You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Miss. Delicious #94 : Hualien's cultural heritage and ridiculous food bonanza!

in #dlive6 years ago

Hello @sweetsssj. It's been a while since I watched your last video, on Taroko Park, so I decided randomly to see what you are up to. I'm glad I did! I thought you only blogged about tourist type areas, and only when you travel, but it turns out that you see beauty in what others might consider ordinary places. Your style is very refreshing. Really, there is much that is beautiful in everyday life, and we should enjoy any place we are in, no matter whether it is considered beautiful or not.

Having never visited Taiwan, or even knowing much about it aside from that the capital is Taipei and that it is sort of part of China but that sort of depends who you are talking to, and of course its connections with Japan, I was amazed at the diversity of its topography and people.

Your video and commentary about the Hualien Cultural and Creative Park is a perfect example of how there is such beauty and meaning in the seemingly ordinary. From the limited research I did after watching your video and reading your blog, it sounds like Hualien is one of the lesser "developed" areas of Taiwan, especially compared with Taipei. According to what I read, there are many indigenous people who live in the area. If this is like most areas of this sort, there has been a bit of emigration, and more "sophisticated" people might look down on the inhabitants. But as you have shown me, they have much to offer and inspire us.

I wish the people of Hualien only increasing success and happiness. Your video has made me put Hualien, and Taiwan in general, on my bucket list of places I would love to visit.

I look forward to enjoying your insights about many other places and people that are worthy of visiting, and of course, eating those oyster omelets.