A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/08/20> Forty years later…I get paid back.

in #dailydose4 years ago (edited)

image.png

As you may...

As you may have caught from yesterday’s Dash it was Blondie’s birthday.

Not just any ordinary one, but her sixteenth birthday. I did pass along to her all of the many “happy birthday” wishes that you were kind enough to offer her. By the way @chops316, she said you actually need to bluff more; “to predictable in his betting” were her exact words.

She would know too, she spent quite a few hours with me during the Team Up tournament studying the online poker. She does pretty well in the live games at home I might add.

Anyway, Blondie and...

Anyway, Blondie and her mother spent the afternoon out “shopping” and I should have known something wasn’t right.

When you get conflicting stories about where they are headed it can mean only one of two things. Either they are confused as hell or they are up to no good. Yesterday it happened to be the latter of the two.

Blondie has been trying for six months at least to get a nose piercing, which I was adamantly against I might add.

She had even talked with Pattie, (you’ve heard of Pattie; long time family friend) about taking her out on her birthday “shopping” for a nose ring and piercing.

When I heard that, I informed the wife that Blondie doesn’t go anywhere with Pattie unless you are with them. So I figured that just the wife and Blondie “shopping” for her birthday wasn’t a problem, besides Pattie is in Colorado right now so no threat there.

Things got quite...

Things got quite testy when they made it back home.

When I hear the words coming out of Shortie’s mouth, “Father is going to come unglued when he sees you.” She spoke them loud enough so I would hear them; which I’m certain was her plan and it worked.

I was greeted with, “It’s just a small ring, don’t be upset.” from Blondie.

Upset? Me?

A lot of...

A lot of things were pouring through my mind right then and I wasn’t “upset” , really guzbucking pissed off; now that’s a different story; and several steps up the ladder from “upset”.

I was at the top rung of that ladder there.

Blondie had this really tiny wire loop ring thru her left nostril, and if I hadn’t been told about it and had my glasses on I probably wouldn’t have noticed it to be honest.

At that point I was more pissed off with her mother than her. Luckily for them I still had work to do so I expressed my displeasure with the both of them and went back to work.

When I finished...

When I finished up work for the day Blondie came to me and said, “I don’t understand why you are so upset, I just did what you did when you were younger.”

Even with those words it hadn’t hit me yet, “Do I look I have any piercings? Take a good look, not a hole anywhere and no tattoos either.”

“Mom told me about your fake pierced earring that you fooled your parents with, the diamond stud.”, she said with a big smile.

Yep, I just had gotten paid back from a long, very long time ago.

So long ago that I didn’t even snap to it when she said she was just doing what I had done. Her grandparents had to be smiling down on her from above I’m quite sure, probably with a bigger smile than hers.

I now have...

I now have gotten to experience both sides of the situation, with at least forty years worth of time in between those sides.

I can tell you from experience that being the prankster is a lot more fun than being the recipient of the prank.

Now I just hope that a future grandchild of mine who is Blondie’s offspring will hear of this and treat her to the other side as well.

I figure there is a slim chance for that happening though since Blondie is all for the pierced ears and nose. I don’t even want to know what else she may want to pierce at some point either.

All I’ll say is that Blondie and Daisy have one coming to them now.

Speaking of one...

Speaking of one coming; the deadline is coming real soon on the Family Traditions contest. 10:00 PM Texas time is the cutoff today, August 8, 2020, so if you are entering you had better do it pretty damn quickly.

Right now though I need to keep up the Saturday Hive Giveaway so maybe someday I can call that a tradition.

This week has been a real mess and it would take way too long to do all the housekeeping on those, but one of this week’s winners is @deerjay.

I used a quote she provided in the last contest in one of my Dashes this week. I made note of that and did it so folks who contributed to the contest would be recognized when I used their quote.

I also decide that I would reward each person each time I use one of the quotes and that is with the Saturday Hive Giveaway.

I also have used a quote provided by @builderofcastles in a previous Dash, but before I wised up to doing the reward thing, so he also is one of this week’s HIVE winners in the Saturday Giveaway as well.

That leaves me...

That leaves me one more to make this week’s trifecta of winners and the last goes to @movement19 .
I got this reply from him on a Dash this week,

"DUDE! It's you. THE SULTN! So good to see you still blogging away. We're launching Post Up tomorrow on MSP Waves. Same formula as PYPT but open to all platforms and prizes for top 3 weekly posts. Come through and present. I'll just leave the info here for ya."

📌 Post Up - Thursdays 🕒 3PM & 🕚 11PM UTC

"You can listen and watch on mspwaves.com"
"To participate join the live chat in the PAL Discord"

He and I go back a ways from my time on FIRED and he popped in this week and gave me the heads up on what he is up too.

He has started up a program on Thursdays over on mspwaves called “Post Up” and it is patterned after the old “Pimp Your Post Thursday” that some of you FIRED folks would recognize.

I popped in there on Thursday evening for the second session and was able to walk away 50 HIVE richer for the experience.

Do check it out, great people and some really good work being shared there from what I could tell. This type of program has every reason to succeed and will; but only if we take the time to participate and it is open to all social media platform bloggers not strictly HIVE.

I’m pretty sure that extra 50 HIVE will make into a prize pool sooner or later.

This current contest...

This current contest has me busy reading Family Traditions that are very interesting.

One thing I do have to say though; I can’t make it any more simple to enter and I’ll be damned if some folks couldn’t do it correctly. I shudder to think that if I had more complex rules how screwed up entering would be.

The whole purpose of posting the link for an entry in the comments of the announcement post is so that anyone can go there and see them all in one spot and read them using each link.

I think we’ve herded up the strays in this contest and got them to properly enter but going forward I am going to leave it to the entrant to read and follow the directions. Two rules is not too many.

Okay I got my payback via my girls, some folks got HIVE and I think we are done here for now.

Until next time,
Sult

FYI: The Family Traditions contest is closing for entries very soon, like 10:00 PM today Texas time see this post to enter the $100 HIVE contest if it is not to late when you read this.

Sort:  

It's not easy being the only honest person at the poker table. But if you look up my stats I do alright.

Well I've never been in your shoes at the poker table, the guy who taught me poker implied that bluffing was a rule, "to keep people honest". So I've taught my kids the same way he taught his. But those were her words not mine, of course she's a 16 year old girl who knows "everything". You damn sure do all right, that's why we are the KINGS.

My guy told me that getting caught at bluffing was a rule. Earlier rather than later so everybody at the table knew you were willing to bluff a hand.

You need to come play with us Tom. You savve' the game, just from that brief comment. It is fun, and doesn't cost a dime to play.

You are an amazing and fun player ♥️

Happy Birthday to Blondie , as long as she knows what she wants and she is smart like you , she can wear whatever

I will pass those birthday wishes along to her. She can wear what see wants when she is an adult, she's just 16 and thinks like she is 25. She is pretty intelligent and clever too.
Thanks Opidia,
Sult

I was offline and out-of-town all day yesterday, helping a family member with some things. Therefore, I missed the birthday post. 😬 Please wish Blondie a belated HAPPY BIRTHDAY! from me!😊

Birthday2017DaisiesTKG.jpg

...and please tell her I like her nose ring... 😜 LOL!

I will show her the card and pass the wishes along. They, (whomever that is), always talks about the power of magnets. That little nose ring magnetic earring was certainly powerful. No doubt it was a good prank...I'll tell you like that as well.
Thanks Tiffany
Sult

First off I want to thank you for the Hive but honestly you using that quote was reward enough for me! 😊
Oh my goodness..they got you good on that one and I say they since it seems Blondie had a little help with that one..lol. I had quite the laugh after picking my jaw up off the floor! I hope you are able to laugh about it now?! Sounds like you have a pretty great family there and wishing all of you a wonderful weekend! 💕

No doubt about it, they got me really good. They even went as far as going and taking pictures at the tattoo / piercing shop to help sell the thing to me. "It was a really clean shop" and you get the picture...the whole 9 yards.
I was able to laugh it off quite quickly once I knew for sure what they had done.
It's one thing to get pranked... but it's a whole another ball game to get pranked by the prank you started yourself. Then; not even recognize it! Even when she said she was just doing like I did.
It is going to take some time for me to plan out the next move, but I guarantee there will be another move coming in the prank game.
You are very welcome on the HIVE. I wish I had thought of that the first time I used a quote from the contest, but I took care of him too.
I got to 900 followers this morning and she got a nice surprise today.
Have a great weekend too,
Sult

Ahahahahaha. That's a great one. I'm just sitting here giggling.

I thought about getting one ear pierced back in the 60s, and probably would have but nobody could tell me for absolutely sure which ear meant you were gay and signaling and which ear meant you were straight.

Looking back on it, there probably wasn't a right or wrong ear.

I've never gotten a tattoo either. I could never quite seem to get drunk enough, I always passed out first. Then I quit drinking and the motivation just wasn't the same.

I turn 70 next July. I reckon I'll be old enough for a tattoo by then if I am so inclined.

It seems to me you suffered from a 'female conspiracy' in your house. Daisy, Shortie and Blondie all had their parts to play and landed you like a big old catfish.

"It was a really clean shop." Ahahahahaha

They reeled me in for sure, but Shortie wasn't part of it. She didn't find out it was magnetic one until after I did. She was pitching a fit because I haven't allowed her to get ears pierced yet! So it was just Blondie and Daisy as best I can tell. But you never know with this bunch.
They even had pictures both outside and inside of the shop, talk about a selling job!
Funny you should use the "catfish", that was my nickname when I was a kid, I would always be catching catfish in the farm pond.
Thanks ,
Sult

Happy Birthday to your daughter Blondie.