A Dash of Sult N Papper 05/16/20> This cannot end well… plus a new Texas folk hero.

in #dailydose4 years ago (edited)

image.png

Frustration seems to...

Frustration seems to be the most abundant thing these days for so many people and I am very fortunate to be able to not include myself in that group. Unemployment is at an all time high level here in the USA, levels that even exceed those of the great depression, and again I am very fortunate to not be among those who are unemployed.

Those of you who have been around here and have read my Daily Dose blogs on FIRED and now my Dash blog here on HIVE know that I rely a lot on “gut instinct” when it comes to things that I don’t fully comprehend. That is why I’ve titled this Dash in part with “this cannot end well..” because that is what my gut instinct is telling me.

Here in Texas...

Here in Texas we are slowly starting to “open back up” from the government imposed lock down and most people I’ve had a chance to speak with think this whole situation has more to do with politics then it do anything else.

Sure the COVID 19 virus is real, it even is deadly for certain folks, but it will probably go down in the history books that will be written in the future as an “over reaction to the strain of a flu”. Maybe it won’t be recorded in history that way but it should be; because that is the truth. One thing that has been proven over time is that the truth doesn’t matter when it comes to writing history.

Just yesterday afternoon...

Just yesterday afternoon on the radio I heard the tRump give his daily propaganda update on how we are doing such “great things”. Give me a guzbucking break; if ruining the guzbucking economy and creating the highest levels of unemployment in history are “great” I can wait for the “really great things” he promised on Friday.

The last thing...

The last thing I trust is a politician; and he is full blown politician now. He is former business mogul and television personality but now is just another politician. I don’t have the exact wording he said but he indicated that the government scientists and private sector big pharma companies are on the verge of having a new vaccine ready for COVID as early as this fall or early winter.

We all kind of expected that would be coming, but the kicker in that portion of his speech was what he said next. “The military will be delivering it to the people”, that might not be word for word but I’ve used quotation marks so as to credit him because that was it in a “nutshell” so to say.

He also mentioned that there is “no ego involved” in getting this done. Who is he trying to fool; himself or the people? The only thing more obvious with him, besides his orange skin, is his guzbucking ego.

So the question...

So the question is; how are the military going to be involved? Will the people be standing in lines with machine gun carrying military police keeping them in order while forced immunizations are administered? Hearing that the military will be involved makes me believe my gut when I say, “this cannot end well”.

Throw in the fact that it is a presidential election year and the “deep state” folks will keep the fear of COVID alive until then, if even if it has petered out, so that “mail in ballots” can be used instead of in person voting. Plenty of dead people have voted in prior elections using mail in “absentee ballots” so what could wrong if all the votes were done by mail in? Again; “this cannot end well.”

You’ve heard the saying, “hindsight is 20/20 ” right? Well the year 2020 will be a year that will be looked at in hindsight for many years to come is my guess. Many, yes many, trillions of dollars that will be racked up in government debt is going to be one of the biggest items that will be looked at for decades and decades come with hindsight. We have blinders on right now so we don’t see the whole picture; but when this all shakes out the even a loan shark wouldn’t consider the USA as “credit worthy” customer.

I have to...

I have to think that we will be involved in some serious wars real soon. War has always been our government’s way of distracting the home folks. One of those wars may end being a “civil war” right here too, if states like Pennsylvania, California, Michigan and a few others keep the screws tightened on their people.

Here in Texas...

Here is Texas we have a brand new modern day folk hero; Shelley Luther.

Shelley is the hair salon owner who defied a temporary restraining order by a Dallas judge to keep her business closed. The judge ordered her jailed and she spent about 48 hours in jail before the Texas Supreme Court ordered that she be released. Sounds like some good old fashioned “civil disobedience” on the part of Shelley doesn’t it?

Now, some of you might think I’m going to “sing the praises” of Shelley Luther because I’ve been touting the need for people to exercise civil disobedience? Well I’m not. I’ve listened to her and while she says it was for employees I’m not buying it like most folks are.

My personal opinion...

My personal opinion is that Shelley is a very smart woman who is an opportunist; not just an ordinary business owner who was desperate and caring.

Shelley is the lead singer in a duo that most people had never heard of, Crush Duo, had you? I didn’t think so. Publicity is what entertainers need to make it in the entertainment business; talent is second or third down the list.

My guess is that Shelley figured a few nights in jail might be a good trade off for the publicity she would gain. She probably also figured that someone would start a “Go Fund Me “account for her to help with the $7,000 fine the judge charged her with. Recent news accounts of the Shelley story puts her GFM account at over $500,000, not bad I’d say for 48 hours in jail.

I heard Shelley say that her salon employees quite a few hair stylists, it was in the high teens, like 18 or 19 so she knows about running a business. So my instincts tell me this was just her using a “lemon” to make some Jack Daniels Lemonade. She now stands to propel both her salon and singing career to new heights with all this new found celebrity status; Texas folk hero.

Ya’ll have a great weekend I’ve got some poker to play.
Until next time,
Sult

Photo credits: Sult N Papper

Sort:  

Shelly also has a make up business. I heard her bellyachin' about her businesses all went to hell. She said her band had to refund $37,000 in booking fees so far. I think you're right on with your gut. Probably not just the burrito you had for lunch.

There is 0 chance that I will take the vaccination in the foreseeable future. Corners have been cut and trials will not be run to their logical end. I'm not going to be anybody's guinea pig. Or rabbit. Or even a dup :)

I suppose they can shoot me, or put a boot on my throat and give me the damn thing, but I sure as hell won't take it voluntarily.

I'm having a hard time figuring out the end game of the huge 'bailouts'. Is it just sending money to big donors? It really can't be that easy can it?

Not that I'm bitching mind you. My $1200 has gone right onto my roof. That's a spread around stimulus if ever there was one.

I try not to watch or listen to the news as much as I can because there is no 'real news' any more. You were close on the lunch, but fajitas was the selection today. I think your spot on with the rest concerning my gut and the new Texas folk hero.
I won't be in any line to get a new vaccine either and neither will anyone else in my family. Cutting corners and limiting trials sound like a "really great " thing; not.
I would guess that big donors have big bailout money they have gotten or will get in the near future. All those folks in Washington are bought and paid for and every now and then they have to give some back, I only wish they would use their money and not the taxpayers money.
I am happy you were able to get the roof taken care of with your stimulus check. I am not on the list to receive one of those stimulus checks because I don't file a tax return in the manner that the government recognizes. I also wouldn't cash one if it came. Financially this COVID situation hasn't affected me, other than a little on my stock investments but I know that I am very fortunate in that regard. Plenty of people could use my portion more than me.
The government said that non-tax filers could apply for a stimulus check by signing up on the internet at the IRS or some other government site... I think know I won't be taking them up on that offer. I still have to get all my IRS ducks in row first.
Thanks for dropping by and the continued support,
Sult

The stimulus. It just showed up in my bank account despite the fact that I haven't filed since I started on Social Security. I hope to be flying completely under the IRS radar. Hope.

The fact that I got it, and spent it on my roof doesn't mean that I necessarily agree with it. Though I suspect the direct to consumer stimulus is a hell of a lot more effective than the 'disappearing trillion' sent to business.

Actually, I think the $1200 sent to individuals was done so to prevent them from losing their minds at the numbers going to business. Several of those have taken money AND paid dividends as scheduled. How does that math work out?

So what could POSSIBLY go wrong with signing up at a dot gov site? It looked for a while (maybe a month) that I wouldn't get one because I didn't file. I sure as hell wasn't going to sign up for any shit. Not worth it, not even close.

I can't answer your math question, that wasn't taught in the "guzintas" classes I took. But I guess it goes inta the ledger and comes out as a divine dividend, but I'm no math genius so that's just a guess.
We've never in all our years filed electronically nor had a direct deposit refund so to the best of my knowledge that don't have in their records any bank account tied to our IRS records. Maybe at some point we'll get a paper check but if we do we won't be cashing it, or we might just cash it and donate the money to the church food bank.
On second thought, signing the check over to the church would be a better option, that way there could be no chance that we didn't donate it. Yes, I like that approach better. See you are helping me get my ducks in row and didn't even know it. Thanks.

Yep. Always glad to help getting your dups lined up. Any clue why dups should be in a row instead of a column? Just one of the things I wonder about.

I do think that sign and donate is a great strategy, solves a couple of things. You could note that it is payment for Blondies sermon, but that might be pushing just a little too far...

Good for Shelley! I like her even more after hearing that! 😂 These are terrible times. The military giving out vaccines? I hardly know what to say. I wish we had people like Shelley in Scotland - people are ultra obedient here. Braveheart was almost 8 centuries ago. I don't have a business to open against regulations, but if this goes on much longer I might do something similarly crazy (and crowdfund it). But I won't inflict my singing on the world.

I'll do my singing though written word, I couldn't carry a tune if it was wrapped in a brown paper bag to save my life. When I went to church and would sing... if the looks I got could kill I wouldn't be here today.
That military and vaccines situation could be a big blow up here, but he didn't clearly specify the military's involvement so we'll have to see just what that will be when the time comes.
Thanks for dropping by and sharing your thoughts, very much appreciated!

We have someone similar to Shelly here in Northern Minnesota. I don't remember his name but he has a few bars up on the Iron Range and he reopened all of his establishments two weeks before he was given the green light to. He started a Go Fund me page and collected over $200k in donations to help him cover fines and legal fees.

My gut is telling me something bad is going to come out of this too. I think a global recession has been coming for quite some time. This recent printing/injection of cash by the Fed is like hitting the "turbo boost" button on the economy but it's going to crash very hard afterwards, it's only a matter of time. I think to myself, could the disproportionate reaction to this virus be a ploy to to shift blame on this "pandemic" instead of the fact world leaders and people in the financial sector have been making horrible decisions for decades?

I see a conflict coming with China, although it may be more of an economic war. The digital Yuan is well-positioned to overtake the USD as the preferred global reserve currency. The Chinese are also trying to gobble up oil fields in Texas right now at a discount. I'm not a huge fan of Fox but they're one of the only ones I've seen covering it (https://www.foxbusiness.com/markets/texas-oil-rich-lands-chinese-takeover-weakened-crude-producers).

My take is, when there's something as huge as a pandemic going on and there are more questions than answers you'd better bet there are lots of other nefarious things happening behind the curtain.

You may be on to something with your thought there Eric; what would be a better way to disguise what has happened? I mean they could have flown some jets into the twin towers but that is hold hat, this is a novel approach so some credit has to be given to the man behind the curtain.

Only time will tell. I do know the US is scrambling like mad behind the scenes to create a digital dollar so they can try to compete with China. Rumor has it that they're very interested in Ripple (XRP) and may use a version (or a fork) of this currency for the $USDD.

That would be interesting how the US would try to use the fork from an existing currency like Ripple. Until the US decides to back the currency with something other than "the full faith & credit" of the people it will most likely take a back seat to the China digital currency. Somewhere I read or heard that they are or plan to back that currency of China with gold; or am I mistaken on that?

Yeah, it would make all the sense in the world for them to use a short-cut like this. XRP is already a very centralized coin. You're right, the digital Yuan is backed by gold. It's going to be very tough to beat. My fear is once the US realizes they're losing the currency war then things might escalate militarily. The Chinese communist party has successfully pulled off a coup in Hong Kong this week (although it's not getting much MSM attention). This is something they've been trying to do for quite some time. Now the US Stock Market is talking about delisting Chinese companies from US Stock Exchanges. Things are heating up and I'm getting a little bit nervous about what the outcome will be. Edgar Cayce, in one of his readings, explained how dominate world powers shift cyclicly from East to West. Coincidence or not it seems to be accurate...Greece/Rome to Great Britain/Spain/France to America and now it appears that it's shifting to Asia. Very interesting.

The military and vaccinations?!!! That sounds downright scary Sult!
I'm so tired of all the nonsense because really, that's what this all is especially here in SA! Our infection rate is ridiculously low, recovery rates really high yet we still can't run our bnb, many industries are in the same boat, many are jobless & starving! Government aid is being denied based on race, yep reverse apartheid. You need permits to help feed the needy, the police set up road blocks and harass the people, can't move between cities without a permit...the list goes on and on! My son is still stuck in Russia, csn only come back on a repatriation flight, so I am tired, really tired of it all!
As for your local hero, a real opportunist by the sounds of it!

I feel for you Lizelle, there isn't a damn thing wrong with you being able to open back up your bnb. You and your husband and staff are smart enough to clean and sanitize the rooms when guests leave and know how to keep your place safe for the staff and guests. The government wants to break the people both in spirit and financially is what is most likely going on there and around the rest of the world.
Unfortunately they are winning because of the "fear" we have of the governments. Our local hero may be an opportunist like I and you surmise but I have to give her credit for taking a stand against the tyranny. Albeit, it may have been some "grandstanding" on her part to further her career but she did it and showed others it can be done, the high court in Texas sided with her.

Exactly theyre're treating everyone like naughty children but we've had enough, not taking this sitting down, so we'll just change our strategy! Thank you for the voice of reason amidst all the fear mongering!

I appreciate that Lizelle, "voice of reason", not very often those words are used to describe my way of thinking. Thank you very much for the compliment.