Lockdown Okonomiyaki

in #covid194 years ago (edited)

One thing about lockdown is that we've changed the main meal of the day to lunch time so nobody has to sync nap and sleep schedules. This wasn't planned it just kinda happened. Today it was my turn to cook.

2b06od.jpg
This is Okonomiyaki - basically what us Kiwis would call fritters. It's a way of using up whatever leftovers you have around but I like them at any time. Here we are preparing to cook.

caeeq1.jpg
Thanks to this electric teppanyaki set we can enjoy the sunshine and eat outdoors. Each person can make up their okonomiyaki. Mine excluded onion so the dog could eat some. Speaking of the dog...

ryrl7s.jpg
Here's Mor-mor 沫沫 the labrador wondering what's going on. She knows it involves her favourite thing: food.

f174wq.jpg
And here's one of the finished articles. I put too much egg into the batter. Still, tastes just great. Topped with special Okonomiyaki BBQ sauce, Japanese mayo and Benito flakes that dance in the steam. I like mine with a bit of English mustard.

Delicious and a relaxing way to cook and eat.

Until next time.

Sort:  

The pandemic has really changed the whole world. Until we go back to our normal lives we just have to stay indoors and keep safe. Btw This dish is yummy in my sight. I'm salivating right now

I hope you're staying safe. The recipe is quite easy. You can try it one day.

This brings back a lot of memories of my days growing up in New Zealand, especially when you refer to Fritters. Great post.

Are you part of the NZ community on hive yet? It's only new, but if enough of us gather it might fly higher than a kiwi.

Haha.....it would need to fly higher than a kiwi @eturnerx 😊 How do I go about joining the NZ Community?

Try here:
I'm not sure what esteem's support for communities is like. You can try searching for the tag #hive-155184
Here's the link on peakd:
https://peakd.com/c/hive-155184/created

Buenos días amigo deseo que se encuentre bien. Buen menú amigo deseo que lo hayas disfrutado mucho porque se ve todo divino. Feliz día amigo.

Looks delicious man!
All dogs are so funny when it comes to food!
Mor-mor has the same "give-me-food" facial expression like my dog Biggie.
Professional beggars! Hehehe

Oh and isn't she an expert at her craft. I keep the old lady next door topped up with dog treats because Mor-mor will go visit and perform tricks for pats and treats. Dog is also winning the Lockdown Porker award with a weight gain of 2kg - that's more than anybody else in the house.

Hahaha Mor-mor definitely deserves an Oscar!
Good to hear that your neighbors are ok with your dog. I had a lot of problems at my previous house.

Can't blame her for gaining 2kg. I blame the owners for that! Hahahaha!

Omg that looks delicious can you come here and cook for me? 😂🤣 Im the one making all 3 meals every day i like it but it gets rough specially trying to come up with new things to cook with the exact same ingredients, i like to switch things up a bit or i will get bored cooking and eating the same every day.

Heh I grew up in a not particularly rich household and since I was about 5 years old I'd help prepare the meals. From 12 years old my mother was ill or working so my older brother and I took turns cooking full meals for 10 people. There was always food, so we weren't poor, but it was often the same stuff. Let's just say that you learned to get creative with spices and the food can get very experimental ;)
It was good in that you learned to see what was available and figure out something - anything. Sometimes I'd start cooking and have no idea what I was making and the food would just happen. Haha. Definitely a challenge. If all else fails there's also garnishes. Taste is not a particularly strong sense (smell is) and you can suggest taste in strange ways by changing smells, textures and the way the food looks.
Now I'm older, I turned into a bit of a foodie in that I really appreciate excellent quality food prepared well by people who know what they're doing. But, I'll eat almost anything with gratitude if the occasion calls for it.

Manually curated by ackhoo from the Qurator Team. Keep up the good work!