How long can an ETH transaction get stuck for?

in #crypto3 years ago

SERIOUSLY, I had no idea ETH was SO FUCKING SHIT.

I've had a transaction pending for 19 hours, I just made another one and I had no idea I can't make further transactions until that previous one goes through.

The vast majority of my ETH is in that particular wallet too.

My first question is how long until that transaction fails, if it will ever fail, how long can it get stuck for?

Or is that like asking how long is a bit of string?

At the time I just opted for the average gas fees suggested by the network. It was for quite a small amount, around $30 in value.

And how do I cancel a transaction using MEW?

I read through the MEW details on how do this, and it says something about sending 0 ETH to yourself with the same nonse, but all i've ended up with is three more transactions that are now also pending since the first one's still fucking stuck.

I couldn't see anywhere in the process of sending myself a 0 transaction how I could 'input' the same nonse?

I don't even know what a nonse is.

I'm just trying be be ahead of the game as I've got 500K DEC on uniswap I want to get by early November to buy me a tract of LAND.

Surely the ETH network can't be so shit that my MEW wallet can now be fucked for several days or Weeks?

Sort:  

I was in the same positions just yesterday...4 hours pending only to be eventually cancelled. Of course I payed the fees and all that shit...

PS. Next trx you make raise the gwei number by 1-2 units. It helps a lot. You pay 10% more but when there's a lot of traffic and others get stuck your goes through. Learned that yesterday...

Bottom line is the ETH network is the worst kind of shit. Period...yet costs $370 and is positioned 2nd...nuff talking

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Cheers for the tip on the amount of extra Gwei required that is very helpful!

It is shit.

And fewer and larger transactions in the future for sure.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It can be stuck for hours, the best thing to do, is cancel and redo it and pump up your gas fees to get it to go through

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I actually discovered a little option in Metamask that allows you to do that easily, all sorted now, and I'm going to make full use of my three addresses linked to that from now on, make sure I keep my DEC account free!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

A few years ago I had one stuck for 6 days. No kidding.

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Holy crap, I ended up paying more to get out early, I just wanted it done!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

It's really shit. I don't know why anybody builds on ethereum and hate having anything to do with it.

Posted using Dapplr

I know what you mean, linking DEC and LEO to it seems like a step backwards!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

I cannot help but hoping it will be fixed for you...
Bon courage

It's sorted now, phew!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

Yeah it is slow and expensive but THAT slow and expensive?

Wow dude. I hope it gets through fast so you can get your dec.

Inspiring you are going for it!

Sorted, I figured out how to cancel!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta

We are spoilt with HIVE transactions. I have been frustrated with other coins in the past, but don't do much with them lately.

Done and sorted now thankfully!

Posted Using LeoFinance Beta