Embracing Change With My Japanese Hand Saw ( Whilst Building A Couch With My Girls)

in #diy4 years ago

image0.jpg

Me embracing change with my Japanese hand saw

Well 2020 really is gearing up to be the year that is all about Change. Changes, that we are being forced to make, whether we want to or not.

I found myself a little panicked last night, when I found out, that I can no longer leave the land that I am on, to go and get supplies. Why? well there are a few alternative communities near me and the local government has declared that you can not travel in and out of those communities if you are not a resident. I happen to live in one of those and as I am not a Spanish resident so I can not leave. If I do, I will be fined and I risk not being able to return.

I can not travel with my children, as you are only able to travel one at a time so I would have to leave them at home. There is no way that I would risk leaving them now (in the care of my neighbour of course). Being separated from them, would be the worst thing that I could imagine.

So I am confined to my land, but how lucky I am to live here, to be surrounded by these ancient olive trees and have so many fruit trees in which to nourish me and my girls. The panic did not last long, I did have a rough night last night, but today I woke up feeling much more relaxed and ready to embrace this change in my life.

IMG_2667.JPG

Some hand saw action, oh how I love this saw!It makes my life so much easier.

So instead we will focus on the many things we can do on the land. Today we built a couch in our truck. We have needed one for a long time and today was as good a day as any to start. With the help of my 2 eldest, we finished it in a few hours.

IMG_26751.JPG

Cutting up the bookcase.

I used a book case, that I already had and cut it up, so that I could use it to make part of the base. You can see below that I a left with two shelves back to make which makes for amble storage underneath. Which is so important in a tiny House.

IMG_2706.JPG

The other side was made using wood I had left over when I took the girls bunk beds out. It was great to actually use up some of these resources and I felt great at being able to finish it in one day.

IMG_2761.JPG

Making the second part of the base with wood from the bunk beds. Up cycling at it's best.

I rarely get to finish projects in one day, as my days are filled with just the day to day activities that are needed in order to keep my home running. But with the help of my girls, it flowed really well. They helped with the measuring and cutting and assembling and they were really enthusiastic about it too.

IMG_2773.JPG

Here are the 2 bases side by side, with lots of storage space underneath. I attached both sides using screws and then we were ready to fit the foam on top.

IMG_2798.JPG

And here it is, our finished couch, that we managed to make in one day. Home schooling at it's finest. The girls were so proud of their work and could not wait to jump up and test it out. I can see many comfortable nights ahead, all of us snuggled up on this couch.

Change is inevitable, and although I do not really agree with the restrictions now put in place, I am choosing to embrace it and take this time to be more productive with my girls.

Stay safe everyone and see all you Steemians on the Hive Side!


8 Pillars of TribeSteemUp




DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Well done... Humans are prone to adapt, no matter the situation.. The global pandemic initially factored this change. Lol. Wish you and your family well and safety.

Love to see your resilience and ability to embrace those adversities! Thank goodness for the abundance of the land!