Reviving Silent-Bob curation next february on creativecoin

in #curation2 years ago

When I joined this platform, at a time when HIVE was still called STEEM and STEEM was still a great place, not ruined yet by the hostile takeovers or upvote bots that incepted the fork and name-change, the community and a few patron-of-the-art whales helped me in ways I'm still thankful for. They supported my fiction and in such a way that I was able to crowd-source my editing and contract an amazing illustrator for my fiction.

Later STEEM became a mess with upvote buts, and I found a place of refuge in the #creativecoin tribe, and I started the Silent Bob curation initiative, that I timed rather badly because of the hostile takeover that would follow quickly.

After the hostile takeover and the fork, I felt STEEM, the currency had become tainted. I didn't want to stay on the compromised chain, but I didn't want to cash out on a chain that had been part of the first actual blockchain heist in history, either. So what did I do? First I stayed away for quite a while. The fork had been done a bit clumsy in my view, and I wasn't sure HIVE would be the place for me. There was HIVE, there was BURT, and I was confused. When I finally decided to go for HIVE, mostly for the ecosystem and for #creativecoin, I swapped my STEEM on hive-engine and got myself a bit more of a possition in the #creativecoin tribe with the idea of picking up Silent-Bob once more. Unfortunately my old code for easy curration didn't quite work out of the box and was running using the old asyncsteem Python 2 library that I wrote and that I didn't want to continue working on because of the bad taste the hostile takeover had left in my mouth. So instead, I found a good cause for my stake and delegated most of it to the HIVE book club community. That delegation will expire next February, next to two other delegations I did as prizes in two competitions I've ran not that long ago.

In two months and a bit, all three delegations will expire. A few days back I undelegated some HP from my holding account to this account, and starting next week I am going to be powering down so I can further strengthen my #creativecoin position before the expiration of my delegations. The goal is to have a somewhat sizeable stake of creative coin by next February that I can use to reboot my Silent Bob curation initiative.

image.png

My current creativecoin stake is roughly 536,000 CCC, an amount I plan to increase with about 10 $HIVE daily over the coming two months for whatever the day value is. It's not an investment for me. It is paying it forward for the support I received when I first joined the platform.

So what will I be currating under this initiative? Well, basically everything with one of the following set of two tags:

The complete feed (for languages I can read comfortably) minus my personal blacklist and minus anything past the second post a day for each author.

As before, the curation will be just upvotes with accompanying silent bob icon comments like the one above. One upto five start with a matching upvote that will be slightly higer if the post was done in full power-up mode. Oh, and blacklisting plus downvotes for tag abuse, but I'm sure that won't happen, at least not frequently.

I'm looking forward to restarting this initiative. Hope to see much amazing content from all of you when I do, next February.

Oh, my #spanish is quite limited, and there is quite some amazing content coming in from the Spanish community. I'm really open to cooperating with any Spanish curation initiatives. I'm not sure yet how that should work out, but please come talk to me if you are interested, I'm sure we can work out a way to give spanish content the upvotes it deserves.

Sort:  

This is wonderful @pibara. I like that you have made the tag requirements a dual-tag too :-) When I come across Spanish posts in CCC I translate them using Google although most people seem to recommend Deepl, so I want to try that next! If I was not an English-speaking (as first language) author, I would use Deepl to translate all of my posts and show the English translation within my post. I have been considering adding a Spanish translation to some of my own posts tbh and tagging the Spanish community, to be more inclusive of the Hive community at large as Spanish appears to be one of the main alternative languages being used for posting. Perhaps some feedback from people in the Spanish community could help guide me in this respect as to whether this would be welcomed or not? Maybe a better option would be not to tag Spanish community as I do not want to abuse any tags and instead include 'Spanish translation included' or Eng/Sp at the end of my post titles? !PIZZA

Thanks so much for doing this for the community ❤️ I love that you are using a portion of your daily Hive for this :)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@samsmith1971(16/20) tipped @pibara (x1)

You can now send $PIZZA tips in Discord via tip.cc!


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.