A Dash of Sult N Papper 10/27/20> “Extra… extra,… read all about it!”…

in #dailydose3 years ago

image.png

I never spent...

I never spent much time in the big cities let alone the “Big Apple” (aka; New York City) but I do remember several movies that showed the paper boy on the streets selling newspapers chanting “Extra , extra, read all about it”.

We haven’t subscribed to the Houston Chronicle in over 20 years and I can remember getting a call from the Chronicle circulation department when I cancelled our subscription.

The man on...

The man on the phone asked me why we decided to not renew our subscription. I proceeded to tell him that I thought the paper was of very good quality but we really didn’t need it any longer. We had the seven day a week delivery service so the man said if it is a money situation that they do offer a “weekend only’ subscription at a reduced cost versus the seven day subscription.

“No sir, it isn’t a money issue but I appreciate you informing me about that option”, I told him. He proceeded on with questioning me and finally I just had to tell him the truth. “We no longer need the paper, Pedro died recently." , I told him. The man said he was sorry to hear that and then asked “Pedro wasn’t the only one who read the paper was he?”

“No… no.. Pedro didn’t know how to read.. he was our pet bird.”, I told him. Click, end of call.

Even twenty years...

Even twenty years ago I was fed up with the news media and how they would slant the news. I remember it being more with the newspaper than broadcast news but that probably had to do with personalities. The local ABC station in Houston had a couple on air folks that I liked and so I might have had some bias in my thoughts.

Today I really don’t have any trust in our commercial so called “free press”. I’m sure I’m not alone in my position of not trusting them. So let me ask you a question for the folks in the US, where do you get your news from?

Naturally, I have a follow up question too. How much trust do you have in the source of news?

As things have...

As things have heated up in this presidential election cycle I have resorted to the internet to try and keep abreast of the situation.
For the past couple of weeks I have found myself over in Australia at Sky News ( skynews.com.au ) and it appears to me that those folks there are calling it like they see it being a non-involved third party when it comes to what is happening in the USA.

Sky News has a segment called #outsiders and there they tackle both Australian issues and those from other countries including the USA, Europe, and China that I've come to enjoy.

I don't know...

I don’t know a thing about Australia and how their press is protected or regulated by the government but I can tell that they speak out against their government about issues at home as well as give them credit when credit is due.
To me they have been reporting events here in what appear to be a non-biased reporting way, which I think can be trusted.

Just the other day for example I saw a segment they did on military performance being undermined by “gender, race,and LGBTQI agenda”. The militaries mentioned in that report include the USA, Canada, Australia and UK.

I had no...

I had no idea of a report by the US military that deemed the female engagement teams in Afghanistan were a failure.
I didn’t even know we were employing such all female teams and what their purpose was.

What I gathered from the reporter on the #outsiders segment was that someone in the US military thought that the female soldiers could be effective in communicating with the local female populations. The report of the US military is quoted as saying, “They were easily manipulated by the locals and proved to be largely ineffective in their intended counter-insurgency role.”

Did any of you hear about this on any of the US news outlets? I’m not sure when the report was issued by the US military so I can’t suggest how far back you might have to jog your memory. I would highly suggest you take the seven or eight minutes and watch this segment just to get an idea of the program. I’ve attached the link here to it on their YouTube channel.

I'll tell you...

I’ll tell you straight up; I don’t believe we are “enemies” with half the countries we say we are, take Russia for example.

Who in their right mind shares living space with their enemy? Maybe some people who are locked up in prison and can’t make the choice are the only ones I can think of. So why in the hell do we send folks up to the international space station and act like friends with Russia?

Can someone tell me how long we’ve been working with Russia on the international space station? I know damn well that it has been several years, maybe even a decade or more. Maybe we should do some looking back and see who was president then do some digging into potential Russian collusion or interference?

If “space” is so important, and we now have a branch of the military called the Space Force, it would seem to me that we wouldn’t want Russia to know what the hell we are doing.

I’ll give you another example concerning Russia; RT.com which is the Russia Today government sponsored news that has a news bureau here in the US, if I’m not mistaken it is in Washington, DC.

I’ve actually watched RT.com before and they did a documentary film on the Republic of Texas several years ago. It was a more honest portrayal of who we are, Texians, than the US based “news” operations who try to make us out to be vigilantes that think we are above the law. If you would like to view that documentary click here.

China, communist China...

China, communist China, which is said to be the biggest threat to the USA has been doing business with the USA since I was youngster. I can remember my father warning me that if we “keep buying cheap junk from China and they’ll someday own us.” He said that in the late 1960’s.

The trading with the enemy act went into effect in 1917 so whatever president authorized trading with China should have been charged with treason and every president since then too should be charged as well for allowing it to continue.

If Joe Biteme gets elected the US military should just usher him off the podium at the inauguration ceremony and take him into custody for treason. There is plenty of evidence on Hunter’s laptop that he been trading with them and other enemies using his son to funnel the money.

If elected he might be first president in our history who couldn’t qualify for a security clearance. Where is the cancel culture crowd when you need them? Oh… I forgot…they are in line to vote for him.

Back in the...

Back in the 1980’s I lived in an apartment a block off a road in northwest Houston named FM1960. I used to joke that a person could live their whole life and get everything they would ever need and never have to travel more than one mile.

Now, forty years later I wouldn’t be able to make that claim since a person can’t even get the truth on what the hell is going on in our country from our first amendment protected free press news media.

I’ve ranted enough for today, ya’ll take care and wash your mask at least once a week if not more.

Until next time,
Sult

Don't forget; if you want your very own ‘Vote Guzbuck in 2020" t shirt or your own “Guzbuck..I’m good.” coffee mug then check out the guzbuck_shop here.

Sort:  

Where I get my news? Where I find it. I have a headline gatherer that I scroll through a couple times a day, and if I see something I need to know more about I will first click the link and read the article then go to a 'competing source' to see what they have to say about it. I'll try for a minute or two to figure out who's slanting what and if need be go to a foreign source. Sometimes Al Jezera, sometimes the Guardian (UK) sometimes Skynet, and others.

I do subscribe to a newspaper. The Odessa Record, the weekly from my little hometown. I trust them implicitly to tell me who died, who was born and how the High School teams are doing. BTW, the Odessa HS boys set a record last year. Undefeated State Champions in football and basketball. The baseball team was ranked #1 but didn't get to play a game. One kid set the new state career record for scoring in Basketball. A pretty good year. It's only 8 pages a week so I don't need to buy a bird to keep Sam company...

25 years. That's how long the US has been working with Russia on the ISS. They just passed 20 years aloft. And typically, the US is getting guzbucked on the costs. When the Russians send people up Americans pay $6 million each. Since the shuttle was grounded the Russians have provided all the service up until Elon Musk and SpaceX qualified to do so. Elon charges $1 million per an he's making money at that.

Speaking of Presidents it'd be Nick Dixon that you are root pissed off at for normalizing relations with China. He sent Forest Gump to play ping pong. (Nixon did open trade with China). tRump has a business in China, and typically, it's a shady and questionable affair. He should have his security clearance revoked for several reasons, not the least of which would be passing classified information around. He can't control his mouth and when he gets to bragging he blurts stuff.

I don't entirely trust the H Biden laptop story because it's Rudy Guilani the hero that found it and gave it to the FBI. With no chain of evidence. It'd get thrown out of court in ANY court in the US.

Well, there is a post sized response without even getting to all the questions.

Yes, births , deaths and weddings along with HS sports are trustworthy bits of information that most papers will deliver accurately or post a clarification if they do in fact screw something up. Your hometown sounds like a powerhouse in high school sports.
I guess I was only off by half in my time estimate, that would be a "rounding error" in government book keeping I imagine. It doesn't surprise me one bit Elon can do it for $1M and when we have to hitch a ride with Russia it is $6M , I wonder who negotiated that deal.
Tricky Dick , it figures. Sad, what he did really messed this country up; no wonder my dad had such ill feelings for him.
Sky news reports that even though the laptop came into possession of the FBI through old Rudy that people on those emails that are in question are not fake or Russian disinformation as Sky News as actually contacted some of the people mentioned and those people confirmed the emails as being real. The sex tapes are already being shown around the world, the first one I've seen shows Hunter smoking a crack pipe while someone is whacking him off using their feet as he is laying naked on a bed. Even funny than that he even takes his phone and video records it while it is going on. You won't find that on YouTube that's for sure but you can find on China run channel called GTV. Needless to say he was "set up" for that filming or he wouldn't have taken his phone and recorded it if the camera footage I saw was his to begin with.

Hunter's business partners are already in hot water over the stuff that has come out of that laptop is my understanding. One has already been convicted and sentenced to federal prison and the other is awaiting sentencing. For some reason though, Hunter hasn't been charged with anything... at least not publicly ... maybe there is some "secret" indictment but I'm not inclined to think that there would be.
You have seen the tape of Joe bragging about having the prosecutor in the Ukraine fired that was investigating Burisma ? Not only did he say he had it done, he even implicated Obama in it as well. That admission coming out of his own mouth should be enough to have Joe put away for several years if not hung by a rope.
One thing I am fairly certain about is that tRump would be gone by now if he had any real issues that could be proved. Hell, they have been after him since a month after he announced he was running for president and haven't let up since then.
What is really disappointing is that of all the people in this country these are the two we have to select from.
Thank for the great reply Tom,
Sult

four drawings just came in... make that 15 drawings all I could see was four in the preview pane of the two emails looks like I'll be busy for awhile again.

I've thought about this for a while and I've got a couple of questions. It's just how I am, and I know you probably won't answer for a while with 15 drawings to do but:

How did Sky News and the Chinese site get the computer or hard drive from the FBI? If they got it before the FBI then the evidentary value is probably pretty close to zero. Not saying he didn't or they didn't, not at all. Just saying that it doesn't have much evidence value after the Chinese have had a shot at it.

Which is too bad if it's true. It's like a get out of jail free card.

Enjoy your time and remember to get up from the computer once in a while. Like I should talk...

Like I said , I doubt the sex tape that was being shown on GTV came from the laptop I think somebody set him up for that to end up having something to bribe him with. If that camera that was recording that sex session was his there wouldn't have been a need for him to pick up his phone and record from his eye view unless he just wanted a close up of the action.
Sky News didn't say they have a copy of the hard drive, If I somehow implied that my apologies. Sky News played the clip of Joe bragging about bribing the Ukraine govt to fire the prosecutor who just happened to be investigating Burisma. Joe did that on a live stream of the Council of Foreign Relations rather than go find that clip from Sky News I decided it would be best to get it from the CFR you tube channel. Here is the link and if you want to skip to the part is starts about the 52:00 minute mark.
I just finished up the last two drawings this morning, it has been a long, long week for sure. I have some tired eyes for sure.
Take care Tom, two more days and then I guess all hell will break loose. Hope not but....
Sult

No news source is 100% reliable. I have found a few that are more reliable than others and reasonably unbiased. But, it is always necessary to check many sources to see what's really happening in the world. It's like the old scenario after a fight where John and Joe both tell their story and the real truth is somewhere in the middle of what the two have said.

What is really disappointing is that of all the people in this country these are the two we have to select from.

That's because the smart ones stay out of politics and we only have jackasses in the running.

I thought "FM1960" was a rather odd designation for a road, so I researched it and learned that it is part of the "Farm-to-Market" road system, thus: FM.

In Texas we have a lot of FM designated roads and RR (Ranch Roads), both of those I've never seen in any other state. My guess is that because the state is so large in area there needed to be more designations than just SH (state highway) and CR (county road).
That road I mentioned, FM1960, has had a section renamed about 6 years ago to Cypress Creek Parkway. It has grown from a little 2 lane country road into six lane plus a turning lane. Farms no longer exist in that area as it is all urban and shopping now.
Thanks for the read, support and great comment,
Sult