Sunday Valentine Supper

in #diary3 years ago



Sunday's Valentine supper was pork neck. I soaked it in brine overnight, basted with a mixture of my spicy plum jam, ginger, garlic and some other ingredients and The Husband braaied, i.e. cooked it over hit coals, basting frequently. Served with roasted vegetables. The turnips and beetroot are from the garden - the guineafowl restricted crop!



I kept the vegetables separate because of the potential for tainting: colour from the beetroot and flavour from the turnips: both seasoned with a little salt and olive oil for roasting and dressed with a dash of balsamic vinegar.

When I looked at the bowls and the ceramic slab, there was a bit of a stab in my heart. It's coming up for a year since we shared in the joint celebration of Paul and his wife's 50th birthdays; her birthday was yesterday, his is next Tuesday. Little did any of us know that in a few months, he'd no longer be with us.

Returning to supper: for the last few years, I have taken to brining pork before cooking it. Because the fat is not distributed through the meat, it is often dry and hard when it's cooked. Brining makes it pink and succulent.

I use a simple brine of salt, sugar, bruised garlic, a bay leaf and black peppercorns, and one can add whatever other herbs and spiced one might like.

The process is simple but raw meat floating in water doesn't make a pretty picture!



The Husband always has potatoes, so his plate is a bit more loaded than mine.



A quiet dinner at the end of a hot summer Sunday, with a Valentine's bottle of wine. Because that was a big piece (of pork neck), the protein for at least another three meals over the rest if the week is sorted: as cold cuts with salad, on sandwiches or as part of a famous Fiona made-up dish if the weather continues to be cool.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa

Photo: Selma







Post Script

In search of English writing, research and editing services, look no further: I will help you with
writing - emails and reports, academic and white papers formal grammar, spelling and punctuation more information here
  • If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:
    • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I plan to add them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
    • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
  • I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised appplications. From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click on the image below to sign up -

  • Image: @traciyork
    • I also share my occasional instagram posts to the crypto blockchain using the new, and really nifty phone app, Dapplr. On your phone, click the icon below, and give it a go.

    Posted using Dapplr

    Sort:  

    Gorgeous food! Thanks for sharing. I had some salmon too, but I used a different marinade - will share soon!

    Look forward to that!

    Posted using Dapplr

    Congratulations @fionasfavourites! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

    You published more than 800 posts.
    Your next target is to reach 850 posts.

    You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
    If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

    Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

    Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
    Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!

    Wow! In not quite four years.

    Posted using Dapplr

    That's a great achievement @fionasfavourites, keep going like that 🌹

    My mouth is watering reading about your dinner!!!! I’m not a great pork cook. Much to learn. I much prefer baking. My mom is brilliant though. Thanks for the post!

    Baking is a challenge for me! I need to do it more often, but without a sweet tooth... 🤣 I lurve cooking, though!

    Posted using Dapplr