DIY: ANCIENT KUMIHIMO CORD WITH JAPANESE SOUL

in #diy3 years ago (edited)

Guys, do you know what it is?

IM_Ffa9Y9NI.jpg

It's a real japanese kumihimo cord! I've discovered it recently in Youtube, and now it's one more skill of mine and one more hobby.

I always felt love to everything that is connected with the East: music, traditions, culture, And now kumihimo;)

That is how the official site of this art describes it:

Kumihimo is a Japanese tradition of braiding strands of silt to create colored cords. The cords, also called kumihimo, are strong but slender, and have a multitude of uses. Samurai once used kumihimo as laces for their armor. The traditional belt of the kimono, the obi, was once bound by a cord of kumihimo called an obijime. It is an art both culturally significant and nice.

It looks really great, moreover there are dozens of variants to make it with different tracery and designs.

image.png

image.png

image.png

image.png

As you can see even shape can be different: round or flat.

But it's not all that has touched me. The way of making them is also amazing and very special!
There is a special kumihimo braiding disc

image.png
image.png

It also can be of 2 shapes: round and flat to make different types of cords.

image.png

The material for kumihimo is various: usual threads, floss, soutache cords,
beads etc.

I like this technique because it has much in common with making magic mandalas - monotous hand activity is light meditation and calming down. It let us relax and forget about routine. It can help us hear ourselves and our inner voice. You're involved in space atmosphere while making kumihimo items, and it's really magic!

I'm a beginner here, but I've got the main principle of this skill. Moreover, my Dad also likes braiding and now we're a team of 2 that creates different decorations in kumihimo techniques;)
Some bracelets are even sold already!
So this idea is worth of development I think;)

If kumihimo is so unique cord, so why not to use it for different purposes? Bracelets are great but I think it will work fine for hair decorations, making belts, bag decorations, necklaces, earrings and even bag handles or...laсes for sneakers!

image.png

image.png

image.png

Why not?:) what do you think?:)
would you like to have it and for what?:)

Here are my results and my first kumihimo tries;)

IM_Ffa9Y9NI.jpg

HM-8rWrejhc.jpg

image.png

Sort:  

I live in japan but I don’t know these, but yeah your account is one I will show my gf to drag her on for sure!

no kumihimo in Japan??? how is it possible? I've read much about them and their roots are there for sure.
maybe it's too ancient tradition, and it's lost in past centuries...I am VERY surprised!
are you in Japan for sure?:))

I am waiting for you gf!!!:) Say 2 hellos to her;))

I’m sure it exists but I haven’t really seen it. Maybe it’s in more local areas? Or older places? Or younger places?