DIY Chalkboard Painting ~ #diy

in #diy3 years ago

When we decided this room of the house was going to be the kids designated playroom, the wife said she wanted the lower green colored portions of the wall painted with chalk paint.

0EA4A1111AA64894ABC2E8E0B101B9A5.jpeg

Well that was about 5 months ago, and when I say designated playroom, it makes me laugh, because there isn’t a square inch in this house where these kids don’t have at least one toy. I’m ready for Spring cleaning already, lol...anywho...

If you didn’t know, chalk paint is simply paint that you put on a wall and it creates a washable chalkboard, essentially.

Double check your chalk before you go all crazy on it though. My wife gave my daughter some chalk pens, and they did not erase....so another coat of paint it was, lol.

Here was the process, pretty simple, just like regular painting.

FA49C6A11FF1404E94DBB28A00BE330C.jpeg

One coat

9819E269C1B04201B2D6BD5B7B77733C.jpeg

2 coats

6DC234C3120C40FEBBC5D4277301AA9C.jpeg

And CHALK!

8ABE7A5AFC8F41558A46E302A71A5B43.jpeg

05150258DFF942609060F64F2D932968.jpeg

My 3 year old daughter is the artist behind the many similar looking, yet kinda creepy, faces.

My 2 year old son is the Picasso behind the many single slashes, some that have transformed into an X.

With taping the border and the two coats, between drying time, it probably took me less than an hour total.

Easy DIY job for me and the kids love it!

Let me know if you decide to give it a try!

Sort:  

That is pretty awesome. It looks like they are really enjoying it and I bet they get years of fun from it. That is good that another coat took care of the issue with the chalk pens. Nice job!

They really do enjoy it! Hopefully they like it longer than some of their other toys, lol.

I've never heard of chalkboard paint, or maybe they just didn't have the stuff back in the day. I could have used some of that stuff back then, crayon drawings on the walls were there until you painted over them. Even after repainting the kid's mural, you could still see where the little artists had left their artwork.

Good luck trying to keep all of the kid's toys in the playroom, attempting to do that is how I lost my hair. My advise would be to just go with the flow, that's if you like your hair!!

I think it is relatively new to the market. I'm sure my mom would have appreciated it back in the day to with 5 kids running around, we made a mess with every step we took, lol.

I have been buzzing my head for years now, so not too worried about hair loss. That, and I seem to have the genes in the family where I'll keep my luscious locks for years to come. But who knows? Kids and stress can change things, hahaha.

Kids and stress can change things, hahaha. you think?

What a great idea, chalk paint.
As far as the dedicated playroom, sounds great but we all know those rules will never hold up.
Any parent knows, the kids run the place. hehe

the kids run the place. hehe

They seem to, don't they? If they gave out an award for father who has stepped on most children's toys, in my short 4 years, I'd still win. It's brutal.

😂😍 OUCH!