A Dash of Sult N Papper 05/10/20> So much to do and so little time… so “duck it” is now…

in #dailydose4 years ago

image.png

My absence of...

My absence of recent Dashes has been just a matter of too much demand on my time. I can one thing with all certainty; I will never sign up for “Team Tournament” play again without knowing how the tournament is formatted.

My competitive nature instinctively kicked in before my brain when asked if I wanted to join the team I’m on. Make no mistake about it; we have the best team. In order to be the best though you have to give your best and that is where the problem comes in.

With so many...

With so many tournaments that have “team points” available to earn that means endless hours on the computer playing poker. During the week I have to juggle phone calls, webinars, emails, and other work with poker playing.

The weekends it doesn’t get any easier because I have plenty of design work to do also. The only reason I even have a few minutes right now to write this Dash is because I actually “ducked out” on the noon time poker game.

By "ducked out"...

By “ducked out” I mean I held back on entering the tournament. Certain tournaments require a minimum number of players and if the minimum isn’t met the tournament doesn’t happen. I checked thirty minutes prior to the start time and only a few people had entered so I headed outside to check on the ducks. I set a reminder alarm for noon and came in to “enter late” if need be but the tournament didn’t make. This might be my “mode” to come for the not too distant future.

Speaking of ducks...

Speaking of “ducks” I finally got the ducks roost completed and they have finally been moved outside. The wife woke me at 6:30 AM to inform me that a “big ass ‘coon” was on top of the ducks pen. She was freaking out but she turned on the outside lights so that scared him off and by the time I got outside he was gone. We could have been having roosted raccoon for Mother’s day supper but it just wasn’t meant to be I guess.

The ducks were completely safe and sound in their roost but the wife wasn’t involved in building the pen or the roost so she doesn’t realize just how sturdy the whole setup is.

That roost is made of ¾” thick wood and is tight plus it has a stainless steel pitched roof on it so it should last quite a long time. Here a couple photos of the ducks and the roost.

I just really think the “blue tips” on the ducks wings are really neat, give them a classy look if ducks could be classified as “classy”.

We still don’t know if we have any male ducks yet. According to Blondie the males will have a white ring around their necks but that won’t show up for another couple of months.

Our girls have a tendency to name pets with names that are gender specific so my guess is that the duck named “James Pond” will likely be a female. We have a female pet box turtle named Fred and we had a male guinea pig named Mrs. Kibbles. So I’m pretty confident that old James Pond will be an egg layer for sure.

Man, it feels good to typing this Dash, but it is nearing time for another poker game. I need to play this one because there is no minimum entry requirement. Our team is currently in first place and in the individual standings I am sitting at the top of the heap as well. Right behind me is my teammate Jeff and Chops is also in the top five so we are sitting in a good spot for now.

I had to...

I had to step away for a brief period of time, not that you would have noticed when reading this. The poker game ended early for me but my team members are still in it and earning us more points. Also I employed the “new strategy” for ducking out on the 3:00 PM game and it failed to make also so I have bought myself some more free time.

One thing I have noticed lately is that the games are taking much longer to play now since it is tournament time. Everyone is trying to maximize their points earned and are playing more cautiously it seems. I have an issue when it comes to playing two or more poker games at one time, especially when it is two different styled games.

My brain and my fingers aren’t fast enough to process things as quickly and precisely as some of players are able too. By going deep into the final table on one game can run past the start of the next tournament so that is when I struggle.

I have one...

I have one design left to do today but I’ve elected to do this Dash first. I was up late last night doing designs and when I get that last one done it will make eight of them done since Friday night. So I’m a little tired of designing too right now.

On a different...

On a different subject, how many of you have ever looked at the phrase “business or trade” in the US Tax Code? How many of you make a living in a “business or trade”?

Let me tell you that here again we have some deception going on from the government. Most people think of business as a store that sells items or some type of goods. We always hear the word “trade” associated with some type of service work like plumbers, electricians, welders, pipe fitters etc. Am I right on that? Isn’t that the common usage of those words?

According to the...

According to the US government’s tax code you would be dead wrong in thinking along the lines of the common usage of those words. I now know the difference and it makes me even more convinced now that CPA’s are either too lazy to read the code or they just are flat out part of the corruption force. My wife and I paid our CPA for over 25 years to do our taxes and according to the government’s own written code I never earned any taxable income and neither has my wife.

The deadline for filing taxes has been pushed back until July 15th this year; you might want to go do some reading before you claim you earned some “taxable income”.

That is going to wrap it up for me today.

Happy “Mother’s Day” to all you moms out there.

Until next time,
Sult

Photo credits: Sult N Papper

Sort:  

You know, my old man had a phrase for your 'Poker Overdose'. He'd say "That's a Cadillac problem".

Those are some fine looking dups. I'm glad we got to see the enclosure and the dups.

I think my earliest memory is sitting on our front porch between my mom and dad in the middle of the night. I had no clue what was happening, but I heard them thrashing around so went to see. They set me between them and told me to keep quiet.

Pretty soon we heard the pullets start fussing and talking. My Dad said 'now' and mom turned on one of those enormous old flashlights with a car headlight sized bulb and a huge 9 volt battery to drag along. He had is Savage .308 on his shoulder and we could certainly see a coon on the INSIDE of the fence with a pullet in it's mouth climbing back out.

My Dad shot that coon and the chicken fell back in the pen with no harm. It's the only time I experienced that, but as smooth as it went I suspect my folks had done it before.

You have my curiosity up about those definitions. I'll look them up for sure.

I spend many a night coon hunting back when I was younger too. The problem right now is that Shortie is such an animal lover she would be very upset if I "plugged" that feller and she found out about it. She even gets upset if I kill a spider instead of relocating it to the outdoors.

Look at 26 USC 7701 (a)(26) for the definition.

The poker tourney now is "play by necessity" for me. I'll play the games that I have to do in order to keep the team in first place. But you can bet it all that I am ducking out every chance I get until I get caught up on more important stuff.

My plan is to buy some land and build a house. I'd like to have chickens and a couple of goats. I've never thought about ducks, but I do like duck eggs. I think you need a pond for ducks. We don't have raccoons, but we do have a lot of foxes so I'd need to find out how to protect them. Sounds like fun though.

i'm coming for you, sult.

also, ducks are hilarious!!

Geez. I've got a bunch of the women poker players mad at me right now, even @opidia un-followed me today. Was it something I said?

You are right though, ducks are hilarious!

hahaha! i'm not REALLY mad. ;)

cherie unfollowed me the other day too! what a heart breaker!! :)

She un-followed me but only because I wasn't following her. I figured that was the case and went ahead and followed her so she took me back. Now I need to look and see if I follow you, otherwise you might dump me too.

I am glad that Nuck Fed tourney has gone by the wayside for now, that was always at my busiest point in the day and really had me struggling to keep up. Loved the tourney, and the name of it, but glad to have the break in time.