My Summer Holiday Goals, 2020

in #ctp4 years ago

Hello everybody!

It's been a while since I last published a blog post on CTPTalk, but I'm pleased to report that "spring" term is finally over and done with, here in Hiroshima and I have a couple of weeks' holiday from college classes before the autumn term kicks in...

I am expecting less disruption next term, but it's going to be even busier as one college has scheduled two extra classes for me... all good mula, and I love teaching there, so no complaints... but that will probably put the kibosh on blogging on CTPTalk for the duration of term!

So, let's make the most of the next two weeks...

Yesterday I wrote down TEN goals that I hope to achieve during my two week break from college teaching. Here they are:

  1. Edit my Beginners' Crypto Course, Part 1. Add Part 2.

  2. Chess: - Finish writing notes for the 1...d6 opening repertoire for Black.
    - Make memory cards for the locations I have assigned to the 64 squares of the chess board. (DONE!)
    - Review the 1.d4 opening repertoire for White, and write "memory stories" for three sequences.

  3. Clean and tidy my room and bookshelves. Reduce clutter as part of my "moderate minimalism" project.

  4. Review and blog about my memory system for Robert Greene's "48 Laws of Power".

  5. Publish 2 academic papers on https://hju.academia.edu/DavidHurley

  6. Publish a chess post on my chess blog, https://easychesstips.com

  7. Publish daily posts on my tarot blog, https://perennialtarot.com

  8. Publish 4 blog posts on CTPTalk and 3 blog posts on Hive.blog.

  9. Buy more Hive and contribute to Achim's CTP Swarm Booster project:
    https://ctptalk.com/hive-119826/@achim03.ctp/ztuyidft

  10. Do 4 workouts (7MWs)

The funny thing is that in spite of all my talk about memory systems, I completely blanked out at the end of the video and forgot the name of my own membership site, https://elitedownlinebuilder.com ! I played for time by comparing myself to @russellstockley who has a tendency to forget what today's "name three things" challenge is. He he!

Anyway, wish me luck, and feel free to offer any tips or suggestions in the comments below.

All the best,

David Hurley

https://davidhurley.net

https://davidhurleyinjapan.net

#InspiredFocus (?)

Sort:  

hahahaha... I have to mention at the beginning the good-old @russellstockley and his name 3 things memory issues... :) It makes me laugh every, single, time... so, it has its' purpose...

Nice to see your blog/vlog, David! Always enjoying watching and reading them... I hope that you will over-deliver that goal with only 4 blogs in 4 weeks and that we will have more material from you to enjoy!

One thing more... I'm not quite sure, but I think that you have inspired my son about one thing... I don't know exactly which of your videos was it a couple of months ago, but he was watching it with me... And you were doing your workout... And now, we are going together to the gym for almost a month! I think that he liked your "press-ups" (if that was a word that you have used)...

So, thanks for that also!!!

Thanks, Zoltan! It would be amazing to think that I have ever inspired anybody to do anything related to physical workouts! Yes, "press-ups" is the word! It must be nice to be able to share some time with your son in the gym.

Yes, it is! And I'm happy that his friend has quit the gym, so he invited me to do it together... lol... Teenagers... :)

Parents are good when there is no other option available... :) But, I will take it... We all have been there...

Great goals and nice to learn more about you :-). I'm also quite an adept of minimalism but I couldn't get rid of my books either...

I particularly liked your 9th goal :-)

Thank you, Achim. I'm looking forward to participating in the CTP Swarm Booster!

Hi David, great see you on Cam,
Google classrooms is fun , I held a number of courses on that platform for a couple of years. These days I only use zoom for company meetings.

Your crpto course is definately worth it for people to get involved in

Havent played ches for an age and an eon, The memory system sound very Synaesthetic (which is essentially Cross Modal Processing)

Remember if it brings you Joy , if it doesnt then get rid of it.

I have never used Tarot but used to regularly use the Book of IChing

Loooking fowards to reading your posts on Hive, ctp talk

The project by Achim CTPSB sounds like a great project, I couldnt wait to jump in, so I went in boots an all

Doing workouts, I try to do them every day, but it can be easy to miss them if you dont focus, lol
the 7 minute workouts sound pretty good,

Thanks for the mention , lol , so much going on in the head at times, its hard to fit it all in :)

Thanks Russell! And thank you for the comprehensive response. Much appreciated. Thank you for the positive feedback about my crypto course.

Chess brings me a lot of joy, win or lose! And the memory systems too, though I haven't mastered them yet... I use a version of the "Major System" and will talk more about it in upcoming posts...

You have big goals .Good luck to make them all