Home made GPU Mining Rig - My holiday DIY Project

in #diy4 years ago

So with my 3 little kids home from kindergarten for the Sukkot holiday, its difficult to do any work requiring lengthy concentration.

I decided on a project that could most be done in 10 minute segments.

I've noticed from posts from @themarkymark that GPU mining has become profitable again so I decided to build a GPU mining rig out all out of parts that I had lying around.

I had 22mm aluminium extrusion lying around as well as some left over kitchen panelling.
I cut the extrusions and panelling to size with my new jigsaw (replaced by friend who destroyed my old one).

Combined with 3D printed corners and various bolts I created an 80cm wide GPU mining frame worth more than $200 out of left over parts.

IMG_2508.jpeg

I then started fitting the electronics using 3D printed parts (spacers and power supply brackets) I found on Thingiverse

Its all looking nice and neat and makes troubleshooting much easier.

IMG_2527.jpeg

I regret not doing this when I mined in 2017/18.
I wasn't so skilled in DIY then, didn't have a 3D Printer and didn't want to spend $400 (as prices then were) on a retail GPU mining frame.

Now my problem is that most of my GPUs are not working.

Time to try solder reflowing them.

This will be the next instalment.

Sort:  

Wow, 3D printers are even more useful than I had anticipated... Nice!