You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Miss. Delicious #93 : The private dinner dream in Ayada, Maldives!

in #dlive6 years ago (edited)

Hello, @sweetsssj,

Thank you so much again for another wonderful tour. I'm not sure if I was even on Steemit (here for only 98 days) when you did your first post about the Ayada Luxury Resort in the Maldives, so I'm happy that I caught this one. ;)

I wondered what those dark shapes were in the shallow water by the boardwalk, @sweetsssj. They didn't seem like seaweed. Were they large fish of some kind? Didn't see any fins so I figured they weren't sharks. ;)

I loved the variety of pictures you shared. Your posts always make me feel like I'm right there with you enjoying the scenery, the general atmosphere, the restaurants and amazing food. And now, with this one, riding a bicycle and feeling the wind in my hair along with you. I particularly enjoyed your description of that because I have not ridden a bicycle for many years.

I must say though that anytime I think of low lying islands such as the Maldives, I feel sad and a bit anxious for all the friendly and loving people that live on them. It does feel like it's just a matter of time before their island homes become submerged.

Although I live in Jamaica and do feel anxious for residents in some parts of the outlying, low sea level areas, most of the island is far enough above the sea to feel fairly safe... and we do have very high mountains to boot! ;)

Did anyone share their plans for where they would go should they need to leave, @sweetsssj?

Thankssss again for sharing the beauty of this trip with us. I feel refreshed and uplifted, not sad. And btw, I don't remember how but after checking another of your posts earlier today, I clicked over to visit @honeybee's blog and loved two of them so much, I resteemed both and FB/tweeted one. Then I returned to your blog and found you had published this one and happily tucked in to read. ;)

EDIT:

PS Upped and resteemed before but just also FB/tweeted this post to my #travel audience, @sweetsssj.

Sort:  

hi angelacs, wow what a very detailed comment, thank you for that! And congrats on almost hitting that 100 day milestone my dear, it's only good times to come!

As for the dark shapes, they actually were rocks. There was a lot of fish swimming around below, mostly tiny minnows but a lot of crabs sitting on the rocks.

You also bring up a really interesting point about what happens to the people on these islands when they eventually get submerged. I think for the most part, the people who live there are the employees and I would imagine they would take their excellent service to other resorts. I actually met quite a few Chinese people who live and work at Maldives because of how many Chinese visitors there are. A lot of them are highly skilled in customer service, speaking three or four languages and I imagine would do really well if they applied to work elsewhere. Certainly they have a strong CV behind them!

As for the more developed regions of Maldives, I think they do have some plans to "rise" with the tide as it were, and a lot of land reclamation projects are taking place, albeit at the contest of environmental protectionists. It's a hard line to battle over because on the one hand, some people are literally losing their homes, and on the other hand, a lot of wild life and nature will be destroyed to save these people's homes.

Thanks also for supporting my friend honeybee, he's got a lot to say about a lot of things and I think he deserves that audience!

Once again, thank you so much for the detailed comment and as always it's lovely to converse with you angelacs!

Thank you so much, @sweetsssj. You are very kind. And you are Welcome.

I look forward to learning and growing here on Steemit. There is sooo much to learn.

Migration due to sea level rising is set to increase in the near future, as is migration due to even more massive water shortages, famine and war. Water is already frighteningly scarce in so many countries. It's all appalling because no real action is being taken to deal with these real issues that will affect so many billions of human beings on Earth, while the news and leaders distract with inane matters that have no relevance to most people's every day lives.

@honeybee must appreciate your support so much because the issues he tackles are real ones, but as I said, they get swept under and out of public view by so many other distracting breaking news stories.

His blog on mental health vs weight loss was so on point. And my heart broke over yet another single African American mother being arrested and imprisoned for so long for misdemeanors. It was such a real example of what happens every day.

My hope is that more and more people will learn how to use meditation, journaling and other Soul alignment techniques to effect powerful transformation in their lives. Practical self sufficiency and multidimensional living that creates fulfillment of desires, regardless of governments and crazy societal systems. ;)

Always wonderful to talk to you too, @sweetsssj. Inspiring and uplifting.