Days Of Summer 2020 - Ep. 12 (new home for the animals + my favorite summer snack)

in #daysofsummer20204 years ago (edited)

#daysofsummer2020


In this series I will share a little bit of my daily life in the Serbian countryside, some of my thoughts/feelings as well as some self-improvement habits I am trying to build into my daily routine. This summer is very different from any other so far and I thought it would be interesting to document the process of inner work, some chores and other bits and bobs that happen and would probably be forgotten otherwise. I am still using a journal for more personal thoughts, a habit tracker to keep on top of a few habits but I still feel inspired to share parts of my everyday life on this platform as well...


ep 15.png


Happy Sunday Hive friends! I hope you're enjoying your day. This weekend has been so relaxing for me. Same as yesterday, today I also spent some time suntanning while enjoying my coffee. I also did some reading in the morning, enjoyed some delicious food, chatted with a friend and came across some amazing posts on Hive.

header 7.png

Main focus of today's post

is a new home for animals on our property. It is not fully done yet, there's still a few things to complete it but I wanted to share it anyways. This was all build by my dad with a little bit of help from my brother when needed. It is something that was planned for some time now but finally got to be realized. We already had some materials laying around and I am so happy it got used up because it was cluttering the space for years! Of course, there's still a lot of mess and clutter because the work is not done yet but I am really looking forward to see it all gone.


IMG_20200802_181452.jpg
Chickens were following me thinking I have food for them


IMG_20200802_181516.jpg
Leftover tiles from who knows when that are being used as a backdrop for the faucet


During spring I was trying to set up a chill spot under the hazelnut tree but that kind of failed. There's so much stuff there, my dad is using the shade of the tree whenever he can do some work there and of course, working on building this can be quite loud so it's not silent as usual. Never mind, I am happy that we are getting this area in order and I think it's going to look so much better when it's all done.


IMG_20200802_181351.jpg
Just one part of the mess and a chicken of course :D my wooden chair is covered up right under the tree waiting to be used


IMG_20200802_181424.jpg
Building materials everywhere

header 7.png

Fresh snack from the garden

I have been enjoying fresh blackberries and raspberries every day lately. I like them both but raspberries a little bit more. I am not having a lot of snacks/sweets these days so some fresh fruits are a great replacement. I find that during summer its a lot easier to have a healthier diet with all the fruits available so I'm trying to take advantage of it. Even though my main meals are not necessarily healthy, there's still some balance with fruits and a lot of water (or at least I hope so).


IMG_20200802_181842.jpg
Handful of raspberries


Happy harvest! I'll probably go have some more now that I'm looking at these photos. Then I'll spend some time on Hive and continue reading 'The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared' that I started this morning. I'm on page 66 and really enjoying it so far. How was your Sunday/weekend? :) Also please excuse my messy hair-nest, it's the only way I can deal with the heat without shaving my head, haha. :D

banner.png

Photos are mine; banners created with Canva

Sort:  

My Sunday was rather relaxing as well!

Those raspberries look so delicious! None of my raspberry plants produced any berries this year! I think it was a result of transplanting them too many times before I moved here.

Anyway, the new animal building looks awesome! Also I gave the dogs some 'Nikolina hugs' this morning for you!

Shoot, I wish I could send you some. We never had raspberries in our garden until last year. So glad we gave them a shot. I would also like to get blueberries, never had those in the garden.

Also I gave the dogs some 'Nikolina hugs' this morning for you!

Aw, that's so lovely to hear! :)

Yeah, raspberries are yummy and I miss getting any of them this year! The ones that I have are black raspberries also which tend to be very sweet!

I did get a good amount of blueberries off my single blueberry bush so that was nice!