Today I Finished my Mushroom House!

in #creativecoin3 years ago

IMG_20210213_145205.jpg

Greeting! Today I finished a project I've had planned for a few weeks or, dare I even say, a few months. It is inspired by the mushroom house from the original version of Super Mario 3 for the NES.

IMG_20201222_103825.jpg

It all started when my good friend showed me this pumpkin he acquired. After a bit of digging, I discovered it was a turban pumpkin. My buddy offered it to me, but I had forgotten it at his home. I had to wait until the next time I visited him to her the chance to pick it up again.

IMG_20210211_113549.jpg

Now that I had it, the next step was to dry it out. At this point all I was thinking about was obtaining the seeds inside so that I could grow many more of my own. Then later I thought of the idea of turning it into a mushroom. Drying out took several weeks. First, I wiped it down with a diluted bleach solution so that it wouldn't root from the outside. Next, I read that a hole must be made on the bottom so that the interior could also dry. Fluid apparently was supposed to drip from this hole but mine did not. Then I left it directly in front of the vent in my room. The hot, dry air food its magic while all I had to do was periodically rotate it so that it could dry evenly.
At this point, when it became completely dry and hollow, I sanded the surface a bit with some fine sandpaper.
The dome took many coats of paint before it looked even. The most annoying part was painting the spots.
I'm happy that it's finally finished. Maybe in the future, after I grow more, I could paint some with different designs and give them a gifts or sell them!
What do you think? Do you like my Mushroom House? What projects have you taken on during these times?

Sort:  

Congratulations @proto26! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 26000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 27000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour

There is a lot that you can do about pumpkins!

A pumpkin in disguise! hehe It's nice. If it doesn't rot right away then maybe you can sell them.

Once it dries out, it will not rot! Isn't that great? And the paint protects it even more.

Really? That's great. Maybe you can try season-themed designs or maybe like those mushrooms in super mario. Maybe you can make a lamp out of it too..like a super mario mushroom lamp. haha :D

Good idea! The next one will be red and white (the color I got is actually called "vanilla") and then a green version.

I think vanilla will look nice because it's closer to a mushroom's color.