11 months

in #covid193 years ago

Hello Hive friends,

It is Feb 13, 2021 and I am doing my 11th month journal post of COVID19. Who would have imagined it would last this long?

COVID19 Testing

Because I go into my office everyday on ASU's campus (and my co-worker recently tested positive) I am tested for COVID19 quite often. I have been tested 8 times since August and twice in the last month.

It is a saliva based test and very easy and and non-invasive. It is so easy that they have now made it so you can pick it up and drop it off at certain locations around campus.

There is one right downstairs from my office.


Another way ASU is working to keep campus safe is to have all students, faculty and staff complete a Daily Health Check.

Still lots of signage all around-- ASU, grocery store, doctors, restaurants and movie theaters (yes both are open in Arizona)



With Calvin right before The Croods.
There were 6 total people in the theater for a Saturday matinee.

Sometimes I find myself looking around and thinking, what are we doing? I feel very blessed to have work that I can do online and live in a state that while there is lots of social distancing and face coverings encouraged things are pretty open.

Comparing the numbers

Numbers as of Jan 13, 2021
Source

World
Confirmed: 91.8M
Recovered: 50.8M
Deaths: 1.97M

United States
Confirmed: 22.9M
Recovered:
Deaths:381K

Arizona
Confirmed: 639K
Recovered:
Deaths: 10,537

Numbers as of Feb 11, 2021
Source

World
Confirmed: 107M
Recovered: 60.1M
Deaths: 2.36M

United States
Confirmed: 27.3M
Recovered:
Deaths: 471K

Arizona
Confirmed: 790K
Recovered:
Deaths: 14,507


In every category from January to February the numbers doubled. Wow. What is happening? When are we going to get control?

Last month I told you about my sweet friend Ora (who was in her 90s) that was on Hospice and dying of cancer. The last time I visited her we sat outside cause her grandson had COVID.

This month I heard from my sister-in-law, Jodi, that a friend of my parents died of COVID. I do not know the details. This would be the first person that would have directly died of the disease that wasn't already dying. He was probably in his 70s. Oh Bert. Love you and miss you!

COVID19 monthly updates
I have been doing a monthly recap and journal of what has happened in my life and the world in regards to COVID19.

At the beginning of the crisis I was so interested to know what was happening in other parts of the world and thought some might like to know about things here in Arizona.

On March 13, 2020 I posted Times of change and uncertainty. A couple of days after the World Health Organization announced that COVID-19 is officially a pandemic and Arizona Governor Doug Ducey declared a state of emergency.

On April 14, 2020 I posted Share My World: Thoughts on COVID19 about working from home, ASU moving to online instruction and some of the alerts and numbers of cases.

On May 14, 2020 I posted Monthly COVID19 update about wearing masks, social distancing and graduation online.

On June 19, 2020 I posted My life amid the Coronavirus about my second trip to Utah, a visit from Sara Quinney Jones, the killing of George Floyd and Black Lives Matter and how masks are now mandatory in Arizona.

On July 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Monthly Journal about all the zoom meetings, question about ASU in the fall, how I was doing a lot of family history work and my new stylish face coverings.

On August 24, 2020 I posted Community of Care named after ASU's campaign response to COVID19, which also includes testing for all students and staff and daily check ins, my awesome friends that I am connecting with via Marco Polo, and a family trip to Glacier National Park in Montana.

On September 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 Update-- 6 months
on how nice it was to do somethings outside and still having to do a lot online.

On October 13, 2020 I posted COVID19 update--October 13, 2020 which was short and mentioned that I went to the park for a picnic and work is still online.

On November 14, 2020 I posted Conflict and Compassion It was a busy month with traveling to Tennessee and the US presidential election. I also had my first real conflict with someone regarding mask wearing.

On December 13, 2020 I posted Documenting COVID19 which was a short update.

On January 13, 2021 I posted COVID19 update- Eventful month about the people that I was able to see in person and the people I saw online (VR) at HiveFest, how ASU started the spring semester with mostly online classes, the storming of US Capital and the high tensions and political divide, and my sweet friend Ora's death.

Sort:  

Thank you @sjarvie5 for covid-19 monthly updates. God bless your co-worker. Keep safe yourself from covid-19.

Thanks for the well wishes.

You are most welcome

Good to see they are so proactive with it! Your little boy is such a cutie! How old is he? Mine is 11 (Jude)

ll.png
JOIN US ON DISCORD
SUBSCRIBE TO THE LIFESTYLE LOUNGE COMMUNITY HERE
JOIN US ON TWITTER

Hi @jaynie thanks so much. I do not have children. He is my best friends son. They are like family and I take all her children (5) out for their birthdays and he picked the movies this year, he just turned 7.

hehehe! And I "was" going to say "assuming he was", lol! Either way he is adorable! We are 4 kids and from us there are 5 grandkids in the family, so I can relate.

very nice. I love children and live far away from nieces and nephews so they are my adopted nieces and nephews!

Hi, @sjarvie5
This is Corona Virus Public Awareness Campaign

Covid-19 advice.


  • Keep physical distancing.

  • Wear a mask.

  • Keep rooms well ventilated.

  • Avoid crowds.

  • Clean your hands.

Congratulations @sjarvie5! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 55000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 60000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour