Re-launching Hive Voxels!

in #dlux3 years ago (edited)

#Helloworld.

@A1-shroom-spores here.

Previously I have posted about launching a Hive-voxel site through the Hive blockchain. I launched the concept as a #dlux contest, but no one entered 😭.

I think a Hive voxel site would be better as an ongoing project, not a contest. We can launch different versions as more people join. DPOS is actually the perfect system for having a decentralized voxel site. We can launch something basic with a small group of artists to start with. We can upload the actual 3D model onto the Hive blockchain through DLUX.

For version 1.0 of Hive Voxels: I will simply upload my own small gallery as a demo. That way we are all on the same page. If someone is confused at this point, they can go to the Hive Voxel post [] and see that a "voxel" site is basically a bunch of "box" shapes. It's like minecraft, but cooler looking.
If you have never heard of "Cryptovoxels" You can check it out HERE - - > https://www.cryptovoxels.com. This will give you a good feel for what a popular voxel site is like.
image.png
Remember, version 1 of Hive Voxels is just going to be a small personal gallery to show people as a demo. Above are all the voxel assets I made: A Hive sign, 4 trees and an artistic water fountain.

I have seen a few talented people on the #nftshowroom doing voxel projects. People like @crimsonclad @juliakponsford @elgeko @castleberry @clayboy might be interested in some free voxel space that is uploaded to our Hive blockchain. I hate to do a call to action type post where I tag a bunch of users, but I think it would be really awesome to launch something like this with a group of people! We could remind the world that the Hive blockchain is not just for blogging.

For this version of Hive Voxel I didn't even create a nav mesh. I want to keep things really simple and launch in steps. The secondary purpose of this project is to continue testing of the DLUX/glitch [github]/Hive system. Simply put, this system allows users to actually upload 3D [gltf] files onto the Hive blockchain. Pretty cool huh? There are limits though and we should test them often.

Not to mention the obvious incentive to onboard more people onto #Dlux.

For those who are new to Dlux, it is a Hive side chain with a dlux token linked with a POB front end, nft bidding etc. The developers @markegiles and @disregardfiat have created powerful tools for Hive like a "gltf drag and drop" where you can drag a 3D file into "glitch" and upload it onto the Hive blockchain easily with no code. The Dlux system is keychain enabled and easy to use! https://www.dlux.io/ There are templates for uploading 360 pictures, art gallery presets etc.

image.png
I had a lot of fun creating this wind up teeth water fountain! There is something really satisfying about taking these tiny pieces and staking them into some larger design. It took forever, but I like the final result! The model does seem a bit small though. The sizing in general is a bit confusing. I'm thinking that we should keep everyone's boxes the same size so its all at the same scale so to speak. [So if you put X users project next to this fountain, the boxes would all be the same size.].

I used red, blue grey and white colors, but you can use any color box you want. They can also defy gravity like my water spout. You can also tilt the boxes if you want. DO NOT PUSH THE BOXES INTO EACH OTHER. Also keep every box the same size.

image.png
image.png

image.png
If you want to post a 3D model on Hive Voxels [the name I am giving this project] simply find me in the #Dlux discord server. https://discord.gg/FS7RvWdXty The sky is the limit as far as coding goes with this project; so eventually we can have a poster built into the project etc. But, for now we should meet in discord and coordinate everything and also brainstorm ideas. there is a room in the server called #dlux-creations where we can all discuss how to launch #Hivevoxels version 2.0!😎👍

As far as the mapping goes: I think we should keep everyones project separate no matter how much each user builds. For example, if @markegiles built a voxel clock tower, it would not just show up in my Hive Park area [with the hive sign and wind up teeth water fountain above]. If @markegiles built a skate park next, it would show up next to his clock tower and his area would expand BUT IT WOULD NEVER ENTER SOMEONE ELSES SPACE.

image.png

image.png
Above is a nice shot of the actual builder [created by @disregardfiat and @markegiles] that will allow us to post 3D models onto the Hive blockchain. [https://dlux-vr.glitch.me/build.html] Look how big my model is! It towers over the great pyramids! 😂🤣 Let's make my model smaller and get rid of that Egypt preset. I want to show you this behind the scenes action because this Glitch [github] project will be the basis of Hive Voxels.

image.png
The voxel project looks a lot cooler in an actual environment! I managed to upload the actual "project" onto the Hive blockchain. You can see it HERE - - > https://a1-shroom-spores.ipfs.dlux.io/?undefined&hash=QmRG8VjdivVTQ7nqXhTeNRfQs62X5NVnPXkYUr7z3aXx4e&author=a1-shroom-spores&permlink=hivevoxel&user=a1-shroom-spores
image.png
I like I said before, there is a lot more we can do in the future. We can automate everything like a real voxel website. We could even create a builder.There are lots of options as far as adding code to the project. We could create keychain login for peoples plots. We could even add nfts and monetize certain plots.

For now, lets just try to get as many artist as we can to do a larger upload with a few different plots. This will be Hive Voxel version 2.0.

Sort:  

I think it would be great to be able to build in world, having to use a third party software like blender etc. to build then upload makes it a bit more difficult for the casual user.

That's my dream is an in house voxel building tool and automated mapping. I'm not the greatest coder but it's certainly POSSIBLE to add that to the glitch project.

also sorry I didn't enter your contest, busy times 😂 I have a few CV plots now

Don't worry I know you are busy. Hopefully I can figure out how to get this more automated soon. For now I'll just practice my voxel art and maybe get a few more people posting.

If I build it they will come.