I'm starting to have Corona-doubt

in #covid4 years ago

I'm not trying to push anyone's buttons or get anyone upset. But it is really difficult for me to look at the global pandemic and not believe that it is at least in part, blown out of proportion.

3sa4gw.jpg
source

I have had many discussions with people about this online and I read the various posts that people share on Facebook but the consensus seems to fall along the lines with what I know about those people already.

  • The people who constantly "lecture" others on how to live their lives are doing so with this as well, particularly in relations to self-quarantine situations - and they do so in accusatory way similar to everything they would post about environmentalism or god forbid, anything related to politics
  • The people who are very well off also tend to lecture others about "staying home" because these people are going to be ok financially regardless. Just like celebrities who are in tears at their 10 bedroom mansion in the Hollywood Hills, they have no idea what it is like to live a "normal" life.
  • The people who have some connection to the medical industry are on a constant soap box about how everything everyone else is doing is wrong and we need to listen to them!
  • People who don't trust the media and / or government feel as though there is something sinister going on.

I fall into the last category and it isn't necessarily because I believe there is some sort of global conspiracy to rob the world of its wealth over a virus because I can't really imagine what the end game goal would be there (if you have some idea I'd love to hear about it.) After September 11th, I kind of jumped on the conspiracy theory bandwagon because the increased and ongoing expenditures on never-ending war started to become evident pretty much right away.

161104142724abcnews640x360.jpg
source

The media sensationalizing things is nothing new and I have never really understood their motivation for doing so. It must be working from a financial point of view because even thought they are exposed on a regular basis, it still carries on. I don't think this has magically stopped being the case during COVID-19 reports either.


Someone who I really respect recently sent me an extremely well researched article by Nick Pineault and no, I don't know if that name carries any weight to it but I seriously recommend that you check it out.

Click here to see the article


navigatingcoronapanic.jpg
source

It is entitled "Navigating the "Coronavirus Panic" and while I have read a lot of snippets about this topic, Nick is able to present it in a way that is kind of difficult to argue with. It is almost completely devoid of wording that seems like nutjob conspiracy theory writing, and he references every single claim that he makes in it with quotes and studies done by respected doctors and researchers who actually are involved directly in what is going on right now.

Warning, it is very long but I really feel as though there is a lot of eye-opening information in there.


I live in Vietnam, a country that can not possibly bear the grunt of a long-term quarantine. The general population is simply too poor to not be working and getting an income for a long period of time. Their government also does not have the resources to simply pay people to stay at home. Well, the United States doesn't have it either but they seem to get a pass on spending money they don't have for some reason.

That article by Nick Pineault is likely the most compelling article I have read by anyone in regards to the current state of things on the planet and I challenge anyone to read it and come away from that thinking that he is wrong and / or a conspiracy theory nutter.

I'm not looking for a debate, I just don't believe entirely what we are being shown by the media. Tell me your thoughts and if you have time (I presume you do, since most of us are forced to stay indoors,) at least peruse that article.

Sort:  

@tipu curate


A huge hug from @amico! 🤗

That’s nice article!

As soon as you said it is very long, then I continued to read looking out for a nutshell version from you... haha
Oh well... one can hope
Well, I am off to read it then.... gahhhhh
Thank you and stay safe :D

well, even if you don't read it all, it is a great reference. I didn't try to condense it because I believe the author put it into as little words / graphs as can possibly be used. I didn't want to miss any key issues by shortening it.

Thanks for sharing the article by Nick Pineault. His article should get more people thinking. I too think that the situation has been blown out of proportion by mainstream media. In one of my earlier posts, I said that the only stats that I think is relatively reliable will be the one from Diamond Princess. Even so, the population size is still on the low side to provide truly reliable stats.

Nonetheless, good personal hygiene is something everyone should practice regardless whether there is COVID-19 or not.

ah, that case with the Diamond Princess is actually a fantastic accidental "closed experiment." I wonder what the age mix on that cruise was... any idea?

Here is a study done on Diamond Princess cases,
https://cmmid.github.io/topics/covid19/severity/diamond_cruise_cfr_estimates.html

image.png

There is a breakdown of the age groups of passengers onboard.

wow... thanks for that!

Sometimes I wonder is the covid-19 worth panicking about

I have an impression that it would be quite difficult to maintain the opposing view to "conventional wisdom" in a time of crisis of such magnitude. I noticed that in many countries, including mine, people took the "easy way" of completely trusting the government and viewing any doubters as the most dangerous people, because they believe that their doubt would somehow results in people's death.

I also suspect that if CoVID-19 in the end indeed turns out to be less apocalyptic than perceived now, governments and media would try to suppress any inconvenient facts and put all justified doubters into memory holes. We might expect a lot of spin, creative interpreation of recent history and less refined forms of propaganda. Nobody would like to be wrong about something like this.

what an absolutely intelligent way of putting it @drax . I completely agree with what you said there. It will be interesting to see how they do try to spin this though... i'm sure that is coming.

I fall into the last category and it isn't necessarily because I believe there is some sort of global conspiracy to rob the world of its wealth

....it's the only possible end game for the banksters. It's mathematically impossible for it NOT to be the case.
All about wealth transfer.

....I can't really imagine what the end game goal would be there (if you have some idea I'd love to hear about it.)

One world government. (communism through the back door, via asset seizure on defaulted debts)
Money isn't their thing, power and control is. (god complex)

I think it is all being blown out of proportion as well. I think it is serious, but not quite to the level that everyone is taking it. I was telling someone in another post that a guy I work with was talking to someone else and they really feel like this is very similar to what happened during 9/11. The biggest difference is social media and the way that it is being spread by everyone.

that could very well be true. I don't take anything on FB seriously, it's just an opportunity for everyone to blab on about how they are doing it right and you aren't even know no one knows what "right" actually is at this point.

Howdy gooddream! Definitely overblown. Especially at this stage when the numbers of dead don't come close to the numbers of deaths by Influenza A, at least in the States.

But time will tell on that aspect because the administration is saying 100,000 to 240,000 by the end of July I believe.

It will be interesting to see what happens in Sweden because they aren't doing anything about it, it's life as usual. I believe they're the only country in the world not taking any steps to stop it.

They think they'll develop an immunity to it and plus the country is largely rural. So that will be interesting to see if they're right and come up WAY ahead economically.

i was talking to someone the other day and he had an idea about voluntary intentional exposure for healthy people between 18 and 50. There's an idea... but i am sure the logistics would be a nightmare.

Wow..I wonder how many people would volunteer for that? My step-daughter had it and she said it was the worst thing she's ever gone through, thought she was gonna suffocate.

Great article! As always. Danang was strange with the virus situation in the world. My girl and I were doing all we could to isolate ourselves and make plans to go to Thailand. We got on the last plane out of Danang to Thailand on March 21st. This is one day before they changed the rules and made it all but impossible to fly.

We are now comfortable in Ao Nang Thailand. Got a nice airbnb apartment and stocked up on food. We have been laying low. But now that time has passed and we are getting a better glimpse of how this seems blown out of proportion. I tend to agree with you, regarding the last one on your list.

I think Danang is a good place to be. All good that we didn't meet up, my girlfriend was anxious about being around anyone she did not have to be around. Being on a plane was crazy, the scene at the airport was apocalyptic, like last plane leaving zombie land. Every flight was canceled except ours.

You are not in full lock down there are you? I don't see that happening there. Here we can go to the stores and get take out food, beaches are still open, but economic activity has severely dried up. No tourists here and tomorrow is SanKron. Anyway, hope you are well.

it is not full lock down and we are hopeful that some of the restrictions will be lifted on the promised date of the 15th. Even if they just open up restaurants for take away I would be pleased. I am getting sick of pot noodles and microwaved potatoes :P

I have heard that Ao Nang has restricted all non authorized traffic in and out, which i suppose would be easy to control there since there are only 2 roads there (I lived there for quite a few years)

I think you could say that in a few days if the restrictions haven't been lifted to a certain degree I am going to be really disappointed. I just want access to come noodles and want to be able to go for a run without a mask, preferably on the beach.

Man, that is wild. Can't believe you used to live here too. Ao Nang has to be one of the most gorgeous and comfortable spots in the country. Hope things open up for you soon. Seems like the Vietnamese have done a pretty good job of keeping this thing from spreading all over.

well it certainly would appear that way. We find out tomorrow if they are going to extend the partial lockdown. I certainly hope so.

Ao Nang is alright. I got bored with the beach because there are never any waves and honestly it is too humid / hot there for my liking. I did live there for over a decade though (mostly in Krabitown) so my opinion may be one of over-exposure :)

I live in Libya and while COVID-19 didn't breakout here to a fearsome degree (only few cases has been confirmed so far,) we don't have the medical preparation needed to survive it if the virus became widespread... I'm not panicking but it's hard not to.

I live in Vietnam, a country that can not possibly bear the grunt of a long-term quarantine.