Glorious Failure

in #ctp4 years ago

man-in-blue-and-brown-plaid-dress-shirt-touching-his-hair-897817.jpg

It's hardly a revelation to say that failure is a necessary part of success.

But what does failure really mean?

I've failed more times that I care to remember. My reactions to that have been varied.

Sometimes I've stuck my head in the sand and denied that it ever happened.

Other times, I've buried it and let my subconscious state chew on it a while.

On a few occasions, I've been mentally prepared to face the situation square on and address the reasons up front.

While, I could berate myself for coping with failure in certain ways on occasions, I think I'd be missing the point.

Failure and how we deal with it shapes and moulds us in ways that success can never do. Understanding how we react to failure is almost as important as the how and why.

We are all human. We are supposed to make mistakes. Nothing is ever easy. Progress has never been linear for me. Success may never be exactly what we imagine it to be. Without failure success does not taste sweet.

There is a saying from the Adwords professional marketer, Perry Marshall "that there is no such thing as a failed ad campaign - only relevant data."

There's something in that - failure is only failure when we accept it and close the book.

The business I run now owes much to the failures of many years, where I learned harsh but invaluable lessons. I can quite honestly say that some of that knowledge wasn't even gained on a conscious level. Failure has shaped me. It makes me more responsive, more confident in my ability to take a hit and get back up, more flexible, more adaptable and more patient. It also has made me less arrogant.

In its own confronting way failure is glorious. It says that you had a go and it teaches you how to get better.

Don't fear it. Look it in the eye and ask "Is that the best you've got."

Keep showing up.

Keep learning.

It will be worth it in the long run.

Peace

Sort:  

Congratulations @markhodge! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 800 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 900 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!