John Thornton from "North and South" by Elizabeth Gaskell | Digital portrait illustration

in #creativecoin4 years ago

lookbackatme.jpg

North and South (2004) is a four-part TV serial adaptation of Elizabeth Gaskell's classic literary novel.

There's a scene in the adaptation where Mr. Thornton appeals silently for his unrequited love interest Miss Margaret Hale to "look back at him", as she is leaving in the carriage. It is a scene beloved by fans. It sends all the ladies into a spin because it is a very romantic moment. Here is the reference image, so you can understand the context:

404c67f913b9e17d480abb19020699f6.jpg

Mr. Thornton's character is portrayed by Richard Armitage. I can't imagine Mr. Thornton looking like anyone else so I based my character portrait on him, too.

This is a work in progress, I think. I still need to refine some details. I painted him very dark and moody, as that is the character's temperament as well as being my preferred artistic style.

The pieces floating around in the foreground took about 5 layers to build up in varying opacity, motion blur effects and size. They depict the cotton fluff flying through the air, as he is a cotton mill owner in the North of England during the industrial revolution.

This was during the first few decades of the 19th century, brought about a machine age economy that relied on wage labourers, instead of slaves.

The series depicts well the battle between mill owners and labourers as the idea of workers unions rose, causing strikes and all sorts of mayhem.

I digress.

Painted digitally in Procreate on the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil. I've been using oil Procreate brushes I bought from Creative Market for a measly $6, but they are amazing. They are called "Sargent's Oils" and they are sold by Sadie Lew. Link

I'm starting up a small side business venture selling period drama themed art prints and gifts. Most of my products/creations will really only appeal to fans "in the know". I want it to be niche.

I'll be posting more about this as I go along. In the meantime, please follow my new account on Instagram: @perioddramagifts if you're interested in the niche!

North and South is directed by Brian Percival, released by BBC One.



You can support me using Steem Basic Income

Sort:  

$trdo
!BEER
for you

You got a 100.00% upvote from @redlambo courtesy of @eii! Make sure to use tag #redlambo to be considered for the curation post!

This post earned a total payout of 1.877$ and 1.411$ worth of author reward which was liquified using @likwid. To learn more.

Wow! Looks like an old photograph...

Thanks. The more I look at it the more I think it looks like Thomas Barrow from Downton Abbey LOL

This is what came up when I did a reverse image search on your drawing:

image.png

!giphy north+south




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

You have received a 0.41% upvote based on your stake of 228.16761682 UFM! Votes today: 1

Congratulations @leysa! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Hey @leysa, here is a little bit of BEER from @eii for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking.

coffeea Lucky you @leysa here is your COFFEEA, view all your tokens at steem-engine.com Vote for c0ff33a as Witness

You need more DERANGED (5 DERANGED is needed to send 1 DERANGED a day)