Out for my first walk in a while.

I live in an area surrounded by beautiful countryside, sadly, it's not a little village nestled in the hills or anything like that, however, a 10 minute walk will take you into the woods, and from there on through the fields down in to the valley where the 3 dams of Greasbrough are.
This is the first time I've been on a walk for a while, due to lockdown and then an illness, which I am gladly recovering from and feeling more like myself (no, I've not had Covid-19).
Anyhow, I thought I'd take my camera and my big Sigma 150-600mm C lens, using an adaptor, I have this fitted on my Sony A7iii camera, which the more I use, the more I fall in love with it, although, still not used to the cluttered menu system.
I was so surprised to see dragon flies, and other wildlife on my travels, and the good this was, that with this big lens, I didn't have to get too close as would scare the subjects off (although, still can't beat a macro lens).
Anyhow, I thought I would share some of the shots I got while out an about.

untitled8800EditEdit.jpg

I had this shot in mind for a while, although lighting wasn't perfect, I do like this shot.

untitled8816.jpg

untitled8826.jpg

untitled8855Edit.jpg

untitled8882.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @darrenflinders,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Some fab images Darren. I also have the Sigma 150-600C, and its a fantastic lens. I never thought to use it for macro work, but it certainly works for these Dragonflies...

I'll certainly keep it in mind the next time I go out exploring!

Congratulations @darrenflinders! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 50 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 100 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Update for regular authors

The dragonflies shots are very cool! How far were you from them?

P.S. To add a post to a community you need to use their tag (the one with a number) as a first one or post directly from the community. Then you can skip typing the tag, it will be added automatically.
Also you don't have to use #qurator tag. Better add #photography instead :)

Thanks for the feedback, I think I was about 10 feet from the drogonflies, just cropped the images slightly to get a closer shot.

Pretty cool! :)
I shot once dragonflies with Tamron 70-300 and was surprised how well they looked. But I had to be closer.
Would love to have this Sigma.

It's a great lens, but doesn't half get heavy after half an hour or so lol