on the couch together. I miss taking turns playing games on the computer together. And I really miss your cooking. I miss your sense of humor. I am so proud of you hosting the Month of May writing contest Maynia here at Hive, and for how you share your passion of writing with the world. Thank you for keeping me grounded and for being the best thing for me.

I love you both to the moon and back,

-hidave
received_3584788398260723.jpeg


An extra special thanks to Hive for giving me an outlet to share my feelings, thoughts and creativity. You are an exceptional community and I feel lucky to be a part of it.


pictures by hidave

Sort:  

This is truly heartfelt. Hang in there.

Thank you @michellpiala. I take it one day at a time. Just wish I could be there right now. He's one of the best things thats ever happened to me in my life.

That’s for sure. Things happen for a reason. Keep the faith