Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 66 | Stabat Mater - Giovanni Battista Pergolesi

in #secretsoforganplaying4 years ago (edited)

This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest Week 66. I'm playing a transcription of Pergolesi's Stabat Mater. This is a hauntingly beautiful, Lenten appropriate, piece of music. I didn't plan on recording this piece for the contest (well really, I don't plan much at all!), but I saw a post on Facebook about free arrangements of music for organ manuals only.

There isn't any indication of registration suggestions, so I took the liberty of playing the moving bass line with 16' and 8' foundations and the rest on 8' soft foundations and strings. I occasionally used the Récit (top manual) for echo effects.

image.png
Score: https://smlmusicshelf.space/download/six-variations-sur-le-stabat-liturgique-.pdf

This was recorded on the organ of the St. Etienne Abbey in Caen (Sonus Paradisi) using the Hauptwerk VPO software.

image.png

Sort:  

This is a nice rendition of Pergolesi... I remember hearing it how @pauliakaz play it in his church with a string quartet a few years back.

It's a very nice work. I'm glad I stumbled upon this arrangement.

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.


The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at SteemAuto!