The Battle Of The Insects.

in #diy4 years ago

Guy's it has started, it is world war 3 for me in my allotment, and I am not happy.

Things seemed to be going great, not a whisper from the enemy since having the allotment but like a trojan horse sneaking it's way past my lines of defense.

I had somethings I wanted to do today, to progress enough so I can move my big shed to its new home, so with a song on my lips I started to build the footings and lay the slabs for my greenhouse to go on to.

WP_20200719_14_37_46_Pro.jpg

WP_20200719_14_37_55_Pro.jpg

I dug and raked and dug a little more and after 3 bags of sand and a tap of a hammer, I got my ground level and my slabs down.

But then after all my hard work, I saw something that I didn't want to see.

** My Runner beans were under attack**

"Shit" I shouted as I could see blackflies enjoying the fruits of my labor, Never had I ever had this problem before.

WP_20200719_14_37_25_Pro.jpg

WP_20200719_14_37_31_Pro.jpg

WP_20200719_14_37_38_Pro.jpg

This wasn't one or two either, this was like a whole family and friends had joined in the party and were eating their weight of my beans.

The biggest problem I had, I didn't have anything to get rid of these little buggers and I was panicking about the health of my plant.

One of my neighbors came over and explained to me the only cure to get these off my plant was to spray them with a solution of water and washing up liquid.

I was quick at getting to the shop, and when I mixed the two together, I was finally able to get my plants free of this horrible pest.

What do you use to get rid of black fly?

Until next time my friends

stay safe.

Sort:  

The best defence is to reduce water-stress, that's what makes plants susceptible to aphid attack. Make sure your watering schedule is where it needs to be and then the phids will be picked off by ladybugs and their larvae and little hoverflies that eat them too