Winter returns

in #diary2 years ago

IMG_20220919_054912_644.jpg

Winter cold returned this weekend and brought with it a mostly wet Sunday making it good weather to put one's feet up and contemplate the meaning of life}. And thank you for asking: the foot is a lot better and after Friday's kitchen stint turning my ankle into an egg, it held up well during the market on Saturday.

So, on Sunday, I made a supper that essentially cooks itself: an old fashioned, South African bredie.

IMG_20220919_054912_777.jpg

I had a bunch of scrag ends that went into the slow cooker for hours and an hour or so before supper, I added butternut and sweet potato. No rice for me, but a large layer and a secondary helping with gravy for The Husband. Happily what's left will become two more easy meal.

IMG_20220919_054912_735.jpg

This is a fragrant, spicy, not hot stew that I do in my slow cooker. It occurs to me that for those of you heading into winter in the northern hemisphere, it's something different you might like to try, so here's a link to the recipe. Oh, and if you can't get butternut squash, pumpkin does just as well. Some would say, even better.

Until next time, be well
Fiona
The Sandbag House
McGregor, South Africa


Photo: Selma
Post script

If this post might seem familiar, it's because I'm doing two things:

  • re-vamping old recipes. As I do this, I am adding them in a file format that you can download and print. If you download recipes, buy me a coffee. Or better yet, a glass of wine....?
  • and "re-capturing" nearly two years' worth of posts.
I blog to the Hive blockchain using a number of decentralised applications.
  • From Wordpress, I use the Exxp Wordpress plugin. If this rocks your socks, click here or on on the image below to sign up.


Original artwork: @artywink
  • lastly, graphics are created using partly my own photographs, images available freely available on @hive.blog and Canva.
Sort:  

Now, that is some aaaaawesome food... makes me want some winter here asap. hmmmmmmm
untitled.gif

It's a fab winter meal! Enjoy!