You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Is Tauchain Agoras in Good Hands?

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

Lol thanks! Btw, scaling discussion would be as magical as levitation :) I remember a long time ago when we talked about this and I mentioned that I wasn't sold on his presentation / talk. Funny that has turned around!

Sort:  

just following the chat between him and dana over the last hour, and you can tell he's something else

It's all quite technical and I don't understand much of it, but it really appears that he's on the precipice of something truly big

I just remember dealing with yacc/gcc back in uni. Looks like the earley parser is doing wonders. Still wondering how it fits into TML interpreting itself that way lol.

The Earley Parser is almost magical in what it does. Beautiful actually. Ohad made a very good choice strategically in that parser.

In my own case because I express some controversial ideas on the topic of gun control, I have found out that discussions typically tend to be echo chambers. People who have a certain ideology do not care about facts or logic or the statistics in many cases. If we had an ability to discuss politics over Tau it could actually produce some progress which we seemingly can't have discussing politics over Facebook or even Steem.

Productive discussion, that being a political discussion which produces some useful idea, is almost impossible to have over Facebook. Facebook algorithms tend to group people with those who share similar views to such an extent that serious discussion becomes impossible. This is fine for cheer leading but not good if you really want to expand the Overton Window as they say.

Tangentially, I try not to have political opinions anymore. I do my best to stick to morality. My conclusion has become that politics act on morality to warp it and allow moral people to do immoral things. It is a trap to becoming a bad person to discuss things in a political way when simple morals won't lead you astray. That isn't to say that statistics and statistical arguments can't inform your morals.