You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Customizing my Xbox 360 controller with 3D printed parts

in #diy3 years ago

Thanks! The buttons are a little taller than the original too and I really enjoy that while gaming.

PLA+ at 200c and bed at 60c

I have been testing printing at higher speeds because I converted it to direct drive so I'm working on getting it tuned. I'm printing belt tensioners next and yes, my Z rod definitely needs a cleaning! Thanks for the tips.


Posted via proofofbrain.io

Sort:  

Totally, makes sense having the taller buttons! Probably better on the fingers :)

That temp might be a little high , but idk for sure.. would try 190, maybe 195 first. (I print PLA+ at 190 in most cases, 205 usually for first layer)

The bed, pretty perfect. I use 60 with near perfect adhesion, lighter colors I have to bump it to 61 sometimes, not sure why but it's just what I have discovered over trial and error.
For some prints a glue stick works GREAT, and easily wipes off with a damp cloth ;)
I assure you the protests online about not using glue are just folks being a little finicky about their bed plate cleanliness... but removing prints glued should be done while plate is hot, because otherwise it's a real nightmare and could mess up your plate.

The direct drive won't make a lick of difference if the board is firing off rogue signals, but in this case your prints look more Z-bandy and melty. (Still planning to print that mod, really love it! but have a print order I'm working on currently)

Maybe just check the belts and Z rod because I can tell you don't wanna slow that thing down 🤣

Haha I do love how much faster it is. Maybe I need to upgrade my mobo at some point. I'll definitely check the z belt and try printing at 195. I really need to clean the whole printer lol. I have been using $1 hairspray for adhesion and it works really well with the glass bed. I also tried glue sticks but I prefer the spray

Might not be a bad idea to upgrade yeah.. In my case, 8 months of troubleshooting to near perfect prints.. might as well keep it! An upgrade will only be for faster prints, in which case I could just buy a new printer at this point and keep the slower one for easier smaller prints.

I have been using $1 hairspray for adhesion and it works really well with the glass bed.

😂 Nice, I've heard hairspray will do the trick!

If you're anything like me when it comes to cleaning hate it a super high powered air blower will get the job done!

image.png

Verified that this thing is so powerful I can use it as a leaf blower from my bathroom window. 40 dollars.

The brushes, I use for the rails ;)

Very true. Thanks for the tip on the blower! Gunna order one right away

This gave me an idea to make a cleaning video :D

What better way to show you the massive strength this thing has.. It's overkill seriously... I LOVE IT.

You're welcome, I'm happy to help :)

Show me the way! I'd love a video

Probably 1-2 hours it will drop :)

Well, it's been posted on 3speak since the time I said it would be, but it's just not posting on the blog for some reason. A lot of other videos on there aren't either :(

I guess check it out on 3speak speak if you want to see it sooner, don't know if/when it's going to finally post on the blog.

EDIT: It's up now, reblogged with my main account here :)