You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Ladies, Here's 18 Rules To Make You A Good Wife

in #culture4 years ago

The TV shows from that era back up these sentiments actually. Look at Leave It To Beaver, a show that even young people today are likely familiar with due to this show's reruns being shown just about everywhere for so many years.

I remember that as a kid, I thought the Cleaver sons had an envious home life. Ward, the dad, is nice and never gets mean and nasty in punishing them, and I always would wish I had a dad like that, lol. As an adult though, I see how silly it was to think that families like the Cleavers actually existed.

Now, I think it's worse, as the shows based on families and their activities always center on the things we do occasionally that make us look bad, and the shows train us to think, "We're all a bunch of hopeless saps with nothing positive going on at all, so we might as well accept it."

Sort:  

Howdy sir free-reign! Yes, you are so right, I thought of that show when I was looking for photos from the 50's to fit it. It was an ideal home situation wasn't it? And like you said, today's shows are totally, dysfunctional messes.

A good reason not to watch much tv!