My six months' roller coaster journey at crypto so far....

in #cryptocurrency6 years ago (edited)

roller-coaster.jpg
After learning about Blockchain, I became interested in learning about what Bitcoin is, what are ALT coins and so forth. Still , I was fearful to jump into the water. However, couldn't resist myself from being involved in crypto. I learned a lot of things of how and where to get registered for ICO, which exchanges I need to register, how to open a wallet etc etc through Google searching, youtube videos watching and reading blogs. Just sharing some below.

My experience with Exchange registration:

I learned where I can buy my first Bitcoin and Etherium through Fiat (Coinbase). Then learnt about other exchanges and registered there (Canadian Exchange 'Coinsquare' and 'Quadrigacx' as I live in Canada). Then to buy other AlTcoins wanted to register in Bittrex but it was not accepting new registrations. So found an alternative which is Binance. But it didn't stop there. I registered in Kucoin,Huobi,Cobinhood, Qrytos, Gate.io, Tdex, Bitstamp, Kraken, Bithumb, Bibox, Gatehub, HitBTC, and so on. Also need to specify about IDEX and ETher Delta which are decentralized in nature.

My Experience in 'Trading' and with 'ICO':

Tried to do trading for some time. But being a newbie , I lost money. Then came to know about ICO (Initial Coin Offering). However, also was not sure where to invest. Then came across some ICO Benchmarking sites. Through which I invested in 'Sapian', 'Copytrack', 'Adhive', 'Syncfab' and 'Faceter'. And off course I lost more than 70% of my investment there. Even though those ICO's were rated high with a big hype. I then learnt how those benchmarking sites actually awards high points in exchange of money.

Factors that needs to be considered before investing in ICO:

Then I tried to learn what are the factors that needs to be considered , which ICO to invest. I learnt about three factors that I missed before apart from the factors associated with 'Team', 'Community', 'Product prototype', and 'Type of project'. I learnt that due to 'Bear' market condition, ' Infrastructure ' projects are much safer for good return accompanied by three other most important factors ; which are 'Token matrics', 'Amount of fund that is proposed to be raised' and 'a renowned advisor's name attached to the ICO to keep the hype'. And most important point of all, those ICOs, that announce from the beginning that they would get listed within 4 weeks, those ICO's do good. Because , the ICO's on which I lost money, all of those were either saying that 'They cannot legally comment on exchange' or 'They are in NDA (Non Disclosure Agreement)'. Be aware of these two announcements.

First profit making ICO:

I made my first good return on 'Quarkchain'. Its because, it got listed very quickly within couple of days and so the project's hype was still on the air. After losing 90% of my investment in previous ICOs and trading, I recovered all of it in a single ICO. Which make me come to the decision is that it is ok to only invest in one profitable ICO rather than ten bad ICOs. And should not be concentrated on trading during bear market. Just HODL until market recovers.

What to do in Bear Market:

It is true that market condition emotionally drives everyone to sell their coins in loss. Which I also felt and did for some of my ALT. As I had already experienced the bear market condition in late March and April, I knew, what I needed to do at the current bear market in May and June. First thing that I did is that as soon as I realized price going down and down, I sold all my coins against Tether (USDT). Then I bought 'Neo' when it reached $38 . As we are in the bearish market now it is always recommended to convert all your coins to Tether (USDT) and buy safe coins when those reach bottom.

New ICO that I am currently looking at:

Currently, I have put my eyes on Sparkster. It check marks all the criteria to give me a good return. Hopefully, it would not let me down.

Telegram Group:

It's always helpful to be involved in telegram group of investors who share their knowledge and concerns. Though I needed to understand, who were FOMO-ing (Fear of Missing Out) and who were FUD-ing (Fear, uncertainty and doubts).

Conclusion:

Now when I look back, I can see so much ups and down, so much emotions, fear and excitement attached. I was so much under mental pressure, as I have a family to support and yet I was losing money. But I learnt my lesson and willing to not make the same mistake as I did before following this path. Hope that everyone enjoys my story and learn something from me.

Sort:  
There are 3 pages
Pages

Nice, well done
Thanks for the pictures, look great wonderful trip for you
Great post..

Good to see here..I upvoted you

This post has received a 5.75 % upvote from @boomerang.

@touhida84 - Great post! Keep up the good work!

Hi! Friends
I am Jitendra Gautam
If you want to earn huge money from steemit.
If you not able to write a unique catchy content then I have an offer for you I will write 10 posts for you, in return you have to give 1 steam dollar
and write all the posts in 5 hours. If you want to check my posts then @jkgautam and If you want that I will write posts for you then contact me at [email protected]

Crypto roller coaster ride was so intense that so many weak hands lose from their grip on their coin. But the strong ones still hopeful till their last breath, lol

It was late of the year 2017 that BTC hit the highest mark of around 20k dollars, I hope that one of these days BTC will skyrocket again surpassing its previous highest record.

I agree with your concern. We all praying for the bulls to return to the market.

I truly believe there is nothing to worry so much about the crypto crash in the near future. the market is highly volatile in nature for sure but the advantages followed in transactions done through cryptocurrencies are always secure and fast. It will be legalized very soon in many countries as well.

Tether isn't as safe as you may think. They've printed hundreds of millions out of thin air without providing any convincing proof of having the USD to back it up, as they claim. It may fall apart at any time, especially if regulators come down hard on Bitfinex.

I understand your concern, however, everything is in risk in this industry. I am honoured for being noticed by a high reputation Steemian like you.

Probably this is not the place to start a conversation like this one (bellow), but I feel intrigued with what many users are doing while posting (I am no saint, but I have learned that it actually hurts the "good" community within STEEM). So here I go...

Reputation (the number) is not something I believe in the Steemit platform anymore. Does not mean that people have or not in fact, a good reputation. But what was, in the beginning, a good simple way to understand the reputation of a Steemit user, now its completely false to assume only that number as comparison/measure point.

Simply put, the ability to buy votes makes that characterization/attribute not true. In my view, reputation should have a different weighed system, not dependent on STEEM POWER VOTING only, but also dependent on peoples opinion (using a normalized score).

Something like steemhunt is doing. But I would even add another component which would be "trended". If a user gets initially lots of votes, and then ONLY downvotes, then it should have negative trending (meaning the overall reputation should decrease). This last method should decrease the appetite for "gaming" the system and inspire good cooperation within the community. The remaining question here (from myself) would be, how you would balance the 3 mechanisms for reputation...

Anyway, just some philosophical thoughts of my own when I read that you were "honoured"!

PS.:
It costs a bit of time, but going through people's comments actually makes me learn a lot about them. =)

I understand your concern. I understand your concern on the word 'honoured' being used here. I think you didn't considered my cultural background. I came from a country where, 'thank you very much', 'appreciated', 'honoured', 'privileged', 'humbled','respected' are synonyme of each other. We appreciate people in the best possible way, who appreciates us.

We feel honoured if some one appreciates us. We are renowned for our guest loving attitude. I don't want to say too much. You can check about our culture in google. By the way , I am from Bangladesh. By culture, I am Bengali.

Thanks for explaining that. I understood exactly that. =)

Anyway, I did not meant to offend cultures here... nor to be picky on any details of any culture. Just that I saw something being done over the STEEM blockchain that I don't agree with =)

While I agree the Reputation score isn't everything and is flawed in many ways, it does show that someone has been flagged rarely enough to grow the rep most who have abused voting bots see their rep flagged down, end up on Blacklists and sometimes votes are even removed.

Negative Reps are especially helpful to me, and in most cases, I simply will not communicate with accounts with a bad rep.

Why not provide a dual score instead of a composite score? There should be a way to filter out the noise of posters.

And while I'm here, why the hell did you buy $800 worth of upvotes? I just want to understand that logic.

It seems really unimportant compared to other things they are working on. :) I didn't write it. lol

They print fiat without cover in gold so its kinda the same thing. The only diffrence is fiat is way older but as always old things get replaced by new ones. Cheers^^

Time for that long-awaited Bull-run, Damn Bears have been screwing the market up all year so far...But its TIME FOR SOME BULLISH MOMENTUM!!!

I hope things work out for you, you seem like my kind of gambler! :)

My journey has been quite similar like yours. But I follow 1 simple logic that this market will surely boom one day so there is no need to panic in bearish market. Just sit back and relax until the day.

Well said.

Just follow it, success is urs

What value does this blog adds to steem? how did it earn 874 dollar payment? This is not a comment to criticize anyone . but the whole issue of steem and how perceived is "value" . This to me is the biggest road block for steemit when it tries to compete with other forms of social media

I understand your concern. Everyone is welcome to comment about what they feel about a single post. Sometime very good post go unnoticed and sometime a poor post gets lots of upvotes. I checked on your profile as well. you have some posts which only has pictures, no descriptions but upvoted by bots which you used to earn. There is always a saying that before giving someone a specific advise, one should apply that on themselves first.

Thank you So much for this post.

You are welcome.

@touhida84 great journey in crypto market. This happened all time with newbie trader.we search find some people to earn huge profit in little time.we leave our searches and invest in crypto..result we face huge loss..
we should complete our learning about crypto...when we satisfied then jump into market. i think same story of losses every newbie..we should learn from our losses to become good trader..thx Upvote @touhida84

Maybe try to build a „ladder“. It’s a good opportunity to go in if many get panic and go out. Ask W. Buffet how he made his millions.

Extremely good article especially the 4th last paragraph in which it is stated what to do in bear market.
I recommend all to follow the same steps as these are really informative and guide you the best strategy to work with the crypto market. I really lost too much by not following these simple steps. When I started working with Crypto, I merely thought to buy some good coins and forget and they will rise like Bitcoin but I was wrong. With the passage of each day, Crypto market is getting stronger and more mature. Only better strategy can bring in success to all of us in the same way as indicated in this article. I am really impressed with such a thorough work out by the author.

A very nice post. I enjoyed reading your post much. And from this post I learned a lot that was very important for me. And I always come to this kind of post. Thank you very much. I can be very beneficial to get such a good post from you. I just do not. I have done all the benefits. Because this post is a good post. So thank you very much. We will get such helpful post in the next post.

A very nice post. I enjoyed reading your post much. And from this post I learned a lot that was very important for me. And I always come to this kind of post. Thank you very much. I can be very beneficial to get such a good post from you. I just do not. I have done all the benefits. Because this post is a good post. So thank you very much. We will get such helpful post in the next post.

You got a 43.48% upvote from @upme thanks to @touhida84! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

I don't mean to jump on this post, but I have to say, you are ruining the PROFIT for EVERYONE who is using steembottracker. Please know how to use it before ruining profit for everyone involved. I created a video describing how to use them.

I am sorry , will check on to your video. I thought others would have some patience for the next round as As the round was going to restart within 2 and half hours.

Great work, blockchain is a great technlogy. It's a future. PLease upvote, comment and follow me as well. I hope you will love my content.

It is not illegal at all, but when you ruin the ROI for many, many other people, you upset them. I discus how to use the bots.

Also, it is not a matter of patience when it comes to wasting money.

It can be disappointing to them who's post is crossed 7 days. But not much suffering for those those posted as new.

They may wait for next round and will not lose money.

And its very simple bro. Just take it easy.

I am not upset. Please watch the video to understand where I am coming from.

okay.

But before that, lets see here.

She lost her money.

What will you say about this?

Screenshot_20180620-035650.png

Very interesting and honest story! I have been in the Crypto space for quite a while now and most people expect to be winners the next day. Believe me I made more mistakes than profits, but in the end it is a great world and it is only just beginning!

nice one dude ! great info

Great work, great technlogy Blockchain. future technlogy. PLease upvote & comment and follow me as well. I hope you will love my content.

We all praying for the bulls to return to the market.Please know how to use it before ruining profit for everyone involved. I created a video describing how to use them.

Thanks for sharing, I could not participate in most ICOs as it was closed to US folks. However the ones I did participate turned out to be disappointing. One major miss was Dragonchain, for which I earmarked 1 ETH and almost transferred but pulled at last minute as I was not sure about ICOs. Was a big miss!
Though my portfolio is rekt big time with the recent drops, I'm still doing fairly ok and have much bigger profit than any investment which is surprising and speaks a lot about how much crypto investments give as returns. Overall most of my portfolio ( 2/3rd) is BTC, ETH, LTC and it has done well overall but rest of it invested in 30-40 alt coins are doing very poorly now. But like you the learning I have so far is that HODL out and things should be better in the next cycle and you do need to take some profits out occasionally and should not be too greedy

I totally agree with you about being greedy. The first day when Quarkchain was mooning, I did't sold it as I was hoping it would raise more. But turns out to be opposite. However, instead of 18X, I made 10X. Still happy though.

Ya in this fild many more ups and downs here i am also suffering like this

Sharing similar pain , makes the sufferer feel little better. We are all in the same room.

Right said brother from January 2018 till now roller coaster still going on for those who stuck in coins and unable to exit i face the same situation but we can overcome all by just keep patience in all situation and once we get good green market we exit at good profit

Totally agree with your concern.

Interesting and informative, thank you

You are very much welcome.

my experience also same. 90% ico's are failed.

I feel your pain and anger.

Well, the same has been the case with me. The crypto bug bit me last year in January, though i was caught up in the wrong side of things. Out of sheer greed I decided to join an MLM (wont take it's name in a public forum) when Bitcoin was hovering around USD 900.
Purchased 0.15 btc and gave it to my upline (sheer stupidity from me). Now when i look back think that would have made me a lot of bucks if I would have kept it. Anyways when it's got to happen it will happen.

I agree , patience is a virtue

Thanks for sharing. For us beginners in the concept of digital currency, it just confirms our fears that it is too risky to invest in this platform if we do not know the nuts and bolts of digital trading.

Any kind of business is risky. The riskier the business the higher the return. As I have accounts and finance background, I know that there is no business exists which is risk free. However, crypto industry is considered riskier for now because there is fear of it being regulated, which is one way a good sign though as most of the ICOs are there just to rob people. and not to mention there are market manipulators as 70% bitcoins are held by whales and mining pools. So when Bitcoin price falls , everything false. On the other side, Regulation brings centralization and Blockchain empower decentralization. So one's benefit offsets another's disadvantage and vice versa. We need to find something that would give investors and community best out of both sides. That is protection from fraud and price manipulation, and benefit from decentralization and technological advancement of blockchain.

sneaky-ninja-sword-xs.jpg
Sneaky Ninja Attack! You have just been defended with a 45.30% upvote!
I was summoned by @touhida84. I have done their bidding and now I will vanish...

woosh
A portion of the proceeds from your bid was used in support of youarehope and tarc.

Abuse Policy
Rules
How to use Sneaky Ninja
How it works
Victim of grumpycat?

Really nice article.

Even if we are now in a long bear market, there are many good crypto related projects that are developing now.

If I can give you guys my opinion, I discovered an exciting one: RAWG.

Just now the RAWG team won TWO blockchain contests in one day. Amazing! Have a look at this article explaining this great result:
https://medium.com/rawg/wizardry-product-transparency-5325fd85557a

Like they say: “This is RAWG’s promise to become one of the trustworthy projects in the sea of fraud and scam”.

If you want to have a look and get some information, the ICO will start in a short period and they are at the moment in pre-ICO phase.

The ICO site is this one: https://token.rawg.io/.
It's a video game discovery platform that converts your skills into goods and services.

You can earn tokens by playing your favorite games. The site is already working, with more than 50,000 games in the database and new games are getting added every day.

Have a look. I hope this information is helpful!

This is a great post. While you have covered your experience with crypto currency, I wanted to check if you have tried leveraging cryptocurrencies between different exchanges?

As you may have observed that the tokens cost is different in different exchanges and sometimes the difference is more than 10%. Have you tried making some bucks out of this disbalance that exists? Please share your experience

Congratulations @touhida84! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard!


Participate in the SteemitBoard World Cup Contest!
Collect World Cup badges and win free SBD
Support the Gold Sponsors of the contest: @good-karma and @lukestokes


Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

now a days mostly ico's are to scam people.. very hard to find genuine and good ico..

BCC was the 1st one who did this worldwide.
thr promoters should prison for life!

I agree with you.

touhida 84 i think your travelling period so tough but now you are enjoying the life every times looks every thing before starting it will so tough if you continous that thing you will sure achieve the goal

This post has received a 12.43 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @touhida84.

You got a 88.14% upvote from @emperorofnaps courtesy of @touhida84!

Want to promote your posts too? Send 0.05+ SBD or STEEM to @emperorofnaps to receive a share of a full upvote every 2.4 hours...Then go relax and take a nap!

You got a 24.77% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @touhida84!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!

This post has received a 53.57 % upvote from @boomerang.

Api, can I get any contact address of you.

Its me Irak Mahmud.

I need a contact info of you.

It can be anything like, discord, whatsapp, facebook etc.

Please.

twitter id @touhida84,

Thank you api.

I will knock you at twitter.

Api,
don't promote from steembotrecker now.

Later when vote value will high do it.

thanks would follow your advise

Api, just DM you at twitter.

When you get time please knock me.

I replied back instantly , pls check.

You got a 91.67% upvote from @upmewhale courtesy of @touhida84!

Earn 100% earning payout by delegating SP to @upmewhale. Visit http://www.upmewhale.com for details!

Still , I was fearful to jump into the water.

This is still so me, but the learning is continuous, I JUST have to START!

I did learn something, I even took notes for later because these are golden nuggets.

Oh forgot to mention about Mainframe. Which token, I still didn't received but would do good I think. They are the one who actually come up with the idea of Proof of Being, Proof of Love and Proof of Heart. Which technique some ICO's followed later to select investors from huge numbers.

You have done a lot in such a short time. I am also looking into ICOs. I have only invested in one so far.

Thank you for appreciating. Which ICO did you invested?

Hi touhida84, how you doing ?

So far so good. Thanks for asking.

I invested in wagerr. Its had its ups and downs but im waiting for it to be on a big exchange and for live betting to be implemented to see how much traction it can gain.

My best wishes with you for your trading. Good luck. Just don't panic and sell. HODL is the best option if you are already in losses and wait untill market recovers.

Rough journey, education isn’t free I’m going through my own growing pains. Glad to see someone sharing their story. Great post

Thank you for appreciating.

Joven me parece interesante este resumen que has hecho sobre tu experiencia el mercado forex (treading) sobre las ICOS y sobre todo de tu experiencias y sobre tus errores me parece genial este post por que nos da reflexionar, de que uno falla cuando deja de intentarlo...

Didn't understood what you said first, then translated and understood the summary of your concern. Thanks for reading my post and sharing your experience about ICOs as well.

I invested around 2000 dollars after december now sitting at 80% loss due to bearish market :(
How can I contact you ? I need to ask you about steemit thanks in advance

One good investment can turnaround your situation as it did to me. Just hunt for the next big movers in the market. Until then just HODL.

Yess inshaAllah I have invested in more project and firmly believe good daus are coming 😁
Can you help and guide me out on steemit i will be very thankful :)

Always happy to help in this platform.

How to get noticed here? How are you making so much on an article ? By using bots? Kindly please guide me

i go to park and enjoy lots of 😃😃😃😃

tenor (12).gif

this is what m trying to say

I still don't get you.

Great work, blockchain is a great technlogy. PLease upvote, comment and follow me as well. I hope you will love my content.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

You are very much welcome.

learning to earn money

Its a good thing to be always open to learn new things.

There are 3 pages
Pages