Descriptions on the Spot: July 24-July 31 Words

in #descriptionsonthespot8 years ago (edited)

Call to Action

rz94rhU8bed3.png

Community Building

Are you an aspiring fiction writer? Do you want to hone your skills? Are you a fan of fiction or an admirer of unique content on Steem? In either case, I invite you to participate in a new community hosted on the Steem blockchain called #descriptionsonthespots.

The Rules

Suggesting a Word or Phrase

Comment with a word or phrase that you would like to see used in free association.

Words or phrases that have not been used will be included in the following week's list of words for up to a month.

Writers

Choose a word or phrase in the bounty list that have been provided by other community members. Create a new post of the resulting prose. Use a title in the format "Descriptions on the Spot: 'word or phrase here'".

Then, once you have posted, come back to the weekly thread and link your new article in the original comment.

Goal

Community members should provide constructive criticism to authors. Let's make this a rewarding experience for everyone!

Join us on the Steem slack in #descriptionsonthespot to interact with your fellow writers!

Sort:  

Tendentious
Cromulent
Synclinal
Cooking with gas
Cold as a penguin's ass [adapted from Chileans)

Very good, @eeks. I've submitted one about cooking with gas.

We need to aim high:

Supercalifragilisticexpialidocious,

LOPADOTEMACHOSELACHOGALEOKRANIOLEIPSANODRIMHY-
POTRIMMATOSILPHIOPARAOMELITOKATAKECHYME-
NOKICHLEPIKOSSYPHOPHATTOPERISTERALEKTRYO-
NOPTEKEPHALLIOKIGKLOPELEIOLAGOIOSIR-
AIOBAPHETRAGANOPTERYGON

BABABADALGHARAGHTAKAMMINARRONNKONNBRONNTON-
NERRONNTUONNTHUNNTROVARRHOUNAWNSKAWNTOO-
HOOHOORDENENTHURNUK.

esoteric!

Catching up on this, so I'm trying to get through the words that I can write one by one. Writing an entry for this now.

Hey @complexring thanks so much for getting this up and going, I love it just wondering can you do as many as you like? lol I'm a bit addicted.
FYI - I think you have a typo in your post, an extra s on the hashtag descriptions on the spot at the beginning :D

Nice catch. Can't edit posts for now ...

Community
Pragmatic
Beta

Shinola.

As in "...he wouldn't know shit from shinola"

I just used this phrase in my intro post But I guess it doesn't count here. Time to get to work.

Now, this was a good read! If only stuff like this was up in the front of every headline!

All set in stone:)!

High stakes.

Liked it

Discernment.

I hope someone do same thing for Artists.

I agree!

I think it takes time to build a community like this. It will happen!

Thank you for invitation.

Good idea build community of writers with their works

deep space

Widdershins.

Another great initiative, complexring. I'll see you over at descriptionsonthespot. :) Tomorrow, gotta sleep now.

Here's a word - petrichor.

My favorite though is "Quizzaciously" which went unused for centuries till Michael at Vsauce (Youtube) revived it. It's amazing how language functions!

Share knowledge

Used it here, thanks for the input!

Really appreciate you setting this up for us all!

gratuitous

Excellent work.
Solaris.

Regurgitated misanthropy

methyl alkaloid
and...
Chargoggagoggmanchauggagoggchaubunagungamaugg :)
The name of the lake. Located near the town of Webster, Michigan, USA.
But there is the short version - Webster Lake. :)

@complexring If you may point me to an article or tell me how I can link my chapter 2 to 1 as in the manner you did please? appreciate everything!
https://steemit.com/descriptionsonthespot/@arcaneinfo/chapter-2-gilligan-the-glowing-object

At the time you can't edit posts to link to new chapters. I think this will change soon.

Upvoted! This is such an exciting idea. Looking forward to seeing how this all comes together..

Might even take part and write a few short pieces.

Anyway, my word suggestion:
Wunderkammer

@complexring ... replying here because its your most recent post... ns if you lost your account in the hack or whatever, but it looks like someone edited the xss script into at least one of your posts a couple weeks ago.... i noticed it looking for something else... its the one about liquidity rewards.... at the bottom.... thinking this probably means your account was compromised.
https://steemit.com/steem/@complexring/a-mathematical-analysis-of-obtaining-liquidity-rewards

I'm aware... you can't edit posts after a payout.

I like this idea.

"Complacent"

SEX

Oh, man, it's such a simple word, but I'm having a hard time thinking of a plot. Do you read graphic novels? Regardless, read Sex Criminals by Matt Fraction. That might tide you over while someone writes an awesome #descriptionsonthespot for your word. Also, check out the #secret-writer channel, loads of sex stories there.

I'm really intrigued by the challenge because I haven't written about sex before. I'll try to find time to get to this word but I'd bet other writers would be able to write a way better story.