A Dash of Sult N Papper 08/16/20> Who would have thought that? Who would have thought I’d admit to that?

in #dailydose4 years ago (edited)

image.png

One of these…

One of these days I’m going to write a Dash that is just an exceptional piece of work.

A Dash that will be considered as a real “block chain buster”, if there is such a term on HIVE. I know I have it in me and I’m ever so close to doing it; but today isn’t that day.

Believe it or not, I actually have been studying writing and presentations. Who would have thought that? Who would have thought I’d actually admit to that?

Anyone who answered those questions in the affirmative is really … well let’s just say… I wouldn’t have thought I would be doing those things.

Actually, my studying of writing and presentations doesn’t have a damn thing to do with the intention improving my Dashes; at best it is an unintended consequence should that happen.

I find myself…

I find myself in unfamiliar territory right now when it comes to my work.

Years and years of face to face conversation and selling to customers and prospective customers have become nonexistent for the last five months thanks to the COVID situation.
To borrow a line from Kenny Rodgers song, The Gambler, “I’ve spent my life reading people’s faces…” and that is very true with me.

Working from home by phone and email is a whole new ball game for me.

Luckily for me...

Luckily for me the industry I’m in has actually seen an unexpected rise in business but I think that is going to be a short term gain rather than an extended period of growth.

My writing skills are suspect at best, but my business writing skills are worse than suspect, almost none to be blunt about it.

I never have been required to sell in any other fashion than face to face, it is my comfort zone and I do well in that zone. The people I work for know I’m good at what I was hired to do; but the longer this COVID situation continues the more it looks like things may never return to “normal”.

The owners hadn’t mentioned sharpening up my writing and presentation skills but I know it needs to be done so I have set out to do just that.

I’ve taken to…

I’ve taken to YouTube searching out lectures on writing and presentations and there are a bunch of those types out there.

The best one I’ve seen so far on presentations is from the professor at MIT who spent 50 years on the faculty there before retiring. His talk was mainly about live in person audience presentations but there were some definite things that can be implemented into webinars and Zoom meetings. If any of you care to look at it, here is the direct link
The professor is Patrick Winston and I since learned he passed away, RIP professor.

When it comes…

When it comes to writing; what a jumbled up mess that is.

I found a professor from the University of Chicago that was hired to teach there. Now that would seem normal because that is what professors do; they teach.

The thing that made this so strange was he was hired by the university to teach the faculty how to write properly.

I am not fooling either; he said that most professors don’t have a clue on how to write properly. He went on to say that is the reason why most college students suck at writing; because the people teaching and grading the students writing essays and papers suck at writing.

I did learn…

I did learn from him that I actually take the correct approach when writing my Dashes and Daily Dose blogs.

He said that having an outline of what you plan on writing is basically worthless. So much is lost when you try to outline and then write from it.

He advised students that if you have to submit an outline for a project to write the project first and then create the outline from the full text of the project. Sometimes the cart does belong before the horse.

Countless times I’ve sat down at the end of the day and the wife or kids would ask, “What’s your blog about tonight that you are writing?”

I would have to answer them that I really wasn’t sure; I’ll just start typing and see where it leads me. Sure there are times like right now where I have the idea that I want to communicate but never do I have an outline.

Even the previously…

Even the previously mentioned professor from MIT confirmed something for me about writing that I always felt was important and that was to have your own mark or identifier on your writings.

People will automatically associate your mark with you.

That is why every blog I do has the familiar salt and pepper packets photo at the top and as the thumbnail, which has been my mark since very early on in my blogging days.

Something else I’ve…

Something else I’ve learned is that writing is done on a "horizontal axis" and reading is done on a "vertical axis" going from the top down.

In layman’s terms that horizontal axis represents the idea or premise, followed next by examples, any research to support, and then the conclusion reached.

That vertical axis is in descending order of; is the information valuable, is it persuasive, is it organized, and is it clear.

The supposed goal is for the two axis to intersect at a point on the vertical scale. According to the speaker this rarely happens with professors’ writings because they can’t write something and make it clear to the reader, let alone be higher up on the axis of organized, persuasive or valuable.

I don’t remember…

I don’t remember the exact name of his course he was teaching but in the end he described it as remedial writing education.

One really important take away from that lecture was that this situation isn’t a “one off” type thing with the University of Chicago having professors who can’t write properly.

He said this is the norm throughout the higher levels of our education system. This explains why people graduating from college have such a hard time being successful at writing for a living.

Those students who excelled in college courses and received great grades on their papers were being judged by incompetent people when it comes to the written word.

Out in the real world of business the type of writing the former students were thinking was excellent was generally boring and not of value to the reader even if it was clearly written.

He gave numerous examples of grants being rejected by funding groups because of poorly written grant proposals.

The professor described his office set up as being the typical office but with a sitting area of two chairs and a table between the chairs. That table was there to have a place for a box of tissue because so many of the professors would come to him in tears over the grant proposal rejections.

I’ve never used…

I’ve never used any of the numerous programs available on the internet like Grammarly or similar ones for writing my Dashes or Daily Doses. Surprised? ( Asked with a big chuckle )

This is because of my real intended target audience hasn’t even been born yet. I want them to be able to read my words as if I was sitting there talking with them in person.

I am probably going to look into using such a program for my business correspondences though; you folks will just have to forgive me on sticking to my guns here on going it alone and without the help of Grammarly.

Even without the...

Even without the help of Grammarly I still believe I’m capable of writing one of those exceptional pieces of work on HIVE.

It might take me a while to do it, but I am here for the long haul and we all know that even a blind squirrel will find an acorn now and then.

So, I might just stumble my way into that exceptional piece of writing, just not today.

Until next time,
Sult
FYI : Shortie is officially a teenager today, Happy Birthday Sweetie!




Sort:  

Happy Birthday, Shortie! She has so much life ahead of her. At my age I see younger people like her and think to myself, "What all will they see/experience in their lifetimes?" I hope she enjoys her birthday weekend.

Sult, I think you're already a great writer and it shouldn't be too difficult for you to translate that into business writing. You have something that no amount of study can teach a person, you use your own unique voice, you write clearly, and simply. It's all about conveying your thoughts and emotion to the reader with as little in the way as possible. That said, it's never a bad idea to learn more if you have the desire to do so.

I'm taking masterclasses in creative writing, screenwriting, and short fiction and the instructors say the same thing about outlines and real-time editing. Margaret Atwood is teaching the creative writing course and I've learned the most from her. She said the first draft of anything should be purely stream of consciousness....don't go back and correct anything until you have your entire idea down first. She tells us to go back and edit at a later time but write the first draft of anything as quickly as you can.

Presenting has always been difficult for me and really envy people who can do it well. Thanks for the link, I'll be checking that out. If you're good face-to-face you'll adapt well to video/remote presentations...it's just a matter of practicing by doing. Video is much easier for me than in-person talks in front of large crowds. I have to work through my nerves during live talks and I have a hearing problem on top of that so I can't tell how loudly I'm speaking. Through the years I've done quite a bit of it so I've learned to get through it, mainly my method is preparing more than I probably need to. Lol.

Take notice of where your camera is on your laptop or phone and imagine that is who you're speaking to. You can even stick the cutout of a person's face or a sign "look here" above your camera (out of frame, of course) as a reminder until you get comfortable. Proper lighting and a good mic are huge keys when doing remote video calls and presentations. I've gotten this contraption on Amazon for $40 and it makes all the difference in the world. Apple's AirPods work amazingly well too for picking up your voice loud and clear. You don't have to fuss with cords, or worry about malfunctions, they just work. They're expensive as hell but so bulletproof that they're worth it.

Best of luck, I know you'll master this new set of skills quickly.

Eric

Thanks for the vote of confidence Eric and the suggestions. I have done live presentations usually for small groups of distributor or contractors when I had a new product that came to market. The largest group I ever had to speak in front of was nearly two hundred at a continuing education training and I was pretty nervous until I got going and then it all fell into place because of the interaction of the audience with questions.
There is something about being in the room with the people that I feel more secure. I can read their body language, the head nodding in agreement , or them nodding off in boredom that let's me gauge how I'm doing.

We went bowling for Shortie's birthday and I pulled a groin muscle in the third frame of the first game.
I had to quit after the 5th frame and dinner was long and painful after that as well. So I didn't get many replies answered last night.
Feeling a little better this morning but nowhere near like normal.
Have a great week,
Sult

You're welcome, my friend! We had to do lots of video calls when we were working on HardFork since we were all in different locales. I also teach remote meditation sessions occasionally.

Oh no! I've never pulled a groin muscle but it doesn't sound pleasant. I hope you continue to get better!

I hope Monday was smooth!

Seems like your gang has had a lot of birthdays lately. Tell Shortie I said Happy Birthday.

Yes Chops, seems that way doesn't it. I should probably tell the tradition of wild Christmas parties sometime, blame August on December. I'll pass those birthdays wishes to her.
Thanks,
Sult

Another birthday! Please wish Shortie a very happy birthday from me:)
As for writing, with food blogs, I of course know exactly what my topic is going to be, but as I try and write a story around it, I never know how that's going to pan out, but then ideas or memories just happen. Very interesting about writing horizontally and reading vertically, I never thought of that! I also just write first and then try to categorize it with sub titles and re-arrange as I go along!
I love talking, and writing at least helps with getting all those thoughts out, probably much to the relief of my hubby;)
Enjoy the birthday with your new teen today;)

Thank you Lizelle, I will pass those birthday wishes on to her.
I'm also one who goes back and throws in the subtitles or whatever those first three words would be considered of the paragraph when changing thoughts.
I like that pun, "I never know how that's going to pan out", cleverly done!
Sult

First things first: Happy Birthday to Shortie. I've been meaning to ask about her sales skills in the time of Covid. How did the cookie sales go? I know I didn't buy a single box because I never saw one...

I have two friends that actually make their living writing. One is very specialized into writing business reports for customers in the Boston Area. His father was a professor at BC in writing who actually was part of starting Scott's business. Bones spent two years at Cambridge in the course of his education that ended in a PHD and a wife from Ireland. He has his own side gig now, a byline in Rider Magazine.

The other actually is a contract writer for NASA. Writes technical reports that the scientists just aren't capable of. They do the research and he writes it up.

Our friend @shadowspub has recently published a post about her writing and it includes a review of software for writing that you might find interesting: https://peakd.com/writing/@shadowspub/polished-writing-can-t-be-rushed

I like your writing style, it's conversational. That is seriously important in blogging, and not so much use in business.

I will definitely pass those birthday wishes on to Shortie. I honestly don't know what her total number of boxes ended up being this year but their selling season started the first week of February and ended about the middle of March when all the lock down stuff started happening. She is still asleep or I would ask her right now.
Sounds like you know some really well qualified and properly educated writers, and then there is me of course who helps ruin that average.
I'll go check out that link from @shadowspub , I've been know to do some serious polishing but mostly antique car trim or aluminum engine parts. She is in the publishing business so she most likely has a real good grasp on what software is available and how well it works. Thanks for link.
Yes, business writing and my style of writing are like oil and water, just never meant to be mixed together. Luckily I realize that and am taking steps to help me just in case the days of real face to face selling doesn't return to my industry.
Thanks for the support!
Sult

Well, I can understand why you would need and want to improve on writing for work. I think you already write pretty good on here but I'm no judge on such things and just follow along because I think some things you write about are interesting. It usually takes me a while to write something and leave comments (which I don't always do) cause it takes me some time for the words to come and they don't happen along so easily anymore..lol. As you can see lately, I'm working on it by leaving a comment a little more often. Hmm..maybe that is a can that was best left closed..hee hee! 😏
Anyway, Happy Birthday to Shortie! I made this and hope you don't mind. Please don't show it if it might upset her but it is from Phil my guinea pig!
phil_to_shortie.jpg

Shortie will think the card is adorable, I can tell you that already. Thanks for taking the time to create it and I'm glad I recently got new ink cartridges for the color printer so I can print it for her.
I'm not going to say here what that can is you speak of... but I think I just got a pretty good whiff of the aroma now. The accident was an add on to another situation already existing.
If I'm right, and I'm pretty sure I am, I can see how it is difficult and frustrating.
We'll visit later about this thru PM's in discord,
Thanks again friend,
Sult

You're very welcome @sultnpapper! 💖

Happy Birthday, Shortie! It is awesome to be a teenager. I have not had any teenagers in my house for a long time, but I am looking forward to my grandchildren becoming teens. I hope the COVID doesn't put a crinkle in her birthday plans. BTW I enjoy your form of writing on the Dashes. It is like we were talking face to face. Business writing is another kettle of fish and can be a bit tricky to navigate. It depends a lot on who's interest you are trying to get.

We stayed up to midnight last night to welcome her teenage years in with a Happy Birthday singing. I don't know how long she stayed up after that but she hasn't poked her head out yet this morning. I'll pass those birthday wishes on when she does.

She wants to do the traditional dinner out for her birthday but other than that she really just wants "money" for her gifts. I thinks she has her eyes on something she wants to buy, but only after she gets her own bank account with a debit card.

I'm glad you enjoy my style of writing. The U of C professor says the number one rule in writing is know your audience, well that might be great advice but my intended audience hasn't even been born yet so that isn't quite possible for me.

I look at the Dash as being the kitchen table and the readers are just neighbors stopping by for coffee to shoot the bull and drink a few cups. When that intended audience arrives, if ever, they will be the kids playing on the floor just listening to the grown ups talk.

That's all I've ever intended with my blogging and thank you for confirming that it is working as intended. The only exception was the "Will Eat BBQ 4 U " monthly segments I did over on FIRED. Those were intended to let folks know where to get good BBQ if they ever found themselves in south Texas and hungry for BBQ.

The business writing is a challenge for me but one that I am up for tackling.

Thanks for the support. How are you doing? Thinks settled down any?
Sult

Things are not settling down and it looks like we are heading for more trouble. We now have government supporters setting up shop less than 30 feet from our front gate. We don't know what they are up to but I am sure it will not be good. More vigilance on our part is needed. Plan C is formulating to leave here as soon as this COVID allows us. The hang-up is leaving first and then finding a place that we can settle without too retrictions...sigh

Damn, that isn't good. We've continued to keep ya'll in our prayers but we might need to step those prayers up a bit it sound like. Why anyone would support that government is beyond my comprehension, it just boggles the mind.

The birthday is the most awaited day of the year. I love birthdays because on that day a person is happier than ever, no matter how old they are. The cake, the congratulations, the blowing out the candles make you feel the person most loved by everyone. Congratulations to shortie on the special day. They send me cake hahaha (I love cakes) Have a great time.

I passed those birthday wishes on to her, she appreciated it. I only get a birthday every four years so I have to wait a little longer than most people for that special day.

Your birthday is in February ?

February 29th to be exact.

Ah that's good since you won't get old hahaha