Drawing with dry pastels. My detailed creative process

in #creative6 years ago

Hello, Steemit!
Today I want to show you the process of creating a picture with dry pastels.
For a successful result when working with dry pastel you need good pastel paper. It is better to choose paper rather dense with a good relief surface.
For the drawing I used dry pastel "Sonnet" in a set of 48 colors and pastel paper "Palazzo".





So, let's move on to the process.
First I drew the main contour lines with a blue pastel. You can choose any other light color, which can later be painted.





I started drawing from the sky. In the picture I wanted to depict an evening landscape, because of this the sky was painted with a pastel of soft purple color. With pink color I painted sunset in the sky. With a light yellow pastel I drew a bright sun disc, shading a pastel of red color around it to show the direction of sunset rays.





I drew in the background the contours of the mountains with a pastel of light orange color, showing the reflection of the sun on the slopes. I painted the shadows with a dark blue pastel. And emphasized the tops of the mountains with a pastel of pale yellow and white colors.





Then I drew mountains in the background. For the most outstanding places I used a pastel of light brown, light orange, yellow colors, in the shadows I painted with brown and umber. With strokes I tried to convey the relief of the mountain slopes, emphasizing the shape of each individual stone. The front plan should be in the picture more detailed than the background.
In the background, I lightened the contours of the forest with a light green color.





Then I drew the mountain slope with the umber and light brown color in the background. On the previously outlined green contours of the forest I drew with black color the some individual trees. Drew with light green and yellow colors the grass on the foreground . Drew with emerald green and light green colors the trees in the foreground. With pastel of white and light blue colors I drew the river, showing by the longitudinal lines the movement of waves. With the same colors I painted the streams of the waterfall.





Then I drew the trees in the left corner of the picture, the most others close to the viewer. To draw the texture of the bark of the trunks of these trees I used a brown pastel and umbra burnt. With yellow pastel drew the edges of the trunks showing the glare from the sun's rays. Above the water, with white pastel I painted misty haze.





In the trees of the foreground, I drew foliage, showing the shadow with emerald green and black colors, and with yellow and light orange - the glare of sun rays on leaves and branches. With a light yellow and white pastel, I painted the lines of the rays of the sun making their way through the foliage.





At the final stage, I enhanced the contrast of the picture, since I need to show a twilight landscape on the picture. The foreground is darker than the background, which is still illuminated by the setting sun. Throughout the picture I strengthened the shadows. In the center of the landscape composition I drew a key figure of a deer, and in the distance-the contours of departing birds. Throughout the picture I emphasized the individual details with black pencil for accuracy. The drawing is ready.










Gif with the stages of the creative process




Thank you for your attention! If you like my post – please, subscribe).

I apologize if you find mistakes in my text. Unfortunately, my English is not perfect.

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

wowowow amazing work, @kleonella ! the colours are very intricate !!! <3 and the detailing is amazingggg

thank you!

Wonderful Artwork!


Your entry was selected by @BeniteZ for his second mention of visual arts & has been upvoted by the @Faircrew trail. For more information, I invite you to be part of our Discord server .

wow, amazing paint, i can see you putted a lot of effort in here but it really worth it :) it looks like a dream

thank you)